We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view, but rooms show some wear and location is not ideal.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #38 of 54 hotels in Charleston
atlbride09
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, but rooms show some wear and location is not ideal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that we've been to Charleston before and stayed at the Planter's Inn, which we LOVED. This time around, we were looking for a hotel near the City Marina, as my Father in Law was sailing his boat in for the weekend to meet up with us.

The hotel itself is nice. It sits right on the waterway with a perfect view of the Ashley Marina and the City Marina next door. You CAN walk from the hotel to both marinas, but not along the water. There are sidewalks along the road that lead from the hotel to both the Ashley Marina and the City Marina. For the purpose of this particular visit the location was perfect, since we wanted to be able to walk to meet up with my Father-in-Law. However, if you're looking for a hotel that is within walking distance of Downtown, I would say this is not an appropriate choice. The hotel rate, although cheaper than most downtown options, did not make up for all the money we spent on parking fees downtown. If this is a visit to see the downtown Charleston sites, I do not believe this hotel is as convenient as others.

The room was nice. I was disappointed that it did not have a balcony, since the nights are so nice, especially on the water. There were several stains on the carpet and the bathroom wall had marks on it, as well. The sheets were clean though and view was beautiful. I would compare the room to a standard Marriott or Holiday Inn. Nothing spectacular. If you're looking for a place to sleep with clean sheets, these types of hotels always seem to fit the bill.

We found that it was a short drive downtown - less than 5 minutes, so it is definitely a much more desirable location if you have a car. There is not a free breakfast. The pool area was lovely and they had a verandah area, as well that had rocking chairs that overlooked the marina.

Overall, our stay was acceptable. Nothing spectacular, but definitely a cheaper alternative to a downtown Charleston hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for this review! We know that there are many hotel options in Charleston and we're glad you stayed with us while visiting your father-in-law at the marina. We're happy you found the property comfortable and found time to enjoy the terrace overlooking the Ashley River. On your next visit, we recommend using the Marriott shuttle service into the Historic District - you're welcome to unlimited usage to the Waterfront Park for a once daily fare of $6 per person. The shuttle is definitely a nice option for those wanting to experience both sides of the Charleston Peninsula.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    165
    69
    40
    22
See reviews for
108
160
22
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The staff and location of this hotel are top notch for this price range! Once you get the hang of accessing the hotel via the Lockwood Drive turnarounds, it is easy to get downtown to the historic district or over to Folly Beach or Mt. Pleasant. The staff was great at check-in and was helpful in finding a good pizza delivery for a late night snack. The deck off the lobby is wonderful: lots of rockers and lounge furniture to sit and enjoy the view of the marina and the Ashley river. We had a nice porch with rockers off our room as well. The view wasn't as nice, but it was still comfortable for a private drink before going out. Parking under the hotel was convenient and complementary which is a big difference from hotels in the historic district. Wireless access was good and the room was spacious with a refrigerator and microwave. There was plenty of kitchen space for people staying longer than a weekend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony and river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We're thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our property - it sounds like you had a very pleasant time in Charleston and we are glad to have been a part of it. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have stayed here for years and find the location convenient and comfortable. On the last two trips we found that access to the hotel has been degraded by construction of a new property directly adjacent to the driveway and parking lot, and this is compounded by the unavoidable complications associated with the street and bridge improvements. It is very easy to miss a turn and have to cross the Ashley River Bridge and find some safe, correctly marked route back to Lockwood Dr. Much of this is not the fault of the hotel but is difficult nonetheless.

Also, on both stays, we left our room for the entire day, returning very late afternoon to clean up and prepare for evening affairs, only to find our room had been ignored by housekeeping. In the first instance, staff had left for the day except for one who may have been a super. They offered to let her clean then but we were pressed to get dressed and they sent a maintenance man up with towels. Two weeks later, same thing. This time we allowed the loan housekeeper to refresh towels and adjust bed linens so we could dress and make the wedding on time. In all fairness, the hotel was full both times but the rates reflect the occupancy level, not the service level! I should note that, on neither occasion did management offer any sort of appeasement like breakfast, etc. Some very small gift would go a long way to expressing regret.

In he future. We think Marriott properties in Mt. Pleasant or N. Charleston may be better choices. Many are newer and rates can be more palatable.

