We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restored, Not Renewed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Restored, Not Renewed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It wasn't as nice as I expected it to be for the money! They need to change the name to " Tax Town " 13.5% + another $1.00 miscellaneous, just because they want toooo... Almost anywhere else in S.C. 6% TAX is all they charge. Plus room tax? A friendly place, ? Not like it use to be! ,:) But still an interesting place. ?.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel for the money. There isn't alot near by to keep you entertained.
See more room tips
Green Features: The restaurant that is near by, you will need to be in good condition to climb all the steps. There are prepackaged sandwiches@ the nearby gas station, no problem! LOL :)
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    170
    72
    44
    24
See reviews for
111
169
22
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting the area for 4 days and wanted a water view . This is the ideal spot. Close to downtown with easy access to Folly Beach,Sullivan island and Isle of Palms. Hotel offers a shuttle service for $6 which we used, it also not to far from the free trolley too, which we also used. We had a king room with a balcony over looking the pool and marina. The room was small but comfortable and clean. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, Eddie the concierge was very helpful. Great place to stay in Charlston

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying multiple nights at our hotel during your recent visit to Charleston. We are very pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and loved your room with the beautiful river views. I am delighted to hear that Eddie was very helpful as is our entire staff. The next time your travels bring you to Charleston we would love to have you stay with us again.

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really liked this Courtyard. The staff was great! I wish I had written down the name of the woman who worked with us on the night we arrived as she deserves an award. So friendly and customer oriented. The fan was a bit loud in our room and this was promptly addressed. She gave us very helpful hints on how to get into town. The next morning, she was there again doing other jobs. I had the feeling that she really cared about the client and this was not just a job for her.
The place does need some maintenance attention (air conditioner) and details for attention to cleaning including the travel book in the room. Despite that, I would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and have a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear KMM0122,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Charleston. We work hard to provide high levels of service. I will share your compliments with my team to let them know their efforts are appreciated and noticed. I will look into the few issues you faced and will have them fixed immediately. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back very soon. Travel Safe.

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Choose another hotel. Snide, snobbish front desk clerk. Waited while she apparently was taking a personal phone call and I suppose I was a bother to her. Anyway, we left without checking in. Plenty of other really nice hotels with extremely polite staff close by. Spend your money elsewhere is my best advice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings from the Waterfront Denise N ~
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologies. Your firsthand account will act as a teach tool for our Guest Service team. We work tirelessly to maintain a professional hotel and believe strongly is customer feedback. Thank you for aiding in our efforts to make the hotel a friendlier place to stay. Without your valuable input, we may not have realized this opportunity for improvement. Thank you again. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in this hotel in a king-sized bed placed in a room barely large enough to accommodate a queen-sized bed. The lobby was not ramp accessible from the main parking lot and one evening of the two, all elevators were out. The staff, especially the bar and restaurant personnel were fabulous in seeing to our special needs of providing a freezer for ice packs since the room's refrigerator had no freezer compartment. I feel it is an older hotel near water activities that desperately needs updating.

Room Tip: My advice: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear MrBill915,

We appreciate you choosing the Courtyard Charleston for your lodging needs recently. I am glad to know that my staff took care of your needs and I do apologize for the issues you faced during your stay. I do hope you will reconsider and return to the Courtyard Charleston, as I would like you to experience the Hotel as I would have liked you to on this visit. We hope to welcome you back soon. Travel safe.

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went into Charleston for one night on our way to Myrtle Beach; the surroundings were GREAT!! I love the river and it's right there. The front desk folks were very very friendly and helpful. The amenities like restaurants, etc. are all there too - the room was very clean and neat; it was a corner room so we had a partial view of the harbor and at night you can sit near the harbor and it's beautiful. The bed was comfortable; the place was very clean; the bathroom was clean and nice - but the air conditioner kept us up all night - it was very loud and when it cycles it moans and groans like a cheap horror flick. Needless to say it kept us up all night. So i rated it a point down.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Peggy Q,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Courtyard Charleston during your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed our many amenities we have to offer and found our service to be excellent. Sorry about the AC unit keeping you awake all night. I have taken note of the room you stayed in to make sure our Engineering staff takes care of the unit in that room. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit soon. Travel Safe.


Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Made a reservation for a king bed suite with a let out bed. Got there and was given a standard room. Went back down stairs and advised my reservation was for a king suite. I was given a king suite. Upon opening the door there was a smell, like a deli. Opened the door, the room smelled as if pickle juice was spilled right on the carpet.
Go into the sitting area, the fridge was horrible, nasty with hair inside.
Bathroom ceiling had black spots, after complaining found it was mold. Placed the thermostat down to 60 because the room was hot, left the room came back 2 hrs later , no change, reported to front desk, come to find out the air was out!! In the middle of August...

Reserversation was for 3 nights, by the third night, the mold turned into the a huge leak, I go to the the bathroom at 11:30 at night only to find the tolilet above rained on me. Went to front desk, told them I was not paying for this room and to put me into something else, was told they were full, after I said I was contacting the general manager, I was given a double king room.

Long story short, my stay was horrible and nasty, and HOT.
I was charged 244.00 for a room that smelled had hair in the fridge and the air did not work, OH and the upper floor toilet, rained on anyone who went into the room, did I forget to say there was a horrible smell in the bathroom!!!!??? Due to the leak, it smelled like an outdoor toilet on game day,.. Need I say more??? Just don't go PLEASE, don't let the water front view fool you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings reddawnbbs,
Thank you very much for writing about your stay at our hotel. Customer feedback is the best way to continue to learn and make our hotel better. It is our goal to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guests and it always disheartening to learn that we failed to so.

Please accept my sincere apologies. This was certainly not something that we planned for or expected to happen. As we discussed, you were fully refunded for or the inconvenience you faced during your stay. Again, I know how frustrating this must have been for you and do apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.