We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wonderful historic hotel with great rooms. The hotel staff goes above and beyond my 5 day stay was more than I could have expected. I would recommend this to anyone who is a history buff. I don't believe I have ever stayed where I felt I really mattered. Loved, loved, the staff in all areas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
The place to stay? Wow! What an amazing compliment. To hear that your stay far exceeded your expectations is just the icing on the cake. We appreciate your recommendation as much as we appreciate your business!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    489
    190
    90
    62
See reviews for
249
498
61
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My stay was generally a good one. The staff were very helpful and cordial. Even though the hotel is obviously an old one, it still had class and charm. It is also in a wonderful location. You are within walking distance of many great restaurants and shopping, not to mention the ocean. However, my room did need some minor repairs, such as painting and deep cleaning. There was something on one of the curtains as well as on the door trim to the bathroom. Also, I wouldn't suggest the restaurant connected to the hotel for breakfast. I ordered the french toast and it appeared they had just toasted some texas toast and sprinkled cinnamon on it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks for bringing those things to my attention! I always appreciate when guests let me know when they see areas for improvement. We are continually improving our historic hotel, and your suggestions will help us preserve the past!

Thanks again,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights beautiful public areas. Historic hotel. Nice location. Rooms need to be updated. However, the beds are very comfortable. Rooms are large. Bathrooms are nice shower water pressure low. Used Hotwire for rates. If you use the hotel website it's pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks for your input! While it's great to hear you appreciate our historic charm and convenient location, I'm sorry you weren't completely satisfied with the water pressure in your shower. Do you remember what room you stayed in? I'd like to get our maintenance staff in there as soon as possible to figure out what's going on!

Regards,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are a family of 5 and it was a nice "surprise" to have 2 bathrooms in our room. If you are looking for "character" this is the place to stay. The room reminded me of the Waldorf in NYC if familiar. Bedding was very comfortable. Staff very friendly. The lobby area is beautiful. We were high up so we had a nice view of the city. Convenient location for walking around the city. Note: valet parking or a parking garage close by. If you don't use valet, could be a "little" hassle if you have kids and you go to the beach often, since you will need to walk to garage carrying stuff to load/unload car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
It's wonderful to hear your family fit so comfortably into one of our larger rooms! I'm so glad we were able to accommodate you on your Charleston vacation. Other reviewers certainly will appreciate your tips on parking as much as I do!

Warm regards,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A larger group of girls stayed at this hotel for a bachelorette party. The location was great, as we could walk anywhere from the hotel