We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"charming" in good ways and bad ways” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
CT
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“"charming" in good ways and bad ways”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. I stayed there because it was recommended by the conference I was attending. My room was perfectly adequate: clean and generally comfortable, and big enough. The bathroom was teeny tiny, and all the finishes were old and worn, with beaten-up corners and cracks. This place is NOT luxurious, but it's fine. In my opinion, a crumbling door molding is preferable to the plastic uniformity of a chain hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We constantly are working to preserve the past, and we've got bathroom fixture upgrades in the works as we speak! Thanks for taking the time to let me know what you observed. It's feedback like yours that helps us improve the guest experience!

Sincerely,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    493
    191
    90
    62
See reviews for
249
502
63
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because of a wedding we'd been invited to. It's in a great location and has a beautiful lobby. The rooms have old world charm. We were upgraded to a King room and can only imagine what our original queen room was like. Our bathroom was tiny with an old, noisy toilet that didn't flush right. Even though the room was tastefully decorated, it needed to be modernized to today's luxury standards.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
I'm concerned to hear your toilet wasn't working correctly! Do you remember which room you stayed in? I'd like to have our staff take a look at it as soon as possible.

As for your room, rest assured that we're always working to preserve the past while making sure our guests have everything they need. Do you have any suggestions on what we could've done to make your stay more comfortable? We're always open to ideas!

Thanks,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We recently stayed here, a party of 8 family members in 4 rooms, check in was very easy the staff were very friendly and helpful. only 2 of the 3 lifts were working and the hotel was very busy so there was a little bit of waiting for the lift and they were often full but that's about the only complaint i had with our stay. the rooms were a nice size and clean (well kept), we had a breakfast included with our stay which i can recomend. there was a good choice of food available and once again the staff were very attentive. the hotel is very close to all the nice shops in the area, and there is always use of the free bus if required that stops not far away. we all really enjoyed our stay here and if in this area again would have no hesitation to book and stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Reading this glowing feedback is more rewarding than you know! It was our pleasure to host your family during your trip to Charleston, and I'm delighted to hear you have no reservations about staying with us again. We hope you'll return sooner rather than later!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Francis Marion is so centrally located that we walked everywhere. Hotel parking was very convenient and the hotel rate was an added bonus. The elevator from the entry to the lobby was not working so had to lift the bags half a flight, but those who needed assistance got assistance right away. The room was furnished beautifully, bathroom is small but everything was very very clean and that is most important. We enjoyed a great dinner on our first night in Charleston at the hotel's Swamp Fox restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, George! I apologize that the elevator wasn't in service when you arrived, but luckily it was only out for a few moments. We'd love to have you back again next time you're in Charleston!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I typically stay at the Doubletree on the Market when I travel to Charleston; this time, a conference I was attending chose the Francis Marion, and I'm glad it did. Right across from Marion Park, and within walking distance of the much less touristy and more upscale restaurants on the northern end of King Street, the location was absolutely perfect. No more jockeying with tourists near the Market, and no more loud outside noises from bars and passersby.

The hotel is older, and its elevators (like every other hotel in Charleston) are slow as molasses, but the room didn't feel outdated or worn out, and the king bed we had was quite frankly the most comfortable bed I've slept in at a hotel. Valet parking is available, and quite useful, but sometimes it takes them a longer time than expected to get your car out of valet; this seemed to be due to staffing of the valet desk and the sheer number of guests wanting to get their cars throughout the day.

There's a Starbucks downstairs, and a restaurant (although I admittedly did not eat there), so you're not lost for dining options if you need to stay in the hotel. Do yourself a favor and choose the Francis Marion next time you want to escape the rest of the tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels avoid noise from the street, but the elevators are slow, so there is a trade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I'm so glad you had the opportunity to give us a try on your last trip to Charleston. It's great to hear you enjoyed being so close to Upper King Street; we're very fortunate to have so many exciting new bars and restaurants nearby! I'll be sure to pass your comments on our valet along to their desk; they'll be happy you spoke up about what you observed.

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

First, the hotel is outside of the historic district so you have to do a lot of walking to see the sights. Second, we prepaid by booking through Tripadvisor and they charged our credit card again. Very frustrating and we are still trying to get this resolved. Third, the hotel was very noisy (drunks talking loudly in the hallway and outside the hotel) and it was way over priced for what it is. Save yourself disappointment and book any other hotel in Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I'm sorry to hear your credit card was charged twice, but I want you to know we have every intention of fixing that mistake as soon as possible. That certainly isn't something that happens often, but we're working as quickly as we can to remedy the situation. Thanks for your patience!

As for the noisy guests, did you let the front desk know you were disturbed? We understand how frustrating that can be, so we're always happy to do what we can to make everyone comfortable.

Sincerely,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Francis Marion. Great location at the top of downtown, nicely opulent lobby and friendly service. Quiet despite being a big hotel, even breakfast was relaxed and calm. Took the room service breakfast option one morning and was rewarded with a tasty spread at a reasonable price. Not the biggest room ever but pleasant enough for a short stay. Very comfortable bed. Good value and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We'd love to have you back next time you're in the US! I'm so glad you decided to stay with us when you were in Charleston. The fact that you were so pleased with our facilities is just the cherry on top!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.