We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived late at night and were greeted by very friendly staff at the front desk. Their efficiency made the checkin process very quick and easy. Our room (king-size, corner, facing the water) was a relaxing haven when we returned from walking all day. The sitting area with a couch was comfy and the desk area was spacious for using the laptop. The balcony was small, but big enough to sit and enjoy the sound of water lapping the boats. The morning buffet was reasonably priced and included a great variety of breakfast items. It is about 3-5 miles from the downtown area, so if that is where you plan to spend all your time, you may want to consider other options. However, the drive from the hotel to parking in the downtown area was an easy 10-15 minute drive. It's definitely worth considering for your next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We're so thrilled you had such an enjoyable trip to Charleston! Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay with us. We love knowing you felt relaxed and refreshed at our property!
We hope we'll see you again on your return visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    182
    79
    45
    25
See reviews for
115
180
23
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I were guests the nights of March 7 and 8, 2013. Our room was quite small (one person getting out of the king sized bed during the night had to be cautious not to bump into a wooden sofa arm just inches from the foot of the bed), the carpeting was thread-bare, the bi-fold mirrored closet doors were difficult to close, and the toilet ran non-stop. Because we had the reduced medical rate given to patients at Medical University of S.C., we accepted the room size and were grateful for a view of the Ashley River harbor. However we had a hard time sleeping because of the toilet and noise of children running in the room above us. When I finally returned from the hospital after 8 PM Friday evening, I stopped at the Front Desk and asked to have maintenance fix the toilet with the hope I would get a better night's sleep. I waited approximately an hour and then cancelled my request because I was exhausted from having left with my husband at 5:30 AM for the hospital and desperately wanted to go to sleep after an anxious day.We stayed at this property because of a medical procedure at MUSC in 2007. The contrast with our most recent stay was very disappointing. My husband is a Platinum Level Marriott Awards member yet I am doubtful we would return or recommend this Courtyard to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Words cannot express how sorry we are for all the issues you encountered during your recent stay at our property. This level of service is definitely not our norm and please accept our apology. Know that your comments are heard and the appropriate departments are notified so changes and improvement can be made. Thank you for your Marriott loyalty, you are appreciated and we hope you'll consider giving us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel staff at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront was there for us for everything we wanted or could possibly need. The staff was always available, friendly, helpful and would double check to make sure we had what we had asked for or requested. Eddie the Concierge was excellent in his recommendations for tours, sites and restaurants and for providing for all of our transporation needs. The Front Desk staff and Molly of the office went out of the way to make sure everything was in order with anything we needed. Bolivar provided great service for all of the items we needed in our room. The staff at the Courtyard made our stay in Charleston "extra special".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for this glowing review! We are beyond thrilled you had such an amazing experience with us while in Charleston. Your kind words about Eddie and Bolivar will be passed on to them, and thank you again for pointing out those that gave exceptional service.

We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were on the first floor. No view. And the bathroom floor was freezing with the garage below us. Can't believe this was a 5 star by Mariott for points. Nice view for breakfast. You do have to "loop around" if you are going out to Kiawaha midland for golf. Close to fun places in Charleston.

Room Tip: Don't be on the first floor in cool weathere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post some feedback regarding your stay. On sold out weekends and certain event dates, inevitably there will be guests that don't get the room upgrade they hoped for or a room on the 4th floor as requested. Know that we read the requests put into the reservation system and we take them into consideration when we choose rooms. Unfortunately, not all requests can be granted and if you left our property disappointed, please accept our apologies.
We are very glad you were able to enjoy the gorgeous views of the marina from our terrace, albeit a little chilly outside right now. We hope you had a great time in Charleston and hope you'll consider staying with us again soon! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were there last November (2012) when attending a wedding, and the property was one of
several in the vicinity of the wedding events with reserved rooms. We were very pleased with t
proximity of the motel to the wedding site, and thought the Courtyard was a good decision. The
location, due to adjacent construction, is a bit tricky to find easy access. After we learned that
when coming back from a trip to downtown on the east side, we had to pass by, make a u turn, and then enter we were good to go.
Our room was quite adequate, clean and easily accessible to elevators. The Courtyard is in
a good location for downtown access, Medical center access and access to the Citadel. When
there, a Citadel class was having a reunion there but rather than being a problem we enjoyed
the interaction ( even though I am a West Point grad ). The bar area is small with limited stock and space. Frankly, we don't remember the breakfast so can't comment +/-. The staff was
quite helpful with directions, etc. so our stay was generally what we would have expected at
a Marriott facility. The construction in the adjacent space is a bit if a hassle, but not their
making and certainly not a big deal.
All in all, we got the quality and service we paid for.

Room Tip: Until construction is finished, not sure how to recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks for this review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us back in November and that you found your room well equipped and comfortable.
Navigating the downtown area can be a little tricky at times and we're so glad our front desk staff could assist you with directions and get you where you needed to be.

We hope you'll come back and visit us soon! Thanks again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent location, great staff, comfortable sitting areas both inside and out. Concierge, Eddie McBride, was very helpful in dining suggestions and tours.Even on a rainy day, there was a fireplace sitting area. Breakfast was both buffet and order from menu. Very satisfying and well priced. The wait staff were excellent. If we return to Charleston, we would definitely stay at the same hotel. We have also recommended it friends who visit the College of Charleston. While there is construction in the area, there was easy access to the highway and within a few minutes of historic Charleston. Would recommend the facility.

Room Tip: Ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We're thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit to our property! Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and sing the praises of Eddie McBride, our Concierge extraordinaire! It's fantastic that you're recommending our property to others, especially those visiting the College of Charleston which is located a short 5 minute drive from us.

Thank you again for your kind words - we look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there this past week for one night, and while the staff was friendly and helpful, I didn't find the hotel to be very exceptional for the price paid.

Location - We had a corner suite situated between construction and a highway, and while I understand this isn't the hotel's fault, the pricing for the room ($200+) is a bit excessive considering we heard construction until after 6pm when we got there and it woke us up at 7am the next morning.

Room - The room was nice, with a bit of an odd lay out, the balcony was very large, but the room wasn't the cleanest I've been in. Stains on the chairs, bathtub didn't look like it had been cleaned and the whirlpool had black and white debris floating in the water when it was filled. Also the room was HOT and stuffy.

The outdoor facilities were beautiful and we enjoyed looking out over the marina as we relaxed. The breakfast was delicious and what we considered a reasonable price. Again, the staff was top notch.

I find it doubtful we'll be staying here again though for the sheer fact of value. There are much nicer, less noisy, hotels right downtown for a similar price. The price for the experience is just not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Reviews like this are difficult to read, as we work hard to make sure each and every guest has enjoyed their visit to our property. Know that your comments are heard, taken very seriously, and passed on to the appropriate departments so changes can be made. The construction next door has presented frustrations, but to us and our guests. We look forward to the completion of that new property this fall. Please accept our apologies for the disturbance the construction may have caused you.

We urge guests, whether ours or those at different properties, to communicate issues with the front desk agents during their stay. We may have been able to remedy some of the issues you were experiencing, or perhaps assist you in changing of rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback - we hope you'll consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.