We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Freehold, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice place to stay - close to the city spots - WARNING shuttle for hotel costs $6.00 per person. A bit steep but worth it if you do not want to drive. 2nd warning - no dinner restaurants! The closet is a .30 mile walk or you need to drive.

Breakfast was good though and well priced.

I would recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and your recommendation. The next time you stay with us, consider the Charleston Dash Trolley. There are a couple stops a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel , and the Dash will take you directly to downtown....for free.

Thanks again, and we hope to have you back soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    170
    71
    44
    24
See reviews for
111
168
22
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Two separate stays. First: called on 17th for short stay starting 19th. Res was made for 16th (?); credit card given on 17th charged for no-show; when arrived on 19th had no room; after front desk argued with us for 30 mins, Manager finally gave us room on back of hotel next to street, garage entrance, and construction. Room in need of attention - sink cracked, tub stained, carpet stained. Gave another chance on longer stay recently. Room was nice with side view of water but machinery in ceiling made constant noise. Husband was scheduled for major surgery the next day and he got no rest that night. Very hard to sleep with ears stuffed with tissue so asked for different room next night. I was given a nicer room with beautiful view and newer looking furniture; but, the air conditioner did not work. Called front desk to tell them and gave up after 35 rings. Kicked a/c and was able to get temp down to 74 around midnight. Used shuttle to get to MUSC while husband was in for surgery. It failed to pick me up twice. Biggest disappointment was the lack of a restaurant to eat dinner. The on site food service was one of the primary reasons we tried this place a second time. Do not believe the advertising or their site. The restaurant was closed and they did not tell us about it when we made the reservation. Very, very poor customer service! Stay away fom this place!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the poor service you received. Unfortunately it is apparent that our staff failed to meet your expectations in any way. Normally our staff members work with all of our guests to meet the guest's individual needs, and I am sorry in this case they fell short.

Your comments are appreciated. I hope you will try us again, as I am sure your experience will be a better one.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were in town for our daughter to have surgery at the Charleston VA Hospital. We were expecting to stay 3-4 days at most but ended up there for 10 days. Our daughter had complications and required some special foods, etc. The staff went out of there way to accommodate us. The first night, it was late when we checked in, the bell hop made a point to bring us some info on restaurants that delivered in case we needed anything and were too tired to go out! If there was anything we needed or had a question about they went out of their way to help or get us the answer. I have stayed at some of the best hotels in the US and never had service that reached to point we had here. They set a new bar for hotel service! In addition, the rooms were nice but more importantly they were clean!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the great comments regarding the hotel's staff. The hotel has a wonderful group of associates, that work very hard to meet the needs of all of our guests. In this case, I am delighted that our staff members were able to meet your needs. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a quick visit to Charleston and I wish we could have stayed longer. The property is very nice, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff is very helpful.

Our room was not one of their best, so our balcony with two rocking chairs did not have a great view of the lovely marina. But the pool area and the veranda outside the bar and restaurant have plenty of rockers and couches from which to enjoy the beautiful view.

The room was large with two beds and a very nice sitting area, as well as a fridge and microwave nicely stored in a cupboard. The bathroom was a bit small, but sparkling clean and well-stocked.

The on site restaurant only serves breakfast, but it was very good, too and there is covered parking which helps keep the car a little cooler.

We liked this property very much and I recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Courtyard Waterfront is greatly appreciated. Our waterfront location is very unique in Charleston, and I agree that our veranda and pool deck are fantastic places to enjoy the beautiful view our location provides.

Thanks again for the review, and we look forward to having you back as our guest soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this Marriott for 4 nights. We were with a large extended family group that was in Charleston for a funeral. The rooms were not huge and the lighting could be brighter but I give this hotel an excellent rating because of their warm and welcoming customer service. Over the course of the 4 days, the numbers of rooms that we needed kept changing as different family members flew in or had to leave to get back to work. The staff was completely accommodating and pleasant. The breakfast buffet was unusually fresh and delicious. I loved the nice and sympathetic people in the restaurant who supplied us with endless pots of good coffee as we gathered in the mornings to make our plans. The location close to the river was very nice also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. It is good to hear such great comments regarding our staff. I hope you will have a chance to visit the hotel again soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Manager was very helpful!! He hand delivered blow dryer and gave us extra help. Good breakfast buffet. Staff very helpful with maps, referrals, and directions. We enjoyed our stay. Also a shuttle ran us down town. Very helpful there too. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for taking a moment to provide us with this great feedback. Our managers are very "hands on" and involved with our guests - they would much rather be out there helping with directions or correcting an issue than sitting behind a desk! We're glad you had such a great time while visiting our property and it's great to know you'll stay with us again! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were there because my daughter was getting married at Magnolia Plantation and this was the destination wedding hotel of choice - I think she picked the hotel because of the great view of the Marina and a more casual feel instead of downtown Charleston. It was a really good choice for many reasons...rooms are a good size, staff (all of them) were delightful and more than helpful. With all the craziness of the wedding I forgot to pack my husbands cufflinks....the limo was to arrive at 4 pm to take all the groomsmen,groom and father of the bride to the Plantation for pictures before the wedding started at 6:30pm. It was 3:45pm and we could not locate the cufflinks in the suitcases etc....I called some of the groomsmen and others to locate a pair of cufflinks - could not find any! Now I am down in the lobby and for whatever reason I decided to ask at the front desk if they knew where I could find cufflinks...they opened this little drawer that had all kinds of things and came up with a pair of cufflinks!!!!!! I was on my way to the girls limo for pictures etc and they said go...go...they would bring the cufflinks up to my husband in the room...they saved the day! The next day we needed a corkscrew....you guessed it - they went into the same drawer and came up with a corkscrew. Also for the out-of-town guests I had made up "goody bags" for each guest. The front desk was more than gracious to hand out the individually name goody bag to each person. The pool was a great place to gather in the afternoon and everything was so relaxed. You can get breakfast there in the morning and there is also a small bar area...great for getting a drink and going out to the patio and overlook the river.There is a new hotel being built next door but it has nothing to do with this hotel...there was no noise etc. I really liked where the hotel was located as we did a lot of sightseeing in Charleston and in the surrounding area and it was a good spot away from the downtown portion....although downtown is only several minutes away. I would recommend this place to anyone...staff were second to none

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
First and foremost - congratulations on your daughter's wedding! I truly hope everything at Magnolia was perfect for the special day. This review is a perfect example of what our employees will do to make sure our guests are taken care of. It sounds like everything was great from beginning to end and I appreciate your feedback. We hope you'll visit Charleston in the near future and give us the opportunity to wow you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.