We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great view - we had a corner room with a balcony and view on two sides. The pool area is a bit small, but sufficient when you time it right. Lit up at night with the lights of the marina as backdrop - it's hard to beat. Our room was clean and large and the staff was very obliging. The breakfast options were significantly overpriced however. It's a bit of a distance from the central historic district - about a mile and half or so, but for the adventurous/athletic sort - it's a lovely walk around the peninsula.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with views - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We're thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay with us! Our hotel definitely has one of the best views on the peninsula - gorgeous backdrop for summer nights. We do hope you took advantage of the shuttle we offer for a low daily rate - takes you right into the historic district.Thanks again for your review - we appreciate the kind words!
Please make plans to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    198
    84
    47
    28
See reviews for
124
200
25
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed six days and enjoyed every one of them thanks to the great staff and servers at the AQUA patio. The facility is very clean and the room was very comfortable. The food and drink was great and priced well. We especially appreciated the shuttle downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed our sister property - we'll be sure to pass along this great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. It is in a great location, excellent views and a nice pool. Great for families and kids. Just a short drive to downtown charleston. The staff is very nice and accomodating. However, I think the hotel needs a makover. It is clean but just not as inviting as it used to be. They will have to make changes as there is a new Hilton Garden Inn going up next door. Maybe this will force them to get things back in shape. I hope so because it could be a wonderful place.

Room Tip: We always go for a room for 5 (2 queens and a pullout). However the views are not as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. It's difficult to read that you felt the property wasn't as inviting as it used to be - the construction next door is quite an eye sore and we are looking forward to the completion in early 2014. We thank you for your repeat business and hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was the perfect get away if you are in the downtown area for business or pleasure. It was a very relaxed atmosphere with plenty of free lemonade and seating overlooking the pool and the harbor. The shuttle service to downtown was very inexpensive and I was within a mile of where I needed to be the next day. The breakfast was good but very overpriced. I would definitely stay there again but would bring my own breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for this great feedback on our property! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. While we're not in the Historic part of Charleston, it's a short shuttle ride away and it's wonderful that you were able to utilize it to your advantage. Thanks again for your business, we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The check in was good. The room was nice and clean but one of the closet doors was missing. The bed was very comfortable. The public areas were very nice and bright but the swimming pool could have been a biology experiment. There were quite a few little children in the pool and I would have been very afraid if those were my children. There was goo in the corners of the pool. I told the desk person they needed to contact the pool person to address the situation ASAP but the next day the pool goo was still there. This Marriott property is not up to the usual Marriott standard. We believe a $200.00/ night room should be more than this. The concept was great but the management??????????

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay. I'm glad that overall, you enjoyed your stay, though I'm very sorry about the issues you experienced with the pool. Our pool sees high traffic on sold out days during the summertime, and while that is no excuse for lack of cleanliness, it makes for difficulties when the pool needs to be shocked and treated, as it must remain closed for 24 hours. When a guest reports an issue to the front desk, we then radio to the appropriate department so corrections can be made. Again, I apologize if there was a miscommunication from front desk to maintenance - thank you for making us aware of the problem so we can correct for the future. We appreciate your business and thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. The location on the harbor was perfect. Most importantly, my room was very clean. Since I am clean room snob, I was pleased and would stay again. This hotel didn't cover up the the stench of cigarette smoke with a hefty dose of air freshener either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks so much for this review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us in Charleston and we definitely hope you'll be visiting us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The two women at the front desk were very sweet and upgraded us to a corner king room. Check in was easy, but from there one, it was not a great experience. Overall this hotel is in need of a makeover. The elevators are slow, the bathroom had peeling paint, and the rooms were poorly laid-out. Unfortunately our corner king room had one window view of the marina and the other window was of the parking lot and the highway. It was noisy from the highway as well as the poorly insulated ceilings and hallway doors. We heard noise from hall mates as well as our upstairs neighbors. The last day a cockroach made his/her way out from behind the chair. Pool was too small for all the people that wanted to use it. The exercise room consisted of only 3 machines, but no one else was really using it so that worked out. If we ever return to Charleston we will not be staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway and avoid the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for this review - I sincerely apologize you didn't fully enjoy your stay at our property. I appreciate you bringing the issues to my attention, as we can't improve if we're unaware there's a problem. Thanks again - I do hope you'll consider giving us a try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.