We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy!! Overpriced! Unfriendly staff!! never again..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #38 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Very Noisy!! Overpriced! Unfriendly staff!! never again..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and my family decided to stay there for a couple of days. It was construction going on so it was really noisy. We had horrible service at restaurant, eggs were cold, servers were rude. My husband had a problem with people at the front desk. Molly looked like she didn't want us there.
Otherwise its a nice place with beautiful view. But it is not enough to say it was great experience. I will never stay there again. Wold not recommended that!!!

Room Tip: Choose for another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. You are correct that there is construction going on at the property next door to us. Luckily, the pile-driving is complete and the current construction noise is minimal. I apologize that you were also unhappy with our breakfast. It was surprising to hear as we usually get great reviews about the food we provide on the buffet. We have made some employee changes over the past two weeks and our new servers are much more experienced than the previous ones. We have gotten rave reviews so far!

I was truly shocked to read that you felt I didn't want you here. Shocked because I never feel that way about any of our guests. If I came across that way it was unintentional and I am truly sorry.

Every day I go out of my way to ensure that every guest feels welcome and knows they are appreciated. Our business is all about our guests! My goal is that every guest returns home feeling completely satisfied with his or her stay and has a desire to stay with us again. I urge future guests to voice concerns druing their stay so that we can have the opportunity to address them immediately! I guarantee we will do everything possible to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    166
    71
    43
    22
See reviews for
109
163
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The arrival/lobby area was hard to ascertain as you drove up. It wasn't immediately apparent that you needed to go upstairs to check in, and no one was there to indicate that.

The beds were so comfortable with all the pillows. The TV options were good. The room was clean and comfortable. Some of the lighting didn't work, and there wasn't a good way to turn on the lights as you entered the room. Loved having the refrigerator that you could put things in - I hate having those stocked refrigerators that charge you every time you bump it, so we were grateful for the plain 'fridge!

Our bathroom was bare bones - not a lot of spa-like luxury for the money spent. And the toilet paper dispenser kept coming out of the wall completely. Just one of those things...but the Paul Mitchell amenities were nice.

The balcony didn't have the best view, but it was nice, and we enjoyed being out there, or having the door open. It was odd there was no screen door though.

The elevators were a bit slow, but not horrible.

Parking was easy - right under the hotel, or right outside it. Never difficult to get a spot.

The shuttle to downtown Charleston was FANTASTIC! Inexpensive service that let you travel every half hour to downtown for shopping/food/touring. Very nice service. Less expensive than paying for parking downtown.

The breakfast buffet was good, if not a bit pricey. Lots of good selections though.

The pool looked great - wish I had the time to enjoy it!

Great location - so nice to be near a path to go running or walking. Loved the view of the marina.

Room Tip: I would request a marina/river view. We had a marsh view, and it also overlooked an expressway and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regardng your recent visit to the Marriott Courtyard Waterfront. I am glad that the hotel met your expectations. Our beautiful location, combined with all the amenties and attractions of Charleston, make this hotel a perfect choice for a great visit.

Your comments are appreciated, and we hope you will choose the Courtyard Waterfront on your next Charleston visit.

Regards,
Molly Prochazka
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very noisy; I have a corner room right on the highway. Sirens, check; trucks, check. The windows are not sound proofed enough. Also, the neighbor above me might as well be walking on my head. Slamming doors constantly....the walls, doors and floors just seem paper thin. I can't wait to check out. Very hard to work and/or relax. The parking situation is a little awkward. The staff is nice and there is a nice deck overlooking the harbor but peace and quiet is more important to me.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the Lockwood side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Your comments regarding your recent visit to the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront are much appreciated. Any time any of our guests have a less than perfect stay, it is disappointing. While the hotel is located on busy Lockwood Drive, it is also located directly on the beautiful Ashley River, a unique Charleston location. On your next visit I would encourage you to book a waterfront room, where you can enjoy the beautiful view, and be bothered with only the "noise" of a calming breeze off the water.

Again, thank you for your comments. I hope you will choose to visit us again soon.

