We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #38 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Lynnwood, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a nice hotel to stay in Charleston, its on the water. A little isolated since nothing is really within walking distance. But in a safe area if you want to walk. Bed was real comfortable. Not located downtown, but the shuttle will drive you there. The bed was real comfortable. The staff recommended a great seafood restaurant down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to our property. We hope you'll consider staying with us again the next time you're in the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    165
    69
    39
    22
See reviews for
108
157
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The property was very nice. Inexpensive breakfast buffet. The only downside is that there is nothing walking distance around the hotel. Everything is a cab ride or a 20-30 min walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for the kind words regarding your most recent stay with us. We hope that on your next visit, you'll take advantage of the shuttle service into the Historic District. For $6 a person, you'll receive a round trip day pass to the Waterfront Park, putting you mere steps away from incredible restaurants and the downtown charm that Charleston has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Comfortable room with nice amenities. Great shower! Tiled walk-in shower with nice showerhead, good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Comfortable bed, but hotel needs to purchase bottom sheets large enough to fit the mattress. The fitted sheet was obviously made for a smaller mattress but housekeeping had tried to stretch the corners to fit the thicker mattress. Every time we got in bed the upper corners pulled off the mattress so by morning the sheet would be in a wad under our shoulders and we would be lying on the mattress pad. we added an additional night on the front end of our visit at the last minute and also requested an early check in. Although they made no promises when we called, they accommodated us with the room type we wanted upon our arrival.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that your room was comfortable and that the shower was such a hit! After reading your comments about the fitted sheets, I went in search of the scoop. I shared your review with our Executive Housekeeper and together we went in search of ill-fitting sheets. On our third room, after two that seemed to fit fine, I noticed that the elastic on the corners of the fitted sheet only seemed to come about half way down the mattress. Upon further inspection, we found that the sheet was not put on correctly by the housekeeper, making it nearly impossible to fit. We identified the housekeeper and showed her the error. We no longer have that problem!

Letting us know about issues like this is greatly appreciated! I'm certain that other guests have had that same issue with the fitted sheet. If we don't know about a problem, we can't fix it. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Poor ventilation resulting in rooms that feel like saunas and smell like mold. Tiny baths, again, no vents.

Public spaces are large and pretty on the marina, but our large group over the weekend was in agreement that we were fleeced on high cost/very disgusting lodging.

Meeting planners are lured to this place with low cost meeting space; attendees pick up the bill and have to live with the mistake for days.

Charleston is old- seek out new hotels and enjoy the city.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry that you were unhappy with our facility. It's true that we have a few challenges here. Issues, such as the size of several guest room bathrooms and ventilation, are not easily changeable in a 5-story building. The hotel was built by another chain over a decade ago. Unfortunately it can be difficult to increase the size of hotel rooms in an existing property. We took great care when renovating to maximize the space we inherited.

Meeting planners return to our hotel time and time again not only for the reasonable cost of our meeting spaces but because of the excellent customer service and unique location directly on the water! We host hundreds of wedding guests and groups every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Courtyard Waterfront in March of 2012. We had an absolutely wonderful experience here and we cannot wait to return sometime this year. The front desk staff was very accomodating to us. We arrived to the hotel a few hours before check in started, and they were able to easily find a room for us. Our room was very clean and the beds were amazingly comfortable. After a 10 hour drive it was great to lay down and take a nap when we arrived. The location of the hotel is beautiful along the Ashley River. We enjoyed sitting on the wrap around porch and watching the sail boats. It is a very short drive to the Historic District, like I'm talking less than 2 miles. My husband and I stayed here before going on the Carnival Cruise out of Charleston. The hotel allowed us to leave our car in their lot free of charge for the entire time of our cruise. This saved us quite a bit of money, as the parking at the port was $15 per day. We honestly would have preferred to stay at this hotel for our entire vacation instead of going on the cruise! I am a travel agent and I recommend this property quite often to customers. Another agent in my office also stayed here this summer and had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Request River view room when making your booking. The other rooms face a busy highway and it is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! Nothing thrills me more than a happy guest who can't wait to come back! As you mentioned we are happy to offer free parking for our guests embarking on one of the Carnival Cruise ships that depart from our beautiful city. As long as you spend atleast one night with us your car is welcome to stay with us at no charge while you are out cruising.

We are very proud of our associates! They all love what they do and that is the key to our success of providing outstanding customer service.

Thank you again for your glowing review! Come back and see us again soon.

P.S. This guest provided a very good Room Tip! We gladly upgrade our guests to waterview rooms at no additional charge upon availability. If a view of the water is a "must", be sure to book that room type. Booking a standard room and requesting a waterview does not guarantee one. Thanks for that great tip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and my family decided to stay there for a couple of days. It was construction going on so it was really noisy. We had horrible service at restaurant, eggs were cold, servers were rude. My husband had a problem with people at the front desk. Molly looked like she didn't want us there.
Otherwise its a nice place with beautiful view. But it is not enough to say it was great experience. I will never stay there again. Wold not recommended that!!!

Room Tip: Choose for another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. You are correct that there is construction going on at the property next door to us. Luckily, the pile-driving is complete and the current construction noise is minimal. I apologize that you were also unhappy with our breakfast. It was surprising to hear as we usually get great reviews about the food we provide on the buffet. We have made some employee changes over the past two weeks and our new servers are much more experienced than the previous ones. We have gotten rave reviews so far!

I was truly shocked to read that you felt I didn't want you here. Shocked because I never feel that way about any of our guests. If I came across that way it was unintentional and I am truly sorry.

Every day I go out of my way to ensure that every guest feels welcome and knows they are appreciated. Our business is all about our guests! My goal is that every guest returns home feeling completely satisfied with his or her stay and has a desire to stay with us again. I urge future guests to voice concerns druing their stay so that we can have the opportunity to address them immediately! I guarantee we will do everything possible to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The arrival/lobby area was hard to ascertain as you drove up. It wasn't immediately apparent that you needed to go upstairs to check in, and no one was there to indicate that.

The beds were so comfortable with all the pillows. The TV options were good. The room was clean and comfortable. Some of the lighting didn't work, and there wasn't a good way to turn on the lights as you entered the room. Loved having the refrigerator that you could put things in - I hate having those stocked refrigerators that charge you every time you bump it, so we were grateful for the plain 'fridge!

Our bathroom was bare bones - not a lot of spa-like luxury for the money spent. And the toilet paper dispenser kept coming out of the wall completely. Just one of those things...but the Paul Mitchell amenities were nice.

The balcony didn't have the best view, but it was nice, and we enjoyed being out there, or having the door open. It was odd there was no screen door though.

The elevators were a bit slow, but not horrible.

Parking was easy - right under the hotel, or right outside it. Never difficult to get a spot.

The shuttle to downtown Charleston was FANTASTIC! Inexpensive service that let you travel every half hour to downtown for shopping/food/touring. Very nice service. Less expensive than paying for parking downtown.

The breakfast buffet was good, if not a bit pricey. Lots of good selections though.

The pool looked great - wish I had the time to enjoy it!

Great location - so nice to be near a path to go running or walking. Loved the view of the marina.

Room Tip: I would request a marina/river view. We had a marsh view, and it also overlooked an expressway and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regardng your recent visit to the Marriott Courtyard Waterfront. I am glad that the hotel met your expectations. Our beautiful location, combined with all the amenties and attractions of Charleston, make this hotel a perfect choice for a great visit.

Your comments are appreciated, and we hope you will choose the Courtyard Waterfront on your next Charleston visit.

Regards,
Molly Prochazka
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.