We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

the only downside is that the bathrooms are very small, very small sink area.. rooms are good size, great attentive staff... perfect location for visiting historic charleston.. cab ride from airport a bit pricey at $35 bucks... great location fro before the carnival cruise.. you can walk your luggage to the ship to check in

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they are one of the special points you made comment to in your review. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature “southern hospitality”.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    346
    158
    82
    26
See reviews for
225
393
30
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, SC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Nice hotel for the money. Large King room. Very qiuet stay. Querky layout. You can walk easily to all the sites. Valet guys were nice and helpful. Confusing check-out, probably new staff. Would recommend for overall nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
On behalf of the entire Team we would like to thank you for your candid review. We are glad to hear that our Doubletree by Hilton was a “Great Location”. I will be sharing your comments with our entire Team so they can hear your comments.
As a company it is our goal for each guest to experience the warmth and glow of hospitality and we are glad to hear we met your expectations.
With Charleston full of hospitality choices we are pleased that you choose us and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent two nights here the week of Thanksgiving and really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The location is terrific...it was super easy to walk from the hotel to anywhere else in the historic district. We also appreciated how friendly and helpful the staff was. The valet attendants who cheerfully greeted us out front on arrival were extremely helpful, both with check-in and parking details, but also with other matters...they even offered restaurant suggestions, but not in a pushy way. The front desk clerks were friendly and efficient, as were all the housekeeping staff that we encountered (our room was promptly made up each day, and they offered a turn-down service each evening). The hotel is nicely kept up, although the decor is a slightly boring and very predictable traditional style (although Charleston is a traditional city, so it seemed to work). There is a charming courtyard area to the back of the lobby, with a fountain and nice landscaping and several tables, which made a nice spot for a cup of coffee in the morning or a cocktail in the evening. Our room was off this courtyard, and was a 2-story, townhouse style suite that we thought was fantastic. There was a living room downstairs with a sofa, easy chair, large TV, desk and wet bar area with coffee-maker (although no microwave, which is always nice to have). The king bedroom was upstairs, also with a large TV. The bathroom in this room was on the small side, with the sink and countertop area actually in the bedroom, and then the tub/shower and toilet in a separate room. This did not bother us in the least (in fact, we like having the sink separate from the shower and toilet), but some people may not like this set-up. The bed itself was exceptionally comfortable and the pillows were Doubletree's wonderful pillows filled with a mixture of down and feathers (or foam could be requested, as well). The courtyard location of our room was extremely quiet and was conveniently situated right off the back of the lobby, so it made coming and going from the hotel a breeze. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting the Charleston area.

Room Tip: We loved the courtyard suite we stayed in (see details in the main review).
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel and our Team. Your comments referencing our service the Team offers was most appreciated, as well as, your comments regarding our guestroom amenities. As a company it is our goal for each guest to experience the warmth and glow of hospitality and we are glad to hear we exceeded your expectations. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your comments as well. We look forward to your return visit. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Nice hotel in a great location. Unless you have enough hilton rewards to receive a free breakfast plan on skipping it. The breakfast is expensive, service very slow, and food quality average. The valet parking is prompt and efficient. We were dissappointed in the timeliness of when our room was made up - returning at 1530 nothing was done and we wanted to prepare for an evening out. By 1645 it was ready, but waiting for this caused us to rush.

Room Tip: For breakfast, take a five minute walk to 155 Meeting street where the food is good at a reasonalble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments regarding our valet service were very much appreciated. However, your comments regarding the breakfast experience was a concern and I have reviewed your comments with our Team to ensure our guests do not encounter this again.
We hope to see you back here in Charleston again soon. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint augustine
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a walking city, so nearly anywhere near the Market is a good location. The Doubletree has the added benefit from being down the street for the City's free shuttle line. We were warmly greeted on arrival by Michael, who whisked our luggage upstairs and gave us great pointers about the city. So, our first impression was positive. However, the hallways are dark, the decorations are dark and dated, and the hotel is not clean. One day, I noticed a half of a cookie resting on the brass rail of the elevator, its other half was ground underfoot, scattered all over the floor. When we returned from our day's activities, it was still there, except the crumbs had been scattered further. Housekeeping totally missed us another day. (we did have a do not disturb sign out, but only till noon). There is no restaurant. The breakfast offering is fairly paltry for the price. Quantity, but not the variety you would expect for a $15 price tag, especially in the cold offerings. All in all, would probably stay there again, for a bargain price, but would lower my expectations below the current star rating of this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments regarding our bell staff was very much appreciated and indicative of what our guest encounter. However, you comments regarding the hotel cleanliness is a concern and I have reviewed your comments with our Executive Housekeeper and her Team to ensure our guests do not encounter these issues again.
With special note we are in the process of refreshing our property to include the guestrooms to bring a much more fresh appearance to the entire hotel. Our estimated finish date is first quarter in 2013.
We hope to see you back here in Charleston again soon. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Double Tree Downtown is a great location! Less than a block from The Market and Carriage Ride/Tours. King Street Shopping is also within a few blocks. So many restaurants and bars to chose from within just a couple blocks. Hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a great stay, and can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite that was in the courtyard area. It was a 2-level room (living area downstairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel and Team. Your comments referencing the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel were very much appreciated. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your comments as well.
We wish you and your family a very happy holiday season…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Near every restaurant [dinner to gourmet] and attraction [walking tours, house toors adn carriage tours are a must!]. Beautiful lobby, fast vallet services, and tasty breakfasts. In-room dining available. Get your picture taken with the frogs!

Room Tip: Bi-level suites give excellent separation of sleep and play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
On behalf of the entire Team we would like to thank you for your candid review. We are glad to hear that our Doubletree by Hilton was a “A wonderful hotel in the heart of the Charleston Historic District”. I will be sharing your comments with our entire Team so they can hear your comments.
As a company it is our goal for each guest to experience the warmth and glow of hospitality and we are glad to hear we exceeded your expectations.
With Charleston full of hospitality choices we are pleased that you choose us and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.