Regards,
Molly Prochazka
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We just had a family wedding in Charleston. The wedding party stayed at the courtyard and received excellent service. We also had the rehearsal dinner for about 80 people on the patio at the courtyard. Bailey, Christine, Sterling and Molly all went out of their way to help. Bailey guided us thru the pre-event planning to get exactly what we needed. Christine helped with a few last minute issues and Sterling helped us get the room we needed for a longer stay. At one point I was concerned about a miss communication with the outside caterers. Molly said don't worry about it, she would take care of it and she did. We used Jim 'N Nick's for the food, IceBox for the bar tending, Event DRS for the plates and Charleston Flower Market for the flowers. They all worked great together. The view of the harbor was a great back drop for alot of pictures.

The location was very close to the actual wedding site at the historic Rice MIll on Lockwood.

The rooms were great and the food excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your experience at the Courtyard-Waterfront. It was a pleasure to be part of such a special day. It was a beautiful event, and we are all delighted that it met your expectations.

We hope we will have the chance to serve you again soon.

Thank you so much.

Molly Prochazka
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel had a beautiful view of the harbor and a very nice outdoors area to sit at and relax during a mid-October weekend stay. My husband would have preferred the downtown location, but I really enjoyed the views and atmosphere at this location. The hotel staff were very friendly, but the breakfast staff were just okay. I have a lot of food allergies, gluten intolerance, and lactose intolerance, which the staff were not helpful with at all. While my husband did eat breakfast there, I was not able to. He said that the food was mediocre at best and not worth the price they charge for it. Construction will be going on next door until fall 2013, and we were not able to sleep in because of the noise. Early birds shouldn't have any problems, though. We were able to hear people walking around above us during the night, which also added to poor sleep quality for us. The hotel was really beautiful, but overall average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the Courtyard-Waterfront. My apologies for a less than perfect stay.

The hotel consistently receives excellent comments regarding the quality, and the wide variety of food on our buffet, so I am a little surprised by your comments. I am sorry that you feel our servers were not responsive enough to your questions regarding your specific dietary needs. I am not sure if you spoke to one of our managers, but I think they could have given you better information. I will address your question to our food vendor to confirm what items might be able take care of this type of request should it come up again in the future.

Thanks again for your comments, and I hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the near future.

Regards,
Molly Prochazka
Asst. Gen Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was very surprised by this hotel. It was super nice, not downtown though but a good spot to stay at. Its about 10 minutes away from downtown. They are doing construction around the hotel right now but it didn't bother me. The staff was great and the hotel was beautiful! Not what I expected at all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. The Courtyard-Waterfront's unique setting does set it apart from the rest of Charleston's many great hotels....and it is only a few minutes from downtown Charleston. I am glad you had a great stay, and I hope we will have the chance to have you back soon.

Regards,
Molly Prochazka
Asst Gen Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights in October. Although some don't like the location, it worked well for us. Easy access to Calhoun which gets you into town and back on Spring worked for us throughout our stay. Nice sized pool and looks out over the marina which can be quite pleasant in the evening. Get a marina view and an upper floor room you can have a decent balcony. In October it was pleasant to sit outside. Room was a nice size and comfortable. Fridge and microwave are nice convenience.

The downsides - as many mention there is pile-driving going on next door, but if you are sight-seeing during the day its over by the time you return in the evening. Breakfast is poor quality compared to what I've had at other Courtyard. A/C in our room did not work very well, which would have been a much bigger problem in July.

If you are a devoted Marriott rewards earner / user this is an OK place but I would look at the other properties in Charleston first.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor with Marina view and balcony. First floor balconies are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. The Courtyard-Waterfront does offer a unique waterfront location, with a great view of the Ashley River from the hotel's pool or terrace.

I am sorry that you experienced less than a perfect stay. The construction next to the hotel can be disruptive but as you said, it will not dramatically influence your stay if you are out and about Charleston during the day. Regarding your comments on quality of breakfast, I am somewhat surprised. Out breakfast is one of the most highly rated areas on our guest surveys. It is always possible to have an off day, and if your experience was negatively influenced by that my apologies.

Once again, thank you for the feedback, and I hope you will return soon

Regards,
Molly Prochazka
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.