We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Marriott Courtyard with a 10+ grade for the staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #38 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Another Marriott Courtyard with a 10+ grade for the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went here for a brief vacation and found the hotel very nice but a staff that was amazing. I can't say enough. They have sheltered parking and service to the Historic District for a small price. I definitely will return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We are thrilled you had such an outstanding visit to our property! We strive to wow each and every guest that stays with us, no matter the duration of their visit. Thank you again for the great feedback and we hope you have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    154
    64
    37
    22
See reviews for
105
150
22
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were on our Anniversary/Christmas trip. The room had a comfortable king size bed. The room was inviting and VERY clean, even in the hidden corners (smile). The view of the marina and Ashley River through the window (patio slide door) and from our balcony was very relaxing, especially when watching sunrises or sunsets. All of the staff were well-trained, appropriately friendly and helpful (concierge-style). When Eddie (front desk) noticed that I was looking stressed (I got caught off-guard by many of the downtown restaurants closing earlier than we expected on Christmas Eve) he suggested other possibilities and comped my snacks since I didn't feel like going back out. Most importantly, his words and conversation showed that he understood and he made me laugh! I went back to my room with a smile on my face. Regarding location, be aware that there are multilane highways near the hotel and these can be seen from your room. There were no traffic sounds and it was convenient because the hotel's location had many choices of highway directions immediately accessible. To offset the difficulty of crossing the street to walk downtown, a $6 (all-day) hotel shuttle is available. You also could drive downtown where we found lots of parking places. The downtown parking cost was offset by the fact that parking at the hotel was at no added cost. If you are a person who wants to walk downstairs to be in city excitement, this is not the hotel for you. We wanted to the hotel to be quiet and out of the way and with easy access to the Charleston attractions. Regularly, we enjoyed the city and also went to one of the available islands and then returned to our quiet hotel. We will return and have already recommended this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Get a riverside room and an upper floor for the scenic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us over the long holiday weekend. Eddie will be pleased to know you spoke so highly of him! Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family members - we can't wait to see you again! Have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermillion, South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

While slightly inconvenient, with a little practice, it wasn't hard to get around. Very nice room and public areas. Only breakfast is available but there is also a convenience store on-site. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our property! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the kind words regarding our staff members. We hope we'll see you on your return visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

On the positive side, the room was really comfortable and well-equipped. We didn't notice much noise but there may have been no construction going on due to it being a holiday weekend. The location is slightly inconvenient; it is genuinely a challenge to cross the multi-lane highways to walk into town. To compensate, the hotel offers a $6 return shuttle bus into town whose drivers were friendly and informative!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us! I'm thrilled to hear that you found your room comfortable and well-equipped. As you mentioned, there is constuction going on next door to us. A competing hotel property is going up and there is some minor noise during the day. For the most part, our guests are minimally affected.

Thank you again for your review! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Charleston!

Happy Holidays from all of us at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here while in town for one night, December 7th. Julian at the front desk was great. He upgraded us to suite. When we asked about taxi transportation downtown for dinner he arranged that also, and provided us with a map of the market area, with directions from the hotel. Outstanding service. Although it was next to the construction next door, there were no noise problems, even in the morning hours. The room was extremely clean and comfortable, and much bigger than we needed. The view over the marina is excellent and the patio overlooking the pool is a nice place to relax in the early morning with coffee. Would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We're thrilled that you shared your excellent experience at our property with future guests! We look forward to the opportunity to wow you again soon! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights recently while visiting family who live nearby. The hotel is attractive and well maintained and staff members were friendly. It has a wonderful view of the Ashley River and nearby marina. Leaving the hotel, you can only turn right onto Lockwood Drive (toward downtown), so if you want to go the other direction you have to make a U-turn. You also have to make a U-turn to get to the hotel coming from downtown Charleston. It was not a problem when we were there (little traffic because of holiday) but could be an issue during heavy traffic. We would like to have walked over the bridge to West Ashley, but that route is not pedestrian friendly. However, you could walk to downtown Charleston (about 2 miles).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks so much for this review of our property. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your return visit to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I traveled to Charleston on a short business trip and spent 2 nights at the hotel. This hotel is extremely close to the downtown area. The front desk staff was exceptional. The lobby area appeared brand new as did most of the room, and all hallways. It met my normal expectations of a Courtyard.

It's clearly a rehab, and you can see it in outlet covers and light switches. The building itself is not a courtyard configuration but a water front beach style with parking underneath, a very nice large outdoor patio area, and an excellent breakfast/dinner room. They do not have the bistro concept at this facility but they do have the Marketplace adjacent to the check in desk.

Security was adequate, my room was exceptionally quiet, but I did notice when walking around the floor between the bedroom and the sink that the floor had a hollow sound. I don't know if this is a wood structure in the area of room 424, but I was a little concerned my normal walking might be disturbing someone below. The bed had a creak. I didn't report it but plan to so they can address.

The bathroom didn't have what I expect for normal courtyard surround in the shower (usually marble or similar) but it was clean & new. The tile on the floor in the bathroom was also a bit lower grade than I see in most Courtyards, but looks like you'd expect for a beach area hotel.

There was nothing that would keep me from staying here again. I was satisfied for the price, and once you have experienced the crossing an entrance ramp, exit ramp and turn lane to enter the facility and driving past it to U turn to return, it's not that big of an inconvenience though on your first approach it could be a bit concerning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at our property and thank you for the kind words regarding the front desk staff! The time and thoughtfulness you put into this review is greatly appreciated and helpful to future guests. We definitely hope you'll visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard
Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.