We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #42 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lexington SC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Practical”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for a girls getaway last week. There was construction going on beside the hotel that caused a little bit of a traffic jam in the circular drive where you are to pull up and check-in. Check-in was easy and quick. Was not welcomed as a Marriott Rewards member but that was ok. The room was spacious and clean except....the sheets on my bed looked dingy. I had the maid to change them the second evening and she willingly obliged.
This hotel is old but is decorated well. It does face the water and that is a plus. If you want to walk downtown there is a shuttle. Don't attempt to cross Lockwood Drive on foot. Overall it is ok and practical.

Room Tip: Request a room on the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We love that you chose to spend your Girl's Getaway with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us!

As you and other posters have mentioned there is a hotel being built right next door to us. It only affects a handful of guest rooms in terms of noise early in the day, but we find that the majority of our guests are not affected by it. We do our best to work with a situation we cannot control.

It is wonderful to hear that your room was clean and you found it to have plenty of space. I do apologize about the bed linens, we are in the process of overhauling all of our bed linens over the next few weeks.

We hope you will come back next year for your Girl's Trip and see our newly renovated lobby and Bistro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    213
    97
    49
    31
See reviews for
137
213
25
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've stayed here several times, and we've never been anything but extremely pleased with the location, parking, service, cleanliness, decor and amenities such as the nice pool, hot tub and firepit area. Courtyard Charleston Waterfront remains our hotel of choice when we're in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for this review! We love seeing the familiar faces of our repeat guests and we're so glad you choose to stay with us time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at the waterfront. The terrace outside of the lobby is wonderful.Our room had a balcony with a full view of the water- very pretty.
We were checked in by Sara. Her customer service skills are top notch. She asked if we knew the city we didn't and proceeded to show us on a map where things were located and made some suggestions. The shuttle is a handy way to get downtown instead of having to drive.

Room Tip: corner room on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We love reading reviews like this! It sounds like Sara took great care of you during your stay - she's outstanding and we're glad we have her on our front desk team. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit to Charleston - come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront for two nights in April. It was not enough time to enjoy the hotel or Charleston! The hotel is not in the historic district but the shuttle service ($6.00 per person daily) or short taxi ride makes it convenient and a good value. Hotel staff was amazing - front desk offered a wealth of information and the concierge, Eddie, was helpful even in a phone call before we checked in. Hotel offered lovely amenities - including an outdoor lounge area, pool, evening bar service. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for this great review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. Eddie is pretty fantastic at his job and we're thrilled he was able to lend a helping hand to assist your specific needs.

We look forward to seeing you next time you're in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. I liked the location, but felt it was overpriced (personally). I will admit that it was the best deal we could have gotten by being able to stay on the peninsula without busting the bank account completely. The rooms were nice and wi-fi was included. The staff was friendly and gave great recommendations for local events and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for this review. The hotels in the Charleston area can be a little pricey at times, depending on availability and the time of the year - April is one of our busiest months and the start of wedding season in the Lowcountry. This means everyone wants to visit Charleston! We are glad you enjoyed your visit without "busting the bank completely" and hopefully you were able to indulge in some of the incredible restaurants and sights that our city has to offer!

We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for one night over the Easter weekend and the staff, room and free parking are the BIG pluses. The room was spacious with a balcony and we saw a lovely sunset Saturday evening. It would be great for a longer stay (mini fridge, microwave). I'd like to suggest the inclusion of tea bags in addition to coffee for the rooms. The drawbacks and what kept me from giving it the full 5 stars review is that the rooms aren't insulated very well. After midnight there sounded like a party outside of the room in the gathering area in front of the elevators. I am not a light sleeper but between that and the person in the room above us seemingly pacing very late in the evening, it was hard to sleep through the night. If we stay here again, I would request a room as far away from the elevator as possible.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, as for rooms away from the elevators because there are seating areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your stay over the holiday weekend. Our sunsets off the Ashley River are gorgeous and we're thrilled you were able to enjoy one from the balcony in your guest room.

We definitely look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Charleston Waterfront as a compromise, wanting to be on the downtown peninsula but wanting to mitigate the cost of downtown hotels. The rooms are very nice and include wi-fi, a (very) mini refrigerator and microwave. There is adequate free parking. The view over the adjacent marina is terrific, but if you really want to enjoy it spring for a waterfront room. We had a city view which was not particularly nice. What I did not expect was that you can't really walk from this hotel to anywhere - there is nothing close by. It is a short drive into downtown and there is plenty of public parking, but you have to drive. Or pay $6/day/person to use the hotel shuttle.

The breakfast area was very nice and had a great view. Breakfast will run you about $10/person/day. I've never worked out why some Courtyards charge and some include a basic breakfast like Hampton Inns.

The hotel could use a business center. They had one desk top computer in an alcove called a "business center" but it was down. The staff allowed us to use their back office computer with printer to print boarding passes for our departure.

To have dinner you need to make your way downtown, or cross a bridge in either direction to find restaurants.

Room Tip: If you can afford it take a room with a waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review! We're very glad you enjoyed your visit with us.
We hope you had gorgeous weather during your stay!

Since we are about a mile and a half from the Historic District, we often encourage our guests to use the Marriott shuttle service, which operates daily from our property for $6 per person (round trip). This is a good way to get to the downtown area for those not interested in the walk.

Again, we're thrilled you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Charleston Marriott
#41 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HRS, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.