Room Tip: Rooms with a clear view of the yacht basin are nice. Choose rooms numbered x14 to x23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your most recent visits to our property. We are looking forward to the completion of the hotel next door as much as our guests are, and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences the construction causes. We also apologize for obvious miscommunications regarding your housekeeping services during your stay - as a guest you have every right to expect your room to be tended to while you're gone during the day. Thank you for bringing the issues to the front desk's attention - please know that your comments have been forwarded on to the executive housekeeper so she can communicate the importance of this matter. Thank you again for your loyalty to Marriott, and we do hope you'll consider staying with us again on your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The location is pretty (waterfront) but definitely a drive to downtown. It would not be an easy walk because the road out front is busy, with a highway on-ramp just outside of hotel. Driving to downtown is quick and easy, but finding parking was tough in our experience.

We unfortunately did not have a view of the water and instead faced the highway. Hotel room was just okay (kind of standard for a Courtyard) but the pool and terrace area is really the highlight of this hotel. We sat out there several times- it is scenic and relaxing and you can bring drinks out from the nearby bar.

You get what you pay for, definitely. This is one of the more affordable options in Charleston, and if you don't feel like paying $300+ a night, I think this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us! We are very fortunate to be one of the only truly waterfront hotels in Downtown Charleston. We are about a mile and a half from the historic district. Lockwood Drive is a divided four-lane highway and is not easy to cross, but you actually don't have to cross the road to walk to the historic district. In fact, there is a very nice sidewalk that follows the harbor from our hotel straight to the heart of Downtown. If you aren't up for the walk, we offer a $6 per person, per day, unlimited use shuttle that departs our hotel twice an hour dropping guests off at Watefront Park, an easy walk to everything! The shuttle runs all day from 8am until 10:45pm. The city also offers a free trolley that picks up not far from the hotel, but it does require you to cross the highway.

Our terrace and pool deck are one-of-a-kind! Grab a drink from the bar and settle in to a rocking chair or lounge chair and watch the sunset. Our guests say it is THE best way to end a day of sightseeing or shopping!

Thank you again for your review! We hope to see you on your next trip to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is located about a 5 minute drive from the historic district. The hotel is near a highway which was convenient for me since I was driving west for work. The terrace and harbor side pool look like a good place to relax. I had a large, clean room with a harbor view that is spectacular. Overall, very nice Courtyard in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel! Unlike most hotels, we have a very diverse clientele. Most hotels have a specific type of guest. Hotels near airports have busy weekdays and quiet weekends because their guests are primarily corporate travelers. Destination hotel guests see primarily pleasure travelers. At our property, we have a lot of both. We work diligently to ensure the needs of all our guests are met. I'm so glad we were able to provide you with everything you needed and that our location was convenient for you.

Whether you are here on business or pleasure, there is no better way to end your day than with a cocktail and front row seat to an incredible sunset! Thank you again for posting a review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent 3 days enjoying the area. Check in was very quick and efficient. Had a king suite located on the 2nd floor overlooking the harbor. Wonderful view. Room was very odd shaped. Once
you entered the room you had an L shaped hall before you got
to the living area. Nice sized room with balcony The bedroom was off of the living room, again with a 2nd balcony. Only downside to the layout was the extremely small closet with the pole at the height for handicapped room. No place to hang a dress or slacks without folding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate that you took the time to write us this great review! Since the property was not built as a Courtyard originally, some guests find that the rooms are a bit different than what they have experienced at other Courtyards. Handicap accessible rooms are a requirement for all hotels. The adjustments required in those rooms (like the lower pole in the closet and the roll-in shower) are necessary for our handicapped guests, but are certainly not ideal for others. On sold-out nights, there is good chance that a guest not requiring an accessible room will end up staying in one. You can always request not to be put in an accessible room. If we have the availability we will do our very best to accommodate you.

It sounds like, despite having the accessible room, you enjoyed your stay and I am so very glad that you did. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed on our byways trip from Florida to NH. Very nice facilities, overlooking the river, easy parking. On the downside the hotel is a very long walk to the Historic District, and should not be attempted after sunset. It is fine to use as a base for auto touring as the major highway is adjacent to the property.

Room Tip: River view facing east is the prime location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We are located on the opposite side of the Charleston peninsula from the historic district and Straw Market area. While you certainly could walk there (and the walk is a beautiful one along the harbor) it is about a mile and a half away. Our solution for this distance is that we offer a $6 per person, per day, unlimited use shuttle service that picks our guests up at the hotel twice an hour all day long. It is a one-stop shuttle that drops guests off at Waterfront Park, an ideal location that is centrally located within the historic district. While our distance from the historic district is not ideal for some, others prefer our location because it is away from the hustle and bustle. Our incredible harbor-front location boasts sunsets that centrally located hotels just don't have.

With our new, delicious dinner menu and extensive selection of wine, beer, and specialty drinks, many guests are opting to stay in. We have a good thing going at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.