We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Honeymoon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Honeymoon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel is old, but maintains that historic charm. The location is great, right on King Street but not in the middle of a noisy area. We ran every day and on Saturday enjoyed the farmers' market in Marion Square. The staff were very helpful and the lobby is clean and well-appointed. The room size was great (we had a corner room) albeit the bathroom and closet small (but that goes with a hotel as historic as this one). Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Corner rooms rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Your recommendation is music to my ears! Our team works hard to preserve the past while also improving our historic hotel, so I was delighted to read you took notice of that when you were here. I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're planning a trip to Charleston!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    495
    192
    90
    62
See reviews for
249
507
63
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

As a long time professional meeting and event planner, I know what I am looking for when working with hotels. I can honestly say that the Francis Marion is one of the best I have worked with, anywhere in the country. (And that's saying a lot!) From initial contact with the sales staff, to execution of the program, to working on the final bill, everyone at the FM is professional, competent and eager to be of service. For these reasons alone, it is the best hotel in Charleston at which to hold a meeting or event.

And if you have special requests or unusual ways you want to execute your meeting, their first response is, "Great, we'll make it work!" (Trust me, this is not always the case!)

Hotel has a great location and its historic charm will add to your guests' stay in this wonderful city. They are planning guest room renovations soon, which will only increase its appeal. Highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Wow! I'm absolutely blown away by your incredibly thoughtful recommendation. We sincerely love hosting meetings and events at our hotel, and I'm thrilled that you took the time to spread the word about that aspect of our business in particular. Hope to work with you again soon!

Warm regards,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The location of the hotel is great aside from that the rest of the hotel and service was average or ok with the exception of what should NEVER happen. The night before our departing flight we went to the front desk and asked to have a wake up call at 5:00am and a shuttle to the airport at 6:00am. Reasonable request for a 7:20am flight (the hotel person stated that would be enough time in the smaller Charleston airport) and the lady at the desk took the request in an agreeable manner.

THE WAKE CALL WAS NOT MADE!!!!!! We woke up at 6:00am and immediately called the front desk to let them know we had just woke up because the wake up call was not made and to notify them that we would be down as soon as we dressed. She said that was fine because the shuttle would be a couple minutes late. Good thing everything was packed the night before except for the toiletries. When we got down to the lobby at 6:09am to be told THE SHUTTLE we requested the night before WAS FULL!!!!!

At 6:20am we were still left to our own devices to try and find a way to the airport for a 7:20am flight (needing to check bags and wait in a long security line). We flagged down a passing taxi before because the hotel still hadn't gotten another shuttle for us to the airport.

They admit that this should never happen, BUT IT DID! And the shoulder shrug type of handling of it after the fact is just as frustrating. They gave a small discount on our last night's stay. Small because at $300 a night and not getting a wake up call leading to trying to not miss your flight. This hotel pretty much has let me know they are not concerned with service or making it right when they have made HUGE mistake.

I am writing this so no one trusts this hotel for their wake up calls or setting up of shuttle services. Stay at your own risk. If something happens...... Best of Luck and hope you are resourceful.

Room Tip: Do not book a single queen room. They don't let you know it is a small room that they have trie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I agree, Linda: Failing to deliver on a wake-up call is unacceptable, and I'm sorry we let you down. What's of just as much concern to me is the apparent lack of worry on our part. It's unusual that our staff would treat such a pressing issue with nonchalance, and I'm disappointed we didn't do more to correct our mistake.

I hope your recent conversation with our front office manager addressed most of your concerns. While we can't take back this unfortunate experience, I want you to know our apology was sincere.

Thank you,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Walking into the lobby will take your breath away. You can feel the history of our young country oozing from the walls. There is a beautiful chandelier at every turn, and each room gives you new light on what you thought could not possibly be better. We had a romantic, corner room which was very cozy. The concierge sent up dark chocolate strawberries when he learned we were here on our honeymoon. The staff jumped on this news and made certain to recommend the most romantic places to visit during our stay!

Room Tip: The corner room was very sunny, which made the room warm. If you are hot natured, I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for celebrating with us! I'm delighted to hear our staff was so quick to make your stay extra special. Should you find yourself in Charleston again, we'd love to have you back!

Best wishes,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel had excellent service. The rooms had a lot of character and the bathroom had a great shower. This hotel is very close to College of Charleston but on the north end of "where you want to be" while in Charleston.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

It was a lovely hotel, its lobby aglow with chandeliers, classical music playing, and permeated by the scent of lavender. Very peaceful. Everything was well done, and the room comfortable. It is certainly a plus to have a restaurant right there in the hotel if you don't feel like going out and especially useful for having breakfast every morning. Good food. It is also located right in the heart of Charleston so that you have easy access everywhere. Parking garage fronts on King Street as well and is just a few steps from the hotel. If you are disabled and have a handicapped placard, you can get free parking in any city operated garage! You just have to write your placard number and expiration date on the back of the ticket and present that to the person in the booth,.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here the end of March for five nights. The rooms are definitely small but we were prepared. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. I even looked for the name of the pillows and ordered some for my home. The closet was small but we had plenty of room. There were three large drawers in a bureau which was more than enough for us. There was no refrigerator or safe in the room which would be an issue in the summer. Bottled water was left each day. We stored one piece of luggage in the closet. If there is a wedding reception at the hotel the music can be a bit noisy late in the evening. The hotel is in a wonderful location. It is near lots of restaurants and all three free trolly's stop close to the hotel. We had every breakfast and one dinner at the Swamp Fox and were very pleased, excellent coffee. The entire staff were extremely nice and very helpful with suggestions or any question we had. The visitors center is nearby and there is a large park across the street. Almost everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 8th floor overlooking the park and Patriots Point. Lovely view and no noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
You loved our pillows so much you ordered some for your home? That's about the best thing I've heard all day! Thanks so much for thinking of us when you were planning your trip to Charleston. I'll make sure the folks over at The Swamp Fox see your kudos, too!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.