We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charleston vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I first stayed at this property in October of 2000. We remembered our fondness for the friendliness and helpfullness of the staff. In particular, we recalled meeting Eddie McBride who was providing conceirge services during our 2000 visit, Much to our surprise, we were able to meet up with Eddie again during our recent stay in October of 2014 and renew our freindship. Eddie and all of his colleagues made our recent stay just as enjoyable. The people at the front desk were extremely helpful in providing directions and descriptions as to places of interest. The restuarant staff, highligted by Jerry, was just as solicitous and we were even able to partake in a grill-out on Thursday evening with hot dogs and champagne. The rooms and hotel appearance were very clean and quiet. This has been an ideal place to stay for us..

Room Tip: Any rooms overlooking the river and sailboats are optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear ColumbusFuzzball

Thank you for your kind feedback and wonderful rating regarding your stay at the Courtyard Charleston. I was happy to hear that we were able to spoil you during your stay, and especially Eddie McBride went over and above your expectations. Please be assured I will pass on your comments and recognize Eddie McBride and Jerry at our next staff meeting. I am very proud of my team and the passion they have for delivering exceptional service and making all of our guests comfortable. Our facilities are kept fresh by our dedicated housekeeping staff and everything stays in tip top shape due to the efforts of our engineering team. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Travel Safe Always!!!

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    174
    73
    44
    25
See reviews for
113
172
22
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Found the hotel to need a complete renovation from stain carpets, worn bathtub to old bedding. Can hear your neighbors walking around above you as well as next door. Poor excuse for a Marriott. Spent two weeks traveling in the south and found much better hotels for half the cost...checked out the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear linda-phila,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent review, please accept my sincere apology that we let you down during your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston. We pride ourselves on service excellence and it was disappointing that we fell short of delivering the service that you have come to expect with our brand. I have taken specific notes from your feedback and will discuss these issues with my management team to learn from and make the proper changes so that we do not repeat the same mistakes. We hope to welcome you back soon. Travel safe.

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is beautiful, clean and spacious. It is in a perfect location that is close enough to downtown without being right in the middle of everything. There is more then enough on-site parking and the location is very safe. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is free wi-fi and plenty of outlets to charge all of your gadgets.
The weather was overcast and rainy so I was not able to use the pool or hot tub but they did appear quite clean and refreshing.
Everyone at the front desk was very friendly and genuinely happy to assist with any of our questions. They restaurants they recommended were wonderful!
There are only two things that could have made the stay better. 1) The continental breakfast buffet should have been complimentary as it is in may other Marriott hotels. $12 for bagels, fruit, cereal and yogurt is a bit much! Spend your money wisely and visit one of the many fantastic restaurants in town. 2)The bartender was horrible. The bar is supposed to be open until 11pm but she closed at 10:30 on one night and at 9:30 another night. Who closes a bar at 9:30 on a Friday night???
On Friday night I overheard new guests telling her that she was making a mistake by closing early. They had just arrived and didn't want to go to town, they just wanted to sit, relax and catch up with a few drinks. They were almost begging her to stay open. She refused. We saw many guests come through the bar/lounge area walk away disappointed because it was closed. When she was closing, she simply brought the check over and said she was closing. She didn't ask if anyone wanted another drink. She simply said, I'm closing, here's your bill. She was more interested in telling her sob story to the male patrons of the bar than taking drink orders.
One night, I went looking for a refill and she was no where to be found. When I said "hello is anyone home" she suddenly peeked her head from the back room and said she would be right with me. She didn't re-appear for at least another 15 min.
Suffice it to say that if the bartender was attentive and didn't close early, the hotel would have made a lot more money that weekend!

I would definitely stay here again but would not go to the bar if the same bartender was there.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lldivechick,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Charleston for your recent stay and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was happy to read that you were overall satisfied with your stay. However I am sorry to hear that one of our associates soured your otherwise great experience here. I have already spoken with her directly and made her understand how every guest who walks through our doors must be welcomed with open arms. I am truly proud of my staff here at the Courtyard and the standards we upheld in our guest service, so I will take it upon myself to ensure this is an isolated incident. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will give us another chance in the near future. Travel safe.

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed here three times in the last year ,and each time I enjoyed my visit. By far the best room was our double room with a pull out coach, and a huge balcony overlooking the water. The pool, hot tub, and fire pit were great. As were the staff, and the convenience to attractions. I also enjoyed the walking path to the battery. The only downside was the fitness room which needs more equipment.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you D M for choosing the Courtyard Charleston for your stay once again. We understand what the Courtyard travelers expect: a clean hotel with exceptional, friendly service. I'm excited that we continue to meet your expectations and the best compliment a guest can give to a General Manager is to return for another stay. I hope you are a Marriott Rewards Member and are earning points for your stay - if not, please see one of our guest service representative to sign up on your next visit. Hurry back and we look forward to an ongoing loyal relationship.

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we weighed the options of staying in the historic district or on the waterfront during our first family trip to Charleston and this Marriott confirmed we made the right decision. Gorgeous facility, waterfront on the river. Plenty of parking on site and downtown Charleston was a short ride away. Plenty of local parking there that is relatively inexpensive. The front desk and rooms are all on what most of us would consider the second floor and higher. Since there was a massive rain storm the weekend we visited, the flooding in the area explained why. The front desk staff couldn't have been more courteous. The rocking chairs and corn hole game on the porch made the outdoor area inviting. The morning breakfast and evening bar service were really good. The room was spacious and comfortable. The only reason we couldn't give the hotel a 5 was that elevator service was really slow Sunday morning during checkout. Hotel staff attributed the delays due to guest volume. We walked down to our car with our luggage. We would still return.

Room Tip: waterfront if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott, Charleston for your most recent stay. It is always pleasing for a General Manager to read that a guest was very satisfied with their accommodations, clean rooms and facilities. My staff hasgreat passion for providing outstanding hospitality. Recognition by our guests is the ultimate compliment that their efforts make a difference. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.


Thank you again,
Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel. It is conveniently located to downtown and other areas. We took a boart trip to Morris Island one day and it was a short drive to the the boat. Also it was an easy return trip. We were a little disappointed that there weren't more places to eat nearby. We did have a great view.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Keith S,

Thank you for selecting Courtyard Charleston for your recent visit and for writing a review on your stay at our hotel. I was absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us and thank you for your complimentary comments. Thank you again and safe travels.

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has a van to take you to the tourist area. The driver is a nice person who introduced himself as the hotel Concierge! OK? He didn't offer to help any of the passengers on or off the van. We were in room 409. The only outlet in the bathroom went out, no hair dryer.A man had to come to fix it. Than the toilet would not flush. Same repair man came to fix that. The door was stuck and it took two of us to open the door. Same repair man. The pay off is the AC that sounded like a jet taking off.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear 27Kathy27,

We appreciate you choosing the Courtyard by Marriott, Charleston for your lodging needs recently. It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, and we are very sorry that you had some issues during your stay. We take all comments, good and bad, and learn from them. I have shared your concerns with the Management Team, and am taking immediate action so that this does not happen again. Thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.