We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Downtown Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class Downtown Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had never been to Charleston and stayed 5 nights at this hotel. Had some concerns about age & cleanliness due to some reviews I had read. All my worries were for naught! You enter into a large, elegant lobby, which could have been imposing, but felt more like Grandma's living room. Staff was attentive and efficient. No request was too large or too small.
Our room ended up being a suite, with comfy furniture, a good mattress, and was very clean. We were in Charleston with a group of 10, and the living room accommodated us all with plenty of space, seating, and a flat screen TV. There was also a table for eating, or setting up for appetizers & drinks, which we did each night before dinner. Room service brought us plates & wine glasses upon request at no charge. The only issue with the room was that it had a tiny bathroom, but that is how the rooms were designed "back in the day". Think "charming".
The location of the hotel was such that we were able to walk to most of our desired restaurants, tons of shopping, and many of the tourist attractions. Other times, we took the free trolley. The park on the corner (and visible from our room) housed an incredible Saturday Farmer's Market. We purchased fresh cheese, pate, olives, apples, & baguettes for that evening. There were also plenty of local arts & crafts on site.
Charleston itself is a wonderful, friendly, accommodating city with water views, high class dining, brew pubs, history, culture, shopping, and activities for all. Young and old mix nicely, as the College of Charleston is right downtown.

Room Tip: Above 5th floor, facing park gives you a good perspective of where you are in the city, and a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
I'm glad you mentioned taking the trolley to nearby attractions in your feedback; that's an experience that certainly isn't to be missed when visiting Charleston! Thanks for choosing us, and thanks for taking the time to write us such a wonderful recommendation. Other reviewers certainly will appreciate your attention to detail as much as I do!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    489
    190
    90
    62
See reviews for
249
498
61
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

First trip to Charleston, stayed 2 nights at Francis Marion, easy check in dropped car w/ valet , nice room , super location , would stay here again. The staff was very helpful with directions, thingto see, and restaurants recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
What a delightful review! Thanks for following up with us after your stay. I'm thrilled to hear you found our staff so helpful; they'll appreciate your recommendation just as much as I do!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A truly excellent experience! The service is exceptional, the price reasonable and the LOCATION is perfect! Shopping and fine dinning are literally just a few steps from the lobby of this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you, Lane! I was delighted to see that your stay at our hotel inspired you to give us a top rating. We consider ourselves very fortunate to be so close to the King Street restaurants and shops, so it's great to hear you appreciate our location as much as we do!

Best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is am amazing hotel. The location is perfect...walking distance to entertainment, shopping, the market...wife loved it. The room was great...ask for a room on the 11th floor...the views are awesome. The hotel has a Starbucks and a great restaurant (Swamp Fox). You can usually even get a Groupon and save a little on your stay. The most pleasant surprise was the staff who are incrediably nice and helpful. This hotel is definitely on our return list...we loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 11th floor as the views are incrediable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
The views from our 11th floor certainly aren't to be missed, Anastasia! Thanks for pointing to that in your review. I'm delighted that you were able to take in all the sights when you were here. We can't wait to have you back!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I visit "The Holy City" often and finally stayed a night at the Francis Marion. This is the only place I will stay going forward. The staff called me by name and all needs were met without hesitation. If you want to be in the heart of King Street, this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We're thrilled to be your new go-to hotel in Charleston, Beth! Thanks for following up after your last visit with such a thoughtful recommendation. It sounds like you were able to do some exploring on King Street, and I'm glad you mentioned it in your review. We feel very fortunate to have so many local restaurants and shops within walking distance!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great old hotel, rooms are not the standard fair seen at more modern places. That said, all furniture is in good condition, comfortable beds. Great staff, seem to be trying for real old fashion service. Very close to all the shops and restaurants. Lots of Collage of Charleston Students around, makes for a vibrant atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for outside and high-up if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks for visiting, David! I'm thrilled that you took the time to follow up with such a fantastic recommendation. I agree that our proximity to the college and the King Street restaurants and shops adds to the overall experience of staying at our hotel, and I'm glad you mentioned as much in your review. I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're planning a trip to Charleston!

Best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Francis Marion is a fine hotel to stay in. It has a great view (from the many outside rooms). It has a Starbucks on the ground floor. It is near good shopping (south on King St) and good restaurants (north on King). It adjoins the College of Charleston. It is on the free bus lines, for King and Meeting St and for Calhoun St (to the acquarium and the dock for the Fort Sumter tours).
Rooms are a little on the small side, but in Charleston you shouldn't need room size. Beds are comfy. What is not to like. Oh, yes, impressive main room. *Everyone* is helpful.

Room Tip: For an extra $20, you can assure a good view. For $30 (I think) a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much! It's wonderful to hear you're just as big of a fan of our location as we are. We love being so close to both the College of Charleston and the King Street dining and shopping district, and I appreciate you pointing that out in your review. We'd love to have you back next time you're down this way!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Otel, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.