We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday made Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #38 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Matthews, North Carolina
1 review
“50th Birthday made Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was disappointed when we arrived ,because we booked with a travel website that did not tell the truth.Eddie the concierge was great he showed genuine,concern and gave us places we could go until we checked in.Ebony Manigault is a chef hearing my disappointment, she made our dinning exprience great.Sandvika Legave and Austin Battle sang happy birthday to me.The travel website was horrible but a few very kind strangers made our stay.They just served us with a smile.

Room Tip: call hotel before you book with any 3ed party to make sure you are getting what you paid for.The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    154
    64
    37
    22
See reviews for
105
150
22
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hgih Point, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to downtown...can walk if you want. We had a poolside room with a view of the harbor. We had a king suite with a comfy king bed and pull out sofa. ..small space but worked fine. Outdoor area is awesome...there's a fire pit, Jacuzzi, pool, and outdoor lounging area. Would definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenswood, West Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel has a great view of the harbor with a wonderful deck to sit on. Rooms are nice with good bed but like the rest of the hotel needs to be updated. Staff was super friendly and helpful in finding places to eat and how to get around the city. Shuttle to the downtown area was reasonable at $6,00 per person, and it run twice an hour,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings from the Waterfront Ron S. & Guest, thank you for visiting Charleston and selecting our hotel for your stay. We are pleased you found: “great view of the harbor with a wonderful deck”, “rooms…with good beds”, and the “shuttle to the downtown area…. reasonable” and convenient. Thank you very much for mentioning the “staff was super friendly and helpful in finding places to eat and how to get around the city.” We all work very hard to deliver high levels of service and you have validated our efforts. Thank you again for sharing comments about your experience at our hotel. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Odd check-in/registration upstairs and down a walk way or use the elevator. Check-in was quick and painless. I requested a quiet room and was placed on the 2nd floor street side. For a person with insomnia, street side is not ideal. Requested to be moved and was told the hotel was sold out, so I really was not a happy camper. My solution to the street noise was I kept the A/C on which was also loud. Did not use the restaurant that I believe only offered breakfast and no room service, so be ready to drive to find something to eat because there is nothing in the neighborhood. The room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: You have to request a harbor view room to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings from the Waterfront Bacon864, thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent business trip Charleston. We were pleased to have you as our guest and are especially grateful for your business given the many hotel choices available to you. Thank you very much for taking time to report your experience at our hotel. Your tips and suggestions will help fellow travelers make the most out of their stay. Thank you again and Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My first mistake was thinking that "Waterfront" meant "waterfront at, near or walkable to anything you would want to see in Charleston," instead of " isolated outpost overlooking a marina next to the Hilton Garden Inn. " The building itself has some exterior trappings consistent with a beachy kind of place, but the guts are pure Courtyard with a sort of unpleasant "convention" feel to it - long hallways and unfilled spaces. The front facing the harbor/ marina is well done with a nice outdoor lounging area, pool and pretty cool gas operated fire pit at night. The bar is nice and the restaurant looks fine (didn't utilize). The check-in staff was pleasant and there is covered parking.

We stayed one night in the harbor view room on a Saturday night. The hotel was full, but I had to swallow hard when I pre-booked a night for around $300 plus around $50 of the most onerous taxes this side of NYC. The room was typical Courtyard style and furnishings although the latter seemed generally old and tired. There was a little walk-out balcony that allowed a pleasant view of the marina but also of the people on the other harbor view room balconies. Keep the shades on the sliding doors shut. The bathroom facilities were underwhelmingly plain, preformed and precast comparable to perhaps a Holiday Inn Express with some age on it - our bathroom the night before at a Hampton Inn in Mt. Pleasant was superior.

Overall, I was not impressed by this place, particularly at the price point I was paying. I understand the economics of supply and demand and that hotels will charge what the traffic will bear. My traffic will go elsewhere next time to some lodging in the heart of downtown where a higher rate of $400 or more won't disappoint me as much, or out to Mt. Pleasant again for the "bargain basement" rate of $185 (plus those nasty taxes). Happy Trails.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear TruthTraveler & Family, thank you for taking time to write about your experience at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the hotel falling short of your expectations. We are currently in the planning stages of a renovation and your comments will be shared with the design team. Thank you again. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent one night so that we could explore downtown Charleston. The hotel property is beautiful with plenty of places to relax and look at the views of the river. The location is not in walking distance to downtown so the hotel offers a shuttle at the cost of $6 round-trip. The shuttle runs two times each hour.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They hour a 24 hour coffee and tea station. We were greeted by free m&ms at check-in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear ILroadies & family, thank you for choosing our hotel for your brief trip to Charleston. We wished you could have stayed longer but pleased you found the hotel “beautiful with plenty of places to relax and look at the views of the river” and the staff “extremely friendly and helpful”. We are also glad the M&M’s delighted you at check in. Your firsthand description of our location should benefit other Trip Advisor users and we appreciate that you shared this tip. Please visit again soon and stay a little longer….Charleston has so much to explore. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I are enjoying a getaway weekend in Charleston. Living in Savannah Ga and being a tour guide there I look for great service and a warm welcome from the staff at any hotel I am staying. I am proud to congratulate 3 employees who made our stay memorable. They are James, Ryann and Sandrika. Thanks guys for our 1st trip to Charleston , you made it a wonderful experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Stuart K & family, thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay in Charleston. We thank you for selecting our hotel and more importantly for recognizing our employees. We are glad to know they made your stay “memorable”. Please know your comments will not only be shared with James, Ryann and Sandrika, but the entire team as well. Thank you again for confirming the efforts of our team members. We hope you visit again soon. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard
Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.