We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location- Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Right in the center of the historic district. Couldn't ask for a better location in which to walk to the best restaurants, city market, and historical buildings. The staff was incredibly friendly to the extent that a housekeeper volunteered to fill our cooler with ice so we could take home a freshly caught fish. Would definitely recommend and return.

Room Tip: Got a room that had a nice view of the neighborhood facing Hank's restaurant. It is probably qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We thank you for your recent review and recognition of our property and staff. We strive to ensure each and every guest is provided the best possible experience and it appears our efforts were successful during your visit. It is rewarding to hear we made “such a positive impression” as Charleston is full of options for lodging and this is a fantastic nod to our dedicated team of professionals.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    330
    152
    80
    26
See reviews for
214
381
28
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Overall it's a pleasant enough hotel in a great location. Aside from the decor (the drapes were easily the ugliest I've seen in my life, I mean, distractingly hideous), the room was relatively comfortable and spacious. It's always nice to have the half kitchen. Breakfast was great. There were no wow moments, but I'd stay here again if the rate were right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they are one of the special points you made comment to in your review. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature “southern hospitality”.
One point of concern was your comment regarding the draperies. We are in the process of refreshing our hotel with a completion set for early 2013.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

After a week of traveling we decided to splurge and stay at the Doubletree in the heart of the Historic District in downtown Charleston. We had recently stayed at a Doubletree in Fayetteville NC and were more than pleased so we expected the same wonderful experience. We started off great. The young man who took our bags, registered our car for valet parking, and brought us to our room was pleasant and helpful with dining suggestions as well. Things went down hill from here. At registration we were assigned a first floor room, we requested a QUIET room on an upper floor and were reassigned a room on the second floor (hotel has 5 floors). We were also told if we decided to leave early (reservation was for 2 nights) we would be charged 50% for doing so. Maybe this was an omen? Our quiet room was anything but, with people talking outside on the street our room at 10:30 and again at midnight, the street cleaner sweeping the street outside during the night and at 7AM the septic truck pumping outside our window, and a trash truck at 8:15. So much for a decent nights sleep.
To add insult to injury, we asked to upgrade our reservation to include the breakfast package. Since we booked on line the upgrade price on the website was $20.00 for two and the hotel was $30.00 for two. We asked if they would honor their web price and when the receptionist asked the manager, Mr Valentine, if she could do this his answer was, " No, they should have done it when they booked the reservation on line". Not the greatest customer service. We decided to eat elsewhere.
The hotel is clean and nicely appointed, however the management needs some lessons in customer relations.

Room Tip: Request a room on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about the uncomfortable noise disruptions you experienced while staying with us. We're reviewing your concerns with our staff so we can work on additional resolutions and appreciate that you brought this to our attention. I'm also sorry that we couldn't honor your room reservation request. Our front office goes through a lengthy process each day to try to accommodate all reservations but occasionally can’t due to extenuating circumstances. We appreciate your feedback and hope you give us a second chance if you return to the area.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I wish that we had been notified before-hand of extensive renovation on our floor. I think our room, and our Mother's room were the only two rooms not being painted or carpet changed. Our room smelled strongly of paint, and I think ours had just been finished a day or so prior to our arrival. It was impossible to wheel our luggage for us (2 adults, and 3 young kids) because of the furniture piled in the hallway, carts full of paint (which I was sure my kids would knock over), etc. Looking back, I wish that I had complained a little stronger at the front desk, as the price we paid was so very much higher than the quality of our stay. Also, you can unload your bags and family, then park your car at a 24h parking garage just down the block. It's a little inconvenient, but would have saved us a little had we known. Call the hotel to see if they are renovating any of their rooms, and if so, be sure to stay on an already updated floor.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to see if they are renovating any of their rooms, and if so, be sure to stay on an al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I appreciate your flexibility as we undergo some growing pains and apologize for the inconvenience. We're currently working with our team to improve communication to our guests about the refreshes. We hope that you'll come back once the renovations are complete and let us know what you think. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this in further detail.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The accomodations were very good. Immaculate room and bath. Breakfast had good variety. Very courteous staff. The best in room coffee we've had in years. Walking distance to restaurants, sightseeing. Valet parking is a plus and at a minimal charge for the convenience.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, get a suite. Good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston. As you mention, our attentive staff assist with making memories for our guests on a daily basis with a genuine sense of pride and hospitality not found in many properties. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa bay, fl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We are pretty loyal Hilton Points people and are always happy when the Hilton we get is in a perfect location with nice accomodations. We flew in and didn't rent or need a car due to the close proximity of this hotel to everything.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your candid review regarding you recent stay at our Doubletree by Hilton hotel. I will be sharing your comments with the entire Team so they can hear your comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return visit.
We wish you safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a great hotel with a very friendly staff. The valet parking seemed a little crazy when I first heard about it but I'm glad now glad that we had it. The price seems kind of steep but if you use the parking garage it ends up being about the same. We didn't have to move our truck until we were leaving on Sunday! My only complaints would be not having a hot tub and pool, having to purchase breakfast instead of it being included in the hotel price. That seemed very expensive being 10.00 for continental and 15.00 for a small buffet. Other than that the fact that it is right in the heart of the Historical District with a lot of the sights and shopping and restaurants being right there was amazing. Oh, and lets not forget the warm chocolate chip cookie you're greeted with! It was wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We thank you for your recent review and recognition of our property and staff. We strive to ensure each and every guest is provided the best possible experience and it appears our efforts were successful during your visit. It is rewarding to hear we made “such a positive impression” as Charleston is full of options for lodging.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.