We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JHM Hotels really knows how to treat it's guests.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fayette, Alabama
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“JHM Hotels really knows how to treat it's guests.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have stayed in a other hotels these guys own and since I was going to Charleston SC. I looked to see if they have properties here. Oh yes they do!

The moment I arrived the staff was incredible, my room was stunning, the waterfront view to die for. This is one of the very best hotel experiences I have had and in Charleston SC to boot...

1 mile from historic downtown, so many things to do, we were very happy to be here.

This is a hotel and location you need to add to your Bucket List I promise.. Thanks Will and Debra.

Room Tip: Don't worry, they seem to all be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Will and Debra, thank you very much for the wonderful comments about our hotel and company. We are pleased you decided to stay at another JHM property. JHM is a dynamic company and places tremendous emphasizes on guest satisfaction. Thank you for noticing. Thank you as well for recognizing the “incredible” work of our service team. Everyone team member is dedicated to complete guest satisfaction and your kind words will certainly validate our efforts. Thank you again for your business and selecting a JHM property. We look forward to welcoming you back if there is enough room on your bucket list for a repeat visit. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    182
    79
    45
    25
See reviews for
115
180
23
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile


RiAnn the front desk attendant slash bartender another night truly stood out as a top performer. Every staff member we ran into or talked to was pleasant and very helpful with directions and recommendations. The room was classic Courtyard, clean and comfortable. I'd stay again just for the staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Tejasdrmr, thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to historic Charleston. We were pleased to have you as our guest and are especially grateful for your business given the many hotel choices available to you. Thank you very much for taking time to report your positive experience at our hotel. We are fortunate to have very special employees and like you, we see them trying their best every day. It is not often however, that guests affirm the tremendous efforts of our employees. Please know your kind words will not only be shared with Ryanne, but the entire staff as well. Thank you for staying with us and confirming what we do right. Your encouraging comments are extremely valuable in making the employees feel important and recognized. Thank you again and we hope to see back soon. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel because I found a coupon for it in a South Carolina coupon book. I was already reasonably familiar with the city of Charleston south of the Route 17 bridge and I had the exact address of the hotel. A friendly lady at the South Carolina welcome center northeast of Myrtle Beach had helped me make a reservation at the Waterfront Marriot. However, when I arrived in the city in pitch darkness I could not even see the hotel going north on Lockwood Drive from downtown. A staffer at the big Marriott north of the Route 17 bridge on a hill explained to me where the Waterfront Marriott was.

A traveler coming out of the Charleston historic district and going north on Lockwood Drive cannot make a left turn into the hotel's parking area. He has to go north of the Route 17 bridge, make a U turn, come back under the bridge and make a quick right turn into a parking lot whose entrance/exit is not readily obvious in the dark. When turning right, he has to make extra certain he does not collide with traffic turning off Route 17 to go south on Lockwood Drive. The first time I attempted to turn into the hotel parking lot, I was cut off by southbound vehicles leaving Route 17, and had to repeat the complicated procedure I described above merely to enter the parking lot.

The hotel itself is a beautiful place with superb views and excellent food and service, but it is not in a very convenient location.

Room Tip: I was perfectly happy with the room I was assigned as a coupon holder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Historylinguistravel, thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to Charleston. It was excellent you were able to take advantage of our ad in the SC coupon book. We will write the welcome center to thank them for pointing out our discount offer to you. We are pleased to know you found the hotel “a beautiful place with superb views and excellent food and service.” Please accept our apologies for the trouble you had finding us. As a historic city, Charleston has many one-way, dimly lit streets which makes navigation more challenging. Hopefully, others will read your account and be better prepared. Thank you again for staying with us. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here for three night. Got a room facing the river. It was beautiful, quiet, great view. The room was very nice (best towels in a two weeks trip). Great stuff. Made our stay in Charleston really pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a small balcony and a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Twilite & Guest, thank you for selecting our hotel while visiting historic Charleston. We appreciate your business and thank you for taking time to write about our stay. We are pleased to hear you found the property “beautiful, quiet” with “great views” and “very nice” rooms. I am also glad you found the “best towels in a two week trip” because we work very hard to maintain correct laundry procedures and you have validated our efforts. Thank you again for selecting our hotel and the many positive comments. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our three day stay at this property after Christmas 2013 was adequate. The best thing about this property is its location on the Ashley River, very picturesque. I agree with the other reviews that you have to be wary of what direction you are approaching from as it requires a U-turn. If not for our GPS, we might have missed it! The room was a bit small for the price, but otherwise clean and comfortable. As an elite Marriott Rewards member, I did not receive any recognition of this upon checking in, and the front desk person was rather disconnected and abrupt. I know that the Marriott corporation values and stresses the acknowledgement of its frequent guests, so this surprised me that it was so lacking at this property. We also found the concierge lacking in his enthusiasm and helpfulness when we inquired about places to have dinner. I'm sure this is a good place to stay, so I think we just got unlucky with the staff on duty when we checked in. This was also a very convenient locationto stay when touring historic downtown Charleston, which was a focal point of our visit to the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Shar C & Guest, thank you for selecting our hotel for your post-Christmas visit to Charleston. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the view and location and were disappointed the staff did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. We strive for high customer satisfaction your honest and direct feedback is thoroughly appreciated. Please know we will take immediate action to addresses these issues. Again, thank you for sharing so we can improve our services. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwood,sc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My mom and I stayed here after healing from surgery at MUSC. The service I received was incredible. They brought me extra blankets and pillows with a smile on their face. Everyone one on staff was super nice!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Laylabell and Guest, thank you for posting a few comments about your stay. The trust you placed in us after a surgery makes us feel very valued. We appreciate being able to play a small role in the healing process. Thank you again and we wish for a speedy recovery. Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I were in Charleston for the Christmas holidays and we wanted a special place to stay. We chose the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. The price was right and we opted for the rooms facing the water. We were very happy with our choice. As for the hotel? Getting there from the west can be a challenge depending on which bridge you take. We were always coming from James Island so we always had to get off the bridge, go in the opposite direction from the hotel, make a u-turn, then make another u-turn and turn into the hotel. Check in is on the second floor so can go to the registration desk via stairs or elevator. You cannot park under the hotel without checking in first as the elevator requires a room key. Also, keep in mind, high vehicles should not park under hotel but there is outside parking available. Check in was easy and we had the chance to spin a wheel to get extra Marriott points (750). Staff was helpful and accommodating. Our rooms were corner rooms overlooking the waterfront. Corner rooms come with two sliding glass doors giving your views in two different directions. The room had a desk with chair, a softer chair, a refrigerator, a coffee maker, a microwave and lots of table space. Soft chair needed a foot stool. Bathroom was fine. Towels soft. If you do go for waterfront corner rooms, the ice machine might be a long walk for some. Elevators were fast. Unlike many Courtyards, there was coffee available in the lobby area. The hotel has breakfast for a price but we did not partake. Check out was easy. One other thing... when leaving hotel, you can go in one direction only. If going to James Island across the water, you will once again have to make a u-turn, but only once.

Room Tip: Corner Room, Water Front. The ONLY way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear GRGADA and Guest, thank you for making our hotel your home over the holidays. We were pleased to have you as our guest and thank you for taking time to write about your stay. Thank you for offering so many tips to fellow Trip Advisor users. As you found, the corner-rooms do offer panoramic views and we are glad you felt the “price was right”. Thank you as well for sharing about the amenities you enjoyed such as: free coffee, soft towels, easy check-in, etc. I was especially pleased to know you found the staff “helpful and accommodating”. Thank you again for your business. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.