We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #38 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Howell, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront for two nights in April. It was not enough time to enjoy the hotel or Charleston! The hotel is not in the historic district but the shuttle service ($6.00 per person daily) or short taxi ride makes it convenient and a good value. Hotel staff was amazing - front desk offered a wealth of information and the concierge, Eddie, was helpful even in a phone call before we checked in. Hotel offered lovely amenities - including an outdoor lounge area, pool, evening bar service. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for this great review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. Eddie is pretty fantastic at his job and we're thrilled he was able to lend a helping hand to assist your specific needs.

We look forward to seeing you next time you're in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    166
    71
    41
    22
See reviews for
109
161
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. I liked the location, but felt it was overpriced (personally). I will admit that it was the best deal we could have gotten by being able to stay on the peninsula without busting the bank account completely. The rooms were nice and wi-fi was included. The staff was friendly and gave great recommendations for local events and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for this review. The hotels in the Charleston area can be a little pricey at times, depending on availability and the time of the year - April is one of our busiest months and the start of wedding season in the Lowcountry. This means everyone wants to visit Charleston! We are glad you enjoyed your visit without "busting the bank completely" and hopefully you were able to indulge in some of the incredible restaurants and sights that our city has to offer!

We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for one night over the Easter weekend and the staff, room and free parking are the BIG pluses. The room was spacious with a balcony and we saw a lovely sunset Saturday evening. It would be great for a longer stay (mini fridge, microwave). I'd like to suggest the inclusion of tea bags in addition to coffee for the rooms. The drawbacks and what kept me from giving it the full 5 stars review is that the rooms aren't insulated very well. After midnight there sounded like a party outside of the room in the gathering area in front of the elevators. I am not a light sleeper but between that and the person in the room above us seemingly pacing very late in the evening, it was hard to sleep through the night. If we stay here again, I would request a room as far away from the elevator as possible.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, as for rooms away from the elevators because there are seating areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your stay over the holiday weekend. Our sunsets off the Ashley River are gorgeous and we're thrilled you were able to enjoy one from the balcony in your guest room.

We definitely look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Charleston Waterfront as a compromise, wanting to be on the downtown peninsula but wanting to mitigate the cost of downtown hotels. The rooms are very nice and include wi-fi, a (very) mini refrigerator and microwave. There is adequate free parking. The view over the adjacent marina is terrific, but if you really want to enjoy it spring for a waterfront room. We had a city view which was not particularly nice. What I did not expect was that you can't really walk from this hotel to anywhere - there is nothing close by. It is a short drive into downtown and there is plenty of public parking, but you have to drive. Or pay $6/day/person to use the hotel shuttle.

The breakfast area was very nice and had a great view. Breakfast will run you about $10/person/day. I've never worked out why some Courtyards charge and some include a basic breakfast like Hampton Inns.

The hotel could use a business center. They had one desk top computer in an alcove called a "business center" but it was down. The staff allowed us to use their back office computer with printer to print boarding passes for our departure.

To have dinner you need to make your way downtown, or cross a bridge in either direction to find restaurants.

Room Tip: If you can afford it take a room with a waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review! We're very glad you enjoyed your visit with us.
We hope you had gorgeous weather during your stay!

Since we are about a mile and a half from the Historic District, we often encourage our guests to use the Marriott shuttle service, which operates daily from our property for $6 per person (round trip). This is a good way to get to the downtown area for those not interested in the walk.

Again, we're thrilled you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockbridge
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I must say first that my mother and I stayed here before her heart surgery at nearby MUSC. I greatly appreciate their generosity in providing us lodging so near the hospital at a deep discount. Really everything was as you would expect in an expensive hotel.

Our room overlooked the water and we saw a beautiful sunset. This was very special as we did not know if it would be my mother's last. (FYI she came through surgery splendidly!)

There is a lovely patio overlooking the river, which it was too cold and windy to enjoy. Their 4:30-7 pm happy hour offers discounted ($5 instead of $7 per glass of wine), which can be enjoyed in the cozy bar area (there was a gas fire when we were there) or on the adjoining patio.

I had two wonderful breakfasts. I always order off the menu rather than the buffet. In this case the food came very quickly. They also did not charge for the coffee! Both meals were truly excellent.

The underground parking was very convenient and free! This is just five minutes from Historic Charleston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We absolutely love reading reviews like this one. We're glad when some of the MUSC patients and their families actually have time to get a little bit of a vacation out of their visits. We wish your mother a speedy recovery and hope that you both can return for a true Charleston vacation very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I reluctantly booked a room at this hotel after waiting too long to make my Spring Break reservation out in Mt. Pleasant. I was mostly pleased with this hotel, it just needs a little bit of updating. You won't likely be walking to downtown from this hotel because of its location, but parking is free and there is far more to see in this city than just downtown. Overall I'd recommend. A good deal for the price.

Pros:
It was on the west side of town, so we finally took the opportunity to see Folly Beach (Very nice)
Free covered parking
Staff was exceptionally friendly
Free wifi
Price and availability
Comfort of rooms
Fridge/microwave in room (always a plus)

Cons:
Not really near anything except MUSC
Noise from highway (I'm a heavy sleeper so this wasn't a big issue, but if you aren't - ask for a room on the other side of the hotel)
Rooms need a fresh coat of paint and the fixtures could be upgraded. The spout on our bathtub was literally just held on by a very noticeable caulk repair job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We do like the pros and cons list, as we're always interested in knowing how others see our property. Know that your comments are always heard and we take guest suggestions seriously. We're glad you enjoyed your Spring Break here with us in Charleston - hopefully you can visit when the weather is a tad bit warmer!
Thanks again, and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great Property!! The location on the Charleston harbor and overlooking the City was incredible. We were within walking distance of much of the City. Sterling and the staff we interacted with were friendly and professional. Nothing however topped the hotel conceirge, Eddie. When time did not permit us to visit our favorite restaurant The Peninsula Grill, Eddie made a special trip to to the restaurant and had our favorite dessert waiting for us when we returned to the hotel late that night!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We absolutely love reviews like this! Our staff is amazing and we love when others recognize this as well. We're so glad that Eddie and Sterling exceeded your expectations - they're some of the best! Thanks again for this awesome feedback - we look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.