We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located for Charleson's many attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Perfectly located for Charleson's many attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile


I chose the Doubletree mainly due to its location just steps from the shopping on King Street and minutes walk from Bay Sreet's bars and restaurants. Upon arrival the efficient and hassle free valet service allowed us to check in within minutes to our spacious suite room before setting out to explore and enjoy this great town. Service throughout our stay was efficient and pleasant, our room perfectly equipped for a short stay. In all a great stay and ideally suited for our girlie break! 

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you chose DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston - Historic District and appreciated the convenient location. We are glad you had an excellent stay with us, and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    452
    186
    89
    27
See reviews for
277
478
37
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is over priced rooms are below average! If you have children don't get a courtyard room! The locks are easy for them to open and you are upstairs! What a nightmare! They found people had been living in the attic above our room! We saw a light on up there and reported it !
No security at door! Staff was nice but over all the only good thing is the location.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the courtyard! I had to get up to check on the kids downstairs all night! The lock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your stay with us. I’d like to clarify that for safety reason for our team members, the lights in the attic are always on. No one lives in the attic, but staff will occasionally need access for various reasons. The suite type you booked was a courtyard suite. The locks in those suites are identical to locks elsewhere in our hotel; they provide a primary deadbolt and a secondary flip latch. During the reservation process you should have been informed that the room was a bi-level suite. I apologize if it wasn’t clear that the sofa bed/living room was in the downstairs portion of the suite. Based on your feedback, we will be reviewing all of our suite descriptions to make sure they contain the best information.

I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We chose this DoubleTree because of its proximity to "The Market" and also it was within walking distance to one of the Spoleto venues, not to mention great restaurants and beautiful architecture. Even before our arrival the experience was outstanding - we called several times to ask about breakfast, valet etc and always received EXTREMELY professional and courteous service. We had read some of the review regarding the rooms/common areas needing updating, so we were pleasantly surprised. The valet greeted us right away with great service, the lobby was beautiful with comfy furniture and fresh flower arrangements. There were courtyards off the lobby with fountains and benches to sit out and enjoy. We were on the 5th floor. There were a couple of lounging areas on that floor we utilized for photo ops :) We had a two room suite that overlooked Church Street. The bedroom was an adequate size with two double? rice style beds. The bathroom/vanity area was average. The living area was large enough to accomodate 5 women sitting around and talking. There was also a minifridge and coffemarker (no microwave :( though). The only cosmetic problem I had was with the pullout sofa, the back of the sofa was worn, but not to the point of being in disrepair. Any requests we made - extra towels, sheets, a replacement ironing board (ours was broken) were responded to promptly and courteously. The check in process was a breeze - always look forward to the cookie welcome. Breakfast was amazing (thanks Ms. Gladys). I usually stay at a Hampton and am used to the free hot breakfast, but as a diamond hilton honors member we received two free breakfasts. At checkout we were each even given small bottles of water for our journey around the market and our car was allowed to stay in valet until after 4pm - the guys even loaded our bags for us while we departed for the market. I would definitely stay again. This Doubletree was pricey, but for the proximity to the market area (and the fact that the cost was split between the 5 of us) I think it was a good deal and would definitely stay again. We had a beautiful time

Room Tip: This has nothing to do with the room, but Fleet Landing is within walking distance and offered a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the wonderful feedback regarding our staff. And I will definitely pass along the message to Ms. Gladys about the wonderful breakfast. She is a fabulous employee who has been with us for almost 21 years! Thank you for becoming part of our family, and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Although the carpeting and room furniture is a bit outdated, our room was very spacious and comfortable. The cable was out during our stay, which was a bit frustrating because we wanted to check the weather. However, they have a small business center with computers that we used to check the forecast. The staff was very helpful with details of the area, and the valet service was extremely efficient. We absolutely loved the fact that the hotel was within walking distance of almost everything we had planned. You can't beat the location... it's less than a block from the Historic Market and only two streets over from King Street shopping.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston - Historic District. We are pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our convenient location to all of the great attractions in the historic district. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

You're right in the middle of everything... Highest grades to the Bellmen!

Room Tip: Room 580 - two room suite...very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston - Historic District. We appreciate your compliment for the Bell Staff and will pass it along. We look forward to your return visit to Charleston and the DoubleTree by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great location. Staff was polite, helpful and happy. Our room was great and I would stay here again when we return.

Room Tip: Not certain if all the rooms are suites, but we had a suite and the room was great and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed there for a few days and its a basic hotel but it is located in a perfect spot. I was in the courtyard and it was very quiet except in the morning when the cleaning folks would walk by with their cart. The outdoor floor is brick and it made a LOT of noise.
Otherwise,compared to the prices of some of the other hotels in the area, it was a good price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.