We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The lobby of the hotel was lovely and very charming, however the room was a little dated and could do with a little updating. That being said, the room was well kept. The location was excellent, the airport bus is within walking distance, it is within walking distance to all of the sights and along the free bus route. There is no wifi in the rooms which was annoying. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm happy to hear you loved our charming lobby and our location was just right. When it comes to your room, we are continually improving our historic hotel, and your suggestions will help us preserve the past. I sure do appreciate your feedback, and will check on our wifi which is normally easy to use and complimentary. I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're in Charleston. Our door's always open!

Take care,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    635
    226
    105
    67
See reviews for
337
651
70
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at the Francis Marion last year and again this year and LOVED it!
Love the location, the view, the convenience of the Swamp Fox Restaurant and Starbucks in the lobby. Great service and love the pedicabs to take you anywhere in the city!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I'm so pleased to hear that you've been really impressed with both of your stays at our hotel, Victoria! Thanks very much for taking the time to write, and I look forward to seeing you again for many more trips to Charleston.

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The staff here was exceptional and amazing! Will definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends! Can't say anything bad about this hotel. Rooms were great, room service was great, staff was great! Restaurant, spa and Starbucks on site.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Your review means so much! Thanks for the kind words on everything from the staff to the rooms. Can't wait to have you back for another visit soon!

Take care,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I enjoyed my brief stay at the Francis Marion Hotel. Old world style in a perfect location.Very convenient and within walking distance of historic Charleston.The hotel itself could use a bit of sprucing up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
"Old world style in a perfect location" is exactly the kind of thing we like to hear, Michael! Thanks for letting me know what you thought of your stay -- it's helpful when looking for ways to improve our historic hotel. Hope you have safe travels, and will be back to visit!

Best wishes,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A friend and I went to Charleston for three days of site-seeing. The Francis Marion is located within walking distance of several sites. It has old-world charm with modern conveniences. Our room exceeded our expectations!!

Room Tip: Room 708 has two bathrooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It's wonderful to hear that you were impressed with your recent stay, David! It means a lot that you were impressed with your room, the decor, and the location. I can't wait to welcome you back in the future!

Take care,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Checked in with a friendly and helpful staff. Went to my room and was NOT impressed (very dirty--as in needs a deep cleaning). The doors had dirt/grime on them, hair hanging from lamp shades, and "caked" dust on the curtain valances. I'm normally not one to complain but I couldn't take it--especially for how much I was paying! Went to the front desk and spoke with Courtney (who's absolutely amazing); she was very professional and provided me with another room that was better. She also sent chocolate covered strawberries and a card up to my room later. I absolutely appreciated her sincerity and professionalism to "make it right". She and another front desk lady (can't remember her name--long, pretty sounding name) would ask how everything was until the day I left--they were awesome! Though the service was EXCEPTIONAL, I'm not sure I'd stay at this hotel again due to the cleanliness problem. I understand it's an old hotel but there are some deep cleaning problems there. The 2nd room I received was better than the 1st obviously but I still some deep cleaning issues (dust/grime--just to a lesser degree). And maybe it's because I was paying so much a night (up to $279) that I expected and demanded a little more. Just wish the rooms would have "matched" the excellent service from the front desk! Good work ladies, keep it up!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I'm surprised to hear that you arrived to a room that was anything less than stellar, Adrienne. We take great care to clean every room daily and thoroughly. It's wonderful to hear that our front desk staff was able to help you when you brought this to their attention. I appreciate you reaching out about your stay, and I'll definitely look into ways to make each guest's visit an even better one. Wishing you safe travels, and I'd love for you to consider returning in the future!

Take care,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a 1920's era hotel that has been beautifully restored. The hotel is located in the heart of Charleston and within walking distance to all the great shops, restaurants and attractions.There's a free cable car that stops in front of the hotel and will take you to most places if you're not able to walk which we needed for my mother; it was very convienent. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are quite spacious. I'm not sure what room others may have had but ours had two bathrooms and this came in handy since we have two children. Yes the bathrooms are smaller than some hotels but they were nice and clean. The front desk staff (I didn't get their names) were very nice and helpful when I asked for some info about local attractions or needed change. Also, whenever you walk by you're sure to be greeted with a friendly smile. We dined in the restaurant for several meals and the food was excellant. The fried green tomatoes were fried with panko bread crumbs and red pepper jelly and goat cheese. These were some of the best I've ever had. The crab cakes were also very tasty and mostly crabmeat and not loaded with filler. The breakfast buffet should not be missed; it has everything. Be sure to have the grits because they are creamy and full of flavor, definitely not watery. Dereck was our waiter and was very polite and helpful. He suggfested a few things for my children and they were happy. Not easy to please children sometimes but he did. Daniel greeted each time we dined there and he is charming and very gracious. He checked on us several times during our meals just to make sure we were okay. I also would like to mention Tyler who greeted us upon our arrival. His friendly attitude and helpfulness are to be commended. We will definitely return to the Francis Marion!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park; the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It's wonderful to read your very kind and well-written review! Thanks so much for the compliments on everything from the accommodating rooms to the helpful staff. I'm pleased to hear that you were able to dine with us, too. It means so much to read about your visit with us, and I look forward to having you back again soon!

All the best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,031 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,202 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#11 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.