We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location overlooking harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #38 of 54 hotels in Charleston
O'Fallon, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice location overlooking harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is located about a 5 minute drive from the historic district. The hotel is near a highway which was convenient for me since I was driving west for work. The terrace and harbor side pool look like a good place to relax. I had a large, clean room with a harbor view that is spectacular. Overall, very nice Courtyard in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel! Unlike most hotels, we have a very diverse clientele. Most hotels have a specific type of guest. Hotels near airports have busy weekdays and quiet weekends because their guests are primarily corporate travelers. Destination hotel guests see primarily pleasure travelers. At our property, we have a lot of both. We work diligently to ensure the needs of all our guests are met. I'm so glad we were able to provide you with everything you needed and that our location was convenient for you.

Whether you are here on business or pleasure, there is no better way to end your day than with a cocktail and front row seat to an incredible sunset! Thank you again for posting a review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    154
    64
    37
    22
See reviews for
105
150
22
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent 3 days enjoying the area. Check in was very quick and efficient. Had a king suite located on the 2nd floor overlooking the harbor. Wonderful view. Room was very odd shaped. Once
you entered the room you had an L shaped hall before you got
to the living area. Nice sized room with balcony The bedroom was off of the living room, again with a 2nd balcony. Only downside to the layout was the extremely small closet with the pole at the height for handicapped room. No place to hang a dress or slacks without folding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate that you took the time to write us this great review! Since the property was not built as a Courtyard originally, some guests find that the rooms are a bit different than what they have experienced at other Courtyards. Handicap accessible rooms are a requirement for all hotels. The adjustments required in those rooms (like the lower pole in the closet and the roll-in shower) are necessary for our handicapped guests, but are certainly not ideal for others. On sold-out nights, there is good chance that a guest not requiring an accessible room will end up staying in one. You can always request not to be put in an accessible room. If we have the availability we will do our very best to accommodate you.

It sounds like, despite having the accessible room, you enjoyed your stay and I am so very glad that you did. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed on our byways trip from Florida to NH. Very nice facilities, overlooking the river, easy parking. On the downside the hotel is a very long walk to the Historic District, and should not be attempted after sunset. It is fine to use as a base for auto touring as the major highway is adjacent to the property.

Room Tip: River view facing east is the prime location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We are located on the opposite side of the Charleston peninsula from the historic district and Straw Market area. While you certainly could walk there (and the walk is a beautiful one along the harbor) it is about a mile and a half away. Our solution for this distance is that we offer a $6 per person, per day, unlimited use shuttle service that picks our guests up at the hotel twice an hour all day long. It is a one-stop shuttle that drops guests off at Waterfront Park, an ideal location that is centrally located within the historic district. While our distance from the historic district is not ideal for some, others prefer our location because it is away from the hustle and bustle. Our incredible harbor-front location boasts sunsets that centrally located hotels just don't have.

With our new, delicious dinner menu and extensive selection of wine, beer, and specialty drinks, many guests are opting to stay in. We have a good thing going at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a the nicest Marriott Courtyard I have ever stayed at. The rooms are well decorated. The harbor- side pool & lounge area is beautiful. It is an easy 5 minute drive or shuttle ride to the King or Broad/Bay Street area. The shuttle is no longer free and is $6/person/per day but still a great deal if you don't have a car. Much more room than you would have with a downtown hotel. We weren't crazy about the handicapped bathroom - no bathtub and water from shower gets all over the floor so I would recommend asking for non-handicapped room. Will stay here on future trips. Staff was all very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
What a wonderful compliment! We are most certainly a unique Courtyard. A requirement of the Courtyard brand, the Bistro concept renovation will begin later this year. The Bistro renovation will change our appearance and bring many new technological advances to our hotel, but our style and outstanding customer service isn't going anywhere!

The heart of the historic district is about 1.5 miles from our hotel. The shuttle is very convenient and $6/person/day. We wish we didn't have to charge for the shuttle at all, but it covers the cost of gas, which as you know is expensive.

Thank you again for your wonderful review! We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

awesome place. Lots going on the Citadel graduation etc...and noone was over looked. we had excellent service a wonderful room and lots of help getting to the charleston college..hated to leave. the morning buffet was good and excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review for us! Our associates go the extra mile to ensure every guest is 100% satisfied. I'm glad you experienced this during your stay and appreciate your willingness to share it on Trip Advisor. April and May are a very busy time of year in Charleston. We sell-out most nights during these months and prepare our associates to ensure our level of service stays top-notch. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Could not ask for a better hotel in Charleston. The view is beautiful, the harbor-side bar and pool are wonderful to hang out at, the rooms are clean and have gorgeous views of the harbor with yachts, and the shuttle downtown is easy and efficient. Would rather stay here than downtown b/c we didn't have to get into all the traffic. Would def stay again!

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade...they gave us one for free :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are so fortunate to have this location on the harbor. Our guests love the huge terrace and pool deck. We don't charge for upgrades and are happy to oblige if we have them available. Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I hope that you will come stay with us again on your next trip to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My Husband and I spent 4 nites at this lovely hotel the end of Feb/13. Although the weather was too cold for us to sit out and enjoy the beautiful pool and deck, we were pleased with everything about this hotel.

Since the hotel is fairly new, the room and of course the whole hotel is lovely. Furnishings are great and the King bed was super comfy as we have come to expect from most Marriotts.

The Breakfast area is great, lots of choices in the menu and the location overlooking the pool deck and water, is another plus of this hotel.. Too bad there isn't lunch and dinner service too.The ongoing free coffee and tea service just off of the lobby is a great touch too.

While there, I needed help with transferring legal documents and the front desk staff were fabulously accomodating with the need to use their system since the business office was shut down for the length of our stay.

Although the hotel is outside of the downtown core, we found the Shuttle service to be fantastic. For only $6.00 per person the Shuttle runs downtown to the park approx., every 1/2 hr and the pick up is great to get back as well. Shuttle is available to be picked up til around 10:30 p.m. from downtown, lots of time to have a lovely dinner and attend a play too if your lucky enough to do so.

Shuttle Driver Marcus Poinsett; is a true asset to this hotel too, as he makes the trip between the downtown and the hotel a wonderful opportunity to ask questions about places to see, restaurants to visit and areas not to be missed, within this fabulous city. Marcus is a great emissary for the hotel and the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water side; at the far end of the building, away from the construction next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us! I will most certainly pass along your wonderful comments about Marcus. Our people are what make us great. You can have the newest, most luxurious hotel in the world with all the bells and whistles, but none of that matters if you don't have the right people. Happy employees, happy guests!

We've had a few changes since you were here in February. We are now serving nightly dinner and beginning May 5th, our bar will be open seven days per week.

Thank you again, for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard
Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.