We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the water front!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #38 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the water front!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed overnight December 22 before going on a cruise to the Bahamas for New Years.

The entire staff was friendly and asked us if if needed anything. Since it's next to the marina the view is great and you can walk to see all the big yachts. Downtown is several blocks away but there is a shuttle for $5 PP each way at the hotel.

The breakfast buffet was very good and they will fix your eggs fresh any way you want them, including omelets.

They allowed us to park in their lot for free while we were our cruise saving us the $17/day parking fee at the cruise dock. We just a cab ride for $10 PP each way and the cab service was extremely prompt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Happy New Year! Thanks for taking the time and writing a few kind words about your recent stay with us! We're glad you enjoyed the beautiful views of the marina and found our guest service throughout the hotel to be exceptional.

Right now we do allow guests that stay with us either before, or when returning from a cruise, to park a vehicle in our open lot for no additional fee. This may change in the future, as our parking has become limited with the new structure being built next door.

Thanks again for staying with us! We hope you had an amazing cruise and that we'll see you again on your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    165
    69
    40
    22
See reviews for
108
160
22
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel was part of a great trip to Charleston after Christmas. The corner room with the view of the marina was a great place to watch the sunsets. We enjoyed the king size bed and also used the pull out couch my daughter. We easily found our way around from the hotel and hope that the addition of another hotel next door will draw some restaurants down towards the river on this end.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for this glowing review of your stay with us! We're glad you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the gorgeous sunsets over the Ashley River - our property has one of the best views for sunset lovers! Sometime mid-2013, we'll be moving to the Courtyard Bistro styling so other dining options will be available for our guests, as we know there are few restaurants within walking distance of our hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us! We wish you and your family a Happy New Year and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Lake, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I will never bother staying in downtown Charleston again.I have spent hundreds of dollars per night for hotel rooms in this city and never received the quality of service I received from the staff in this hotel. It is nice to deal with staff that remember your name and go the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant experience. I am especially appreciative to Sterling, he is a pro in every sense of the word.
My room was very nice and well appointed. The full porch balcony provided great views of the river. Great hotel for the price.
If there is a negative it would be the breakfast. the food is good but at $10.95 per person is over-priced and the dining room is to small to accommodate the quest without long waits.

Room Tip: Any room with a porch balcony, mine was Room 122.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to wow you at every turn with our service. Sterling is definitely one of the best and sets the bar high when it comes to service excellence - we're happy to have him as a member of our Courtyard family!

Happy New Year from all of us at the Courtyard by Marriott: Charleston Waterfront! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days here over the Christmas holiday. The staff was great. The rooms were very clean with the exception of Christmas day. When we returned after lunch, our bed had been made and towels removed. However, there were still crumbs on the floor and tables and the bathroom had not been swept and mopped. I am forgiving though.....it was Christmas day and I'm sure the housekeeping staff was anxious to be home with their families. Overall, we had a great experience here. A lovely room with a balcony and harbor view. I'd definitely stay again. Plus, it was priced right and had free parking!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us! We're glad you found your room comfortable and well-equipped, along with the lovely view. We apologize about the housekeeping issues you experienced on Christmas Day and we thank you for your understanding. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Charleston.


Happy Holidays from all of us at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went here for a brief vacation and found the hotel very nice but a staff that was amazing. I can't say enough. They have sheltered parking and service to the Historic District for a small price. I definitely will return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We are thrilled you had such an outstanding visit to our property! We strive to wow each and every guest that stays with us, no matter the duration of their visit. Thank you again for the great feedback and we hope you have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were on our Anniversary/Christmas trip. The room had a comfortable king size bed. The room was inviting and VERY clean, even in the hidden corners (smile). The view of the marina and Ashley River through the window (patio slide door) and from our balcony was very relaxing, especially when watching sunrises or sunsets. All of the staff were well-trained, appropriately friendly and helpful (concierge-style). When Eddie (front desk) noticed that I was looking stressed (I got caught off-guard by many of the downtown restaurants closing earlier than we expected on Christmas Eve) he suggested other possibilities and comped my snacks since I didn't feel like going back out. Most importantly, his words and conversation showed that he understood and he made me laugh! I went back to my room with a smile on my face. Regarding location, be aware that there are multilane highways near the hotel and these can be seen from your room. There were no traffic sounds and it was convenient because the hotel's location had many choices of highway directions immediately accessible. To offset the difficulty of crossing the street to walk downtown, a $6 (all-day) hotel shuttle is available. You also could drive downtown where we found lots of parking places. The downtown parking cost was offset by the fact that parking at the hotel was at no added cost. If you are a person who wants to walk downstairs to be in city excitement, this is not the hotel for you. We wanted to the hotel to be quiet and out of the way and with easy access to the Charleston attractions. Regularly, we enjoyed the city and also went to one of the available islands and then returned to our quiet hotel. We will return and have already recommended this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Get a riverside room and an upper floor for the scenic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us over the long holiday weekend. Eddie will be pleased to know you spoke so highly of him! Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family members - we can't wait to see you again! Have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermillion, South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

While slightly inconvenient, with a little practice, it wasn't hard to get around. Very nice room and public areas. Only breakfast is available but there is also a convenience store on-site. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our property! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the kind words regarding our staff members. We hope we'll see you on your return visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Pool, City Cent...
Show More
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#40 of 54 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Pool, Restauran...
Show More
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Free internet...
Show More
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
James Island
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Charming, City...
Show More
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#9 of 54 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.