We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location and very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location is great and the staff is always friendly. I have stayed at this property several times and it always wonderful. You can park and walk all over the historic district. After check out, they always let us leave our car as long as we want. They offered several upgrades on line but stayed with one bedroom suite I reserved. Great room. Close to several good restaurants and all shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review. We certainly appreciate your comments and we will share them with our entire Team so they can hear your comments, as well. I am delighted to hear that you received and enjoyed our signature “southern hospitality”. We strive to leave our guests with a very positive and memorable experience. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    321
    147
    80
    26
See reviews for
213
374
26
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Great location right next to the market. Easy walking distance to bay street. Service was excellent. Valet recommended fun activities. Front desk manager had our room ready even though we arrived very early. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at the Doubletree by Hilton-Historic Charleston. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can appreciate your comments regarding our service as well. We strive to provide “southern hospitality” with each guest. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for 1 night to view college of charleston with my daughter. Hotel is in great location! Walk everywhere, you must have your car valet parked by hotel. Be sure to check your bill I was charged for two vehicles when I only drove one vehicle into hotel. Overall great hotel, friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again if in Charleston.

Room Tip: Furniture in room slightly worn. Ask for the most updated room if possible. Room was very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of your hotel and service. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and with share your comments with our entire Team. Your comments regarding our service were enjoyable as we strive to provide “southern hospitality” with guest. We look forward to seeing you again real soon here in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have stayed at this property multiple times, and the location can't be beat if you want to be in the center of everything. One time I won it on Priceline for an incredibly cheap price, and another time they upgraded me to a two floor suite with a Priceline winning bid. Parking is always an issue in downtown Charleston, but you could do far worse than this property if you want to experience one of the great cities of the USA.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a night while on business in Charleston. Very centrally located. Easy walk to restaurants and tourist sites. Staff was extremely friendly. Breakfast was well above average. Highly recommend for anyone needing a place to stay in Charleston.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to provide your glowing feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay! I will be sharing your comments regarding our “southern hospitality” to the Team as they will enjoy hearing your comments as well. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon! Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've stayed at multiple doubletree properties and this one has to be one of the best I have ever stayed in! I had never been to the city of Charleston before and was excited at exploring the city and everything it had to offer. I checked in fairly late in the afternoon and after valet parking was quickly checked in by the front desk. Since I had never been to the city before I asked the desk staff things to do, places to eat, etc., by this point many of the places were already closed for the day, however they immediately offered me a late checkout the following day so I would have ample time to check out the city life before I had to leave.
The bartender was great as well. I wanted to try something different and unique so he offered a special recipe he had been working on and he was genuinely excited for me to try it out!
From the front desk staff, the bartender, valet service, and to management, everyone here is top notch in my book!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your gracious comments about our hotel and our Team member service. Our number one priority is to offer our guest “southern hospitality” and glad to hear you received such a warm welcome. I will share your comments with our Team so they can hear what a great job they did. Hope to see you return to the Doubletree Hotel again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

WE bought the breakfast/carriage tour package and really liked it. The hotel location is ideal for exploring Charleston since everything is within walking distance. There are also pedicabs and a free trolley available in the area.

We enjoyed the proximity to the market and shops.

Room Tip: This is a really good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the historic sites. I will be sure to share your comments with our Team. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.