We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Another Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Second year for staying at this historic hotel. When there was a problem with the first room I was check into, I was immediately moved and upgraded. The front desk staff is one of the best trained I have experienced. It has the issues of all historic hotels and the parking deck is the worst (it is a city deck( not own by the hotel) but you cannot bet the location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
One of the best-trained front desk staffs you've experienced? We can't ask for a much better compliment than that! Thank you so much for following up with us after your stay. Your kind words won't soon be forgotten!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    495
    192
    90
    62
See reviews for
249
507
63
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Charleston has become a regular stop now on our trip home after our very first visit last year in February. Last year I would walk to the Starbucks at street level of the Francis Marion Hotel. This year we decided to stay and save the walk to Starbucks. We enjoy historical hotels having enjoyed the Parker House in Boston and the Waldorf Astoria in NY. So we expected charming vintage amenities. The bathrooms were tiny which is to be expected in an historical hotel but we had two of them! The view was spectacular. The room was spacious and there were two closets. The location was perfect. We could walk in every direction and really be equidistant from all points of interest and fabulous restaurants. There was a stop for the free trolley right across the street. The campus of the College of Charleston was just a block or two away so there were lots of young people and energy in the neighborhood. King Street in both directions had alot to offer. The pricing was very attractive and the concierge was wonderful. I would give this hotel an excellent rating except for the fact that some people hate vintage, charm and small bathrooms. Also, nicest valets. Plus an excellent breakfast buffet and quite nice dinners. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
I'm so glad you decided to stay with us on your most recent trip to Charleston! The fact that you followed up with such a spectacular recommendation is just the icing on the cake. I"ll make sure our concierge and valets see your compliments!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

When I go back to Charleston I am definitely going to stay here again! Worth every penny we spent! The hotel room was so cute and had separate bathrooms ( not all rooms have this, by the way) that were adorable and a nice touch for couples. The beds were so comfy and the service was impeccable! I had an allergic reaction to something I ate one night and it was getting late, the store that is connected to the Francis Marion hotel was closed and the gentleman at the front desk went and opened the store just to see if they had Benadryl. When they didn't have any, he send someone to the store for me to get benadryl so I wouldn't have to run back out in the cold. Unbelievable service!!!! Oh yeah, and did I mention you are in the center of downtown on King St.?!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
It was our pleasure to help you find some Benadryl; we do everything we can to make sure our guests have what they need for a comfortable stay! Thanks for taking the time to write about your trip and your interactions with our staff. I know they'll be just as thankful for your recommendation as I am!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed in a suite on the 11th floor. The views are wonderful. The bellman, staff at check in and maid staff were very friendly. This is an old hotel so as the other reviewers have mentioned, the bathrooms are small. Staying in a suite allowed us to move around comfortably. Room service breakfast was fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you, Mary! The view from the upper floors of our hotel are unbeatable, and I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your suite so much. I'll make sure our staff sees your compliments!

Best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very centrally located to downtown Charleston. Easy walking distance to everything or take the free town trolley outside the entrance. Old time lobby that is well maintained. Some reviews mention the rooms being small but ours was more than adequate and was told it was the average size. The bathroom is SMALL but workable. Great bed...good sleeping. The Fox and Hound restaurant has a buffet with the eggs cooked to order.Welcome change from the Hiltons of the world.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It's great to hear the Francis Marion was a welcome change for you, Ed! I appreciate you following up with such a thoughtful review after your stay. We'd love to have you back next time you're in Charleston!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lake County, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

After having my flight cancelled from charlotte to Charleston and driving three hours, I was happy to be staying at the Francis Marion during the ice storm!! The entire town was shut down, and employees had to stay at the hotel to take care of us - they were nothing but positive and friendly. Even after securing one of two flights out the next day from the airport, the hotel did not demand additional charges (which they could) for a late check-out. Excellent food at the restaurant, and free wi-fi at reasonable prices - Thanks Francis Marion - I'll be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Although I'm sorry the weather was so bad when you were here, I'm thrilled that it didn't ruin your trip! Thanks for following up with such a lovely recommendation. I hope your return trip went off without a hitch!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great location & a very helpful staff make up for the relatively small rooms. There's a Starbucks in the lobby and the hotel's restaurnt is pretty good as well. If you get a good rate, jump at it! Hope this is of help.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks for recommending us! It's great to hear we won you over with not only our convenient location, but also our attentive staff. We'd love to have you back next time you're in Charleston!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.