We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
45% Off WiFi & Parking
Ranked #33 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a neat place to stay when visiting Charleston. Location is prime and the rooms are top notch. The staff is very helpful. Only negatives I experienced was the parking , $22 per night valet,and the lack of good shower pressure. Paeking problem is standard throughout downtown. Close to many good restaurants

Room Tip: As always, be pleasant and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
On behalf of the entire team… “Great Location and Great Staff” is a wonderful summation of your recent visit and we Thank You! Our courteous and professional staff goes out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction is consistently offered to everyone that comes through our doors.
Best Wishes...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    286
    135
    73
    22
See reviews for
189
334
25
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree in Charleston's Historic District for one night last week. This is a fantastic location in the heart of the historic district, within walking distance and close to all of the action. The room was decent and clean. The staff was wonderful. Our bellhop recommended to us to go to the bar at the rooftop of the Market Pavillion hotel, which we did. That was AWESOME!! We also used the carriage tour company located inside the Doubletree, which we really enjoyed. Overall, I would receommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments regarding our staff were very much appreciated and indicative of what our guest encounter. We are glad you enjoyed the scenic roof top views that Charleston has and look forward to your next visit. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very nice hotel with the best cookies ever to begin your stay! The room was nice not huge but clean! The bed was too comfy as were the pillows! Convienent to everything and we walked to the battery and to all the shops. Take the carriage tour (right outside the front door) to give you ideas on where to visit and a general idea of where you are. The market is across the street and the restraunt in the hotel was good for breakafast. Omlets to order can never be bad! The staff was very nice and helpful with any questions that you have. The valet was pricey but parking is at a premium so it was worth it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and recognition of our property and staff. We strive to ensure each and every guest is provided the best possible experience and it appears our efforts were successful during your visit. It is rewarding to hear we made “such a positive impression” as Charleston is full of options for lodging and this is a fantastic nod to our dedicated team of professionals.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had never been to Charleston so we wanted to stay within walking distance of the historical district. We were not disappointed. We literally walked out the door and were in the midst of the many shops, the market, galleries, and restaurants, and carriage rides. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and really enjoyed having a room that was more like a small apartment. The room had a small refrigerator and I noticed the service areas on the floor had a microwave. Upon arrival they also give you the most amazing, huge chocolate chip cookies! We stayed for three nights and walked everywhere, even to the Aquarium, Harris Teeter grocery, and the Visitor's Center. We would stay here again, however, do note that valet parking was about $23. a day which included taxes and a police donation for each day.

Room Tip: We saw a review stating to ask for the larger King room and that is what we did. We were not disapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
On behalf of the entire team… “Super location and nice hotel” is a wonderful summation of your recent visit and we Thank You! Our courteous and professional staff go out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction is consistently offered to everyone that comes through our doors….and it appears we your had the pleasure of witnessing our team in action on your visit.
We hope to see you again real soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Best hotel I've stayed in the Charleston area, the location is in the middle of the Historic District within walking distance to everything. Service and actual hotel was impeccable, this will be our "go to" hotel from now on when we travel to Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston. As you mention, our attentive staff assist with making memories for our guests on a daily basis with a genuine sense of pride and hospitality not found in many properties. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Every morning the shower was ice cold. We had to use it at night to get any warm water. What good is a warm cookie on checkin if there's not warm water for the shower? Frustrating.

And the housekeeping staff was quite loud in the hallways.

The only upside is the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding our water heaters. We’re sorry we didn't provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. We know how important a hot shower and quiet setting is and your comments will help us to improve both situations. We hope you’ll give us another chance and stay at our location again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Michael Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

wow! what a nice hotel and it is right next to the market and all the shops and restaurants--
Its a really charming hotel with nice rooms, friendly staff, I had a really nice breakfast and I would absolutely come back here for vacation or business. Also, its a nice touch that hanks does room service and it is super fast and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District
Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.