We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com amextravel.com
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
45% Off WiFi & Parking
Ranked #33 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose the hotel for its location. We were a little concerned by some reviews, but the location outweighed the concerns. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. We were allowed to check in early. While going through the process, we mentioned it was our wedding anniversary. We did not expect special treatment or request it. The staff upgraded us to a nicer room and when we returned from dinner that night, we found a lovely tray of strawberries and champagne.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they are one of the special points you made comment to in your review. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature “southern hospitality”. We hope you will come back and visit us again for another special occasion or just a leisure trip.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    286
    135
    73
    22
See reviews for
189
334
25
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfect location, perfect price, perfect experience! This is THE historic district hotel if you are planning to walk, eat and tour Charleston, SC! The accommodations are above average for the cost and the location could not be better for waking EVERYWHERE. We booked a one bedroom suite with an adjoining bedroom for 2 couples so we could have our privacy yet enjoy relaxing time together. Before dinner we had a glass of wine (or 2) in the living area and an after-dinner beverage there also. The concierge recommended several tours that were "spot-on" as well as restaurants that were memorable. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Junior suites are roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel and our Team. Your comments referencing our service the Team offers was most appreciated, as well as, your comments regarding our guestroom amenities. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your comments as well. We appreciate you choosing us for your hospitality needs and hope to see you again real soon. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hubby and I stayed there for a quick weekend getaway. The staff was very professional and friendly. This made up for the worn furniture in the sitting area of our suite. Additionally, the bathroom was extremely small in the one bedroom suite. My husband is 6' tall and his knees touched the door while "sitting down" (if you know what I mean). Our room overlooked the market which was nice. Breakfast buffet each morning for $14.95/person...tasty and not a bad deal considering. Overall I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are probably your best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments regarding our staff were very much appreciated and indicative of what our guest encounter. I will be reviewing your comments with our Team so they can hear your thoughts as well.
With special note we are in the process of refreshing our property to include the guestrooms to bring a much more fresh appearance to the entire hotel. Our estimated finish date is first quarter in 2013.
We hope to see you back here in Charleston again soon. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, SD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My mom and I enjoyed a nice stay at the DoubleTree in the historic district of Charleston. Bell stay (Hi, Keith!) were friendly and helpful. Front desk staff were efficient. Our two-room suite was nice, though living area furniture is showing a bit of wear. Market is steps away. Hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants and many visitor sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments regarding our bell and front desk Teams were very much appreciated and indicative of what our guest encounter. I will be reviewing your comments with our Team to so they can hear your thoughts, as well.
As a special note we are in the process of refreshing our property to include the guestrooms to bring a much more fresh appearance to the entire hotel. Our estimated finish date is first quarter in 2013.
We hope to see you back here in Charleston again soon. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is recommended by one of my business partners, just referring to this company simplified things. Was given an an executive room (USD 249) which means you need to haul your luggage quite a bit through a restaurant setting anda little courtyard. Upside is that you get a quiet, large, well equipped room. All staff are usually so friendly, even this time. Excellent location in dowtown Charleston, just walk out and you have shops and a historical area at your feet. My only problem with this hotel is their very late opening time for breakfast; 7 am. Room service breakfast does not come until 7:30. Typically does not allow for a proper breakfast if you are heading for meetings around 8 am. (Yes it was me coming out of the hotel all energetic that morning, I brewed up all the Wolfgang Puck coffee I found in the coffee machine in my room)

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel and our Team. Your comments referencing our service the Team offers was most appreciated, as well as, your comments regarding our guestroom amenities. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your comments as well. We appreciate your continued loyalty and hope to see you again on a leisure trip to Charleston soon. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Perfect location to tour historic Charleston. Next door to the market,restaurants and the horse drawn carriage rides. We purchased the package that included both the carriage tour and breakfast...would highly recommend both. Staff were all great. This was our first time visiting, 50's couple with tired knees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
On behalf of the entire Team we would like to thank you for your candid review. We are glad to hear that our Doubletree by Hilton was a “Wonderful Choice”. I will be sharing your comments with our entire Team so they can hear your comments as well.
As a company, it is our goal for each guest to experience the warmth and glow of hospitality and we are glad to hear we exceeded your expectations.
With Charleston full of hospitality choices we are pleased that you choose us and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My mother and I decided to stay at this hotel because it is in a great location and has a number of suites, so we could have our own space. In these two areas, the Doubletree by Hilton did not disappoint. However, we were very unhappy with the service. Because our flight came in at 9:30 pm, we knew we would be checking in late and called ahead to alert the hotel. We are experienced travelers (and Hilton Honors members, it should be said) and know that the crummiest rooms often go to the last to arrive. Well, this happened anyway. We were given room 150, which is located on the ground floor, with windows that look out onto a sidewalk of loiters and yellers. On top of that, it is next to the only elevator, treating us to a constant whirring that sounded like someone turning a vacuum on and off repeatedly. Sleep was impossible without earplugs. In the morning, we complained and were moved upstairs. The front desk clerk said that the room was among the worst and is given to those who arrive late. But that's why we had called ahead! The new room on the second floor overlooked the courtyard and was much better. Overall, though, our most positive experience with the hotel was outside. The valets are the best thing the hotel has going for it. They are friendly and fast, and the convenience of parking out front and then picking up your car when you need it cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Do not let them give you room 150.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for bring to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about your service related experiences and with your room location. These items are very troubling to us and I will be meeting with our department heads, as well as, the Team to ensure that these issues do not happen again and are handled differently. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
As a company it is our goal for each guest to experience the warmth and glow of hospitality and we are sorry for not living up to this standard with your visit.
I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Safe Travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District
Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list