We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid room overall. Some things to change, but good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rio Rancho, NM
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Solid room overall. Some things to change, but good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hot tub is hot and it's a tub...the water level was low all 6 days, the plaster needs to be redone on both the hot tub and the pool. The fireplace was great when it worked, which it did for 25 minutes - and that was because I was able to get it to work when working with the maintenance staff. The beds were hard and both of them squeaked. Overall the room was nice. The wireless internet access was good, speed was okay, but not enough to skype. The balconies of some of the rooms were large, but the rooms that face the bridge have a 6'x18" deck. They're not very big. The staff was very acommodating, and I'd like to call out the wait staff in the breakfast area, Louis (Maintenance), and Julian (Lobby) for outstanding customer service. The common areas are nice and the rockers and lounges out on the deck are really cool.

All this said, I would stay again, but I'd be specific in my room choice. The construction wasn't bad next door (Hilton Garden Inn). The beds are a bit too hard, and I'd be willing to explore the Holiday Inn that is close by too.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the marina, not the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We appreciate the feedback, both positive and negative, on your recent stay with us. Your concerns have been passed along to the appropriate departments and the necessary repairs have been addressed. Louis and Julian thank you for your kind words and we all hope you'll consider a visit to us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    170
    72
    44
    24
See reviews for
111
169
22
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The room was pretty decent and clean. The bed was a bit hard and uncomfortable. The common areas could use an upgrade. Customer service at check-in could have been a bit more hospitable. There was construction nearby, but I could not hear it much from my room. A decent value for the price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks for the review! We're looking forward to some renovations coming in 2013, so stay tuned for the New Lobby! you might have seen at some properties and featured on the Marriott website. We hope you'll consider staying with us on your next visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I found this hotel to be comfortable and quiet. The desk staff were very friendly and they even let us check in a little early since we arrived in town an hour early.
The room was spacious enough, the bed was very comfortable and even though our room faced the main road, we didn't hear any noise at night. The room has a microwave and little refrigerator which we used.
The hotel has free parking.
The only problems we found with our room is: no ventilation fan in the bathroom, and the bathroom door doesn't close completely - it seems to be too large for the door frame. But we would stay in this hotel again because we enjoy the Marriott hotel chain.
Downtown is about 1-1/2 to 2 miles away and only takes a couple of minutes to drive there. Downton Charleston has a number of parking lots and you can park along most streets, so that wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: A quiet location near the water - about 1-1/2 miles from downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to our property and the Charleston area. We appreciate the feedback, and the concerns you addressed have been passed onto our maintenence team and the necessary repairs have been made. Thanks again for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a wonderful room with wonderful service. The view out our window was one of the lovely pool and the water and bridge inthe background with the boats in the bay. There was some construction next door but we never even knew it until we went for a walk. the only bad thing was that you weren't able to walk to the historical Charleston but their shuttle was prompt. ALthough we learned that you had to reserve it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a view of the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We appreciate the great review and the fantastic feedback regarding your visit! We hope you'll consider staying with us again on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wanted to stay in one decent hotel driving from Massachusetts to Florida. Rooms were spacious and clean but hotel was good distance from downtown. They have only breakfast available and nearest restaurant was 10 minute walk. They do have free parking which is a good deal. The staff was very nice. There is a six dollar roundtrip shuttle to downtown which I used. Overall nice place and good value. I think I would prefer staying in town next time to be closer to everything.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We're so glad you chose to stay with us on your trip down to Florida. Thanks again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am in Charleston for Medical purposes, this property is lovely, and within 10 minutes from the medical complex. The staff has been very accommodating with my not knowing when my spouse will be dismissed, I'm sure they are used to dealing with lots of emotions from people here with loved ones in one of the hospitals, because the front desk has been very empathic.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We work closely with the Medical University patients and their families, and understand that often times, a stay at our property isn't exactly an ideal vacation. We're glad we could take some of the stress away from you during your visit and that we were able to extend your stay as needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I have always chosen to stay at this hotel on our frequent ventures to Charleston and it only seemed fitting to stay here for our second wedding anniversary this year. However it appears that the hotel is under new management and apparently has taken on a new Customer Service approach as well.

One of my favorite things about this hotel is that the staff is very kind and helpful... or at least, they used to be.

Over the weekend, I happened to see a pending charge of $220 on our banking account that was placed by the hotel. When I inquired with the (fill-in) management, I was told that they didn't know where the charge came from and there wasn't much they could do about it until their accountant came in on Monday- so we waited... and waited. (A side note: while I was looking into my own issue, another customer came down with a similar complaint except that his room had been double charged!)

The accountant came in about 20 minutes later than what we were told on Monday morning and she would not speak with us. Apparently there was a "pow-wow" meeting that she needed to be a part of before she could help us, which took about 45 minutes after she was already 20 minutes late. So we were waiting an hour and a half before she could speak with us.

Then we were told she would not speak with us at all. We needed to call our bank and resolve the issue ourselves.

So another 30 minutes goes by, and long story short, we resolved the issue with the bank. We just needed her to send a simple fax and we could be on our way.

So we waited. Another 20 minutes.

Meanwhile I asked to speak with a manager as the General Manager walked past us several times without saying a word and even took his coffee and newspaper outside (right in front of us) all the while ignoring our very existence.

The Assistant Manager came out to speak with us and assured us that she would take care of everything and then said she was going to go investigate further, then report back. We never saw her again.

A total of almost 3 hours later, the accountant (who earlier was not able to speak with us) came out to let us know she had sent the fax. Nothing more.

No one even apologized to us for the huge inconvenience, much less the service that we received!

Since then I have called the Customer Service hotline and opened up a Customer Service complaint, and still over one month later, no resolution has been reached.

I suppose Customer Service is a lost art and apparently the only good thing left of this hotel is the view. Proceed at your own risk and I hope that your trip fares better than ours.

Happy Anniversary to us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We apologize that your experience during your most recent stay with us wasn't what you expected and that you dealt with difficulties long after checking out. We appreciate your business and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;