We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #38 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Bay Village, Ohio
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Impossible to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

You have to really want to find this place. Even after I found the hotel, the signage was so bad I couldn't figure out how to get in. Staff was very courteous. Marriott rooms are always good. But the hotel is in an area that seemed unsafe to be lost in.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're sorry you had problems locating our property. Charleston can be hard to navigate at times and with certain streets only allowing for one way traffic, we understand your frustrations. Please know we definitely take all comments into consideration and we're working on a solution with signage so future guests might have an easier time with the check in process. We're glad the rest of your stay was enjoyable.

We hope you'll consider staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    166
    71
    41
    22
See reviews for
109
161
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, Ny
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights between Christmas and New Years - check in was very quick and efficient, the room was clean, breakfast in the morning was crowded but the staff kept everything moving, even had managers chipping in. They seem like they will do anything to make your stay comfortable. The outside fireplace pit is a great touch, overlooking the marina and very easy to use. The hotel is not downtown but easy access to everything and at a much better price. I will stay here again on the next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for this great review of our property! We're glad you found your room clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Our staff and management team work closely together to ensure every guest has an amazing experience at our hotel - it's not unusual to see managers bussing tables or front desk employees assisting with housekeeping!

The outside fire pit is a new addition to our poolside area and we're thrilled that we've had some crisp nights where our guests can truly enjoy a relaxing evening by the fire.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your stay. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolwich, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

First of all checking in on two separate ocassions was first rate. The staff at the front desk ( sorry not to remember any names ) but could not have been nicer. I have worked in customer service related industries my entire life and I was very, very impressed.

The room ( got the same on two different stays :) was on the upper part overlooking the marina. It had a nice porch with rocking chairs to enjoy the pool below and the spectacular view. I cannot wait to return and think it would be outstanding to have a room like that during July 4th celebration and hope to do that one day.

I loved the place. Getting into it off the main roads can be tricky but once you figure that out it is worth it. We did have to go around & around to figure it out.

Charleston is the best and the location was perfect! We will return asap.

Room Tip: Facing west for sunsets/pool. Upper rooms are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks so much for this awesome review of our property! We're so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us - definitely check into rates for July and keep in mind that the Joe Riley Stadium actually does their big fireworks event on July 3rd. It's an awesome show!

We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel was totally fine in every way except for location. It has traffic on two sides and construction of a new hotel on the third, so unless you manage to get a room dead-on center overlooking the marina, you are in for noise. I asked for a quiet room overlooking the marina, told there wasn't one, but that he'd give me one with a "marsh view" with a large balcony. Turned out the marsh view was beyond the location of the garbage bins, so that is really the view you got. And the "large balcony" was so small that the chairs on it had to be positioned sideways in order to fit - not that I wanted to sit looking over the trash to the marsh anyway! One positive was free underground parking. Even the breakfast was not included in the price of $152/night.

Room Tip: Overlooking marina are only good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. The construction next door has presented some challenges for us and we're very sorry that it interfered with your visit. We are looking forward to the completion of the project as well! While we wish we could upgrade every guest to a room facing the marina, often times those upgrades are unavailable. We definitely try our best to accomodate every guest request and please accept our apologies for not having that upgrade available for your stay.

We do hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Charleston. Thanks again for your review and have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed overnight December 22 before going on a cruise to the Bahamas for New Years.

The entire staff was friendly and asked us if if needed anything. Since it's next to the marina the view is great and you can walk to see all the big yachts. Downtown is several blocks away but there is a shuttle for $5 PP each way at the hotel.

The breakfast buffet was very good and they will fix your eggs fresh any way you want them, including omelets.

They allowed us to park in their lot for free while we were our cruise saving us the $17/day parking fee at the cruise dock. We just a cab ride for $10 PP each way and the cab service was extremely prompt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Happy New Year! Thanks for taking the time and writing a few kind words about your recent stay with us! We're glad you enjoyed the beautiful views of the marina and found our guest service throughout the hotel to be exceptional.

Right now we do allow guests that stay with us either before, or when returning from a cruise, to park a vehicle in our open lot for no additional fee. This may change in the future, as our parking has become limited with the new structure being built next door.

Thanks again for staying with us! We hope you had an amazing cruise and that we'll see you again on your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel was part of a great trip to Charleston after Christmas. The corner room with the view of the marina was a great place to watch the sunsets. We enjoyed the king size bed and also used the pull out couch my daughter. We easily found our way around from the hotel and hope that the addition of another hotel next door will draw some restaurants down towards the river on this end.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for this glowing review of your stay with us! We're glad you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the gorgeous sunsets over the Ashley River - our property has one of the best views for sunset lovers! Sometime mid-2013, we'll be moving to the Courtyard Bistro styling so other dining options will be available for our guests, as we know there are few restaurants within walking distance of our hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us! We wish you and your family a Happy New Year and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Lake, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I will never bother staying in downtown Charleston again.I have spent hundreds of dollars per night for hotel rooms in this city and never received the quality of service I received from the staff in this hotel. It is nice to deal with staff that remember your name and go the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant experience. I am especially appreciative to Sterling, he is a pro in every sense of the word.
My room was very nice and well appointed. The full porch balcony provided great views of the river. Great hotel for the price.
If there is a negative it would be the breakfast. the food is good but at $10.95 per person is over-priced and the dining room is to small to accommodate the quest without long waits.

Room Tip: Any room with a porch balcony, mine was Room 122.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to wow you at every turn with our service. Sterling is definitely one of the best and sets the bar high when it comes to service excellence - we're happy to have him as a member of our Courtyard family!

Happy New Year from all of us at the Courtyard by Marriott: Charleston Waterfront! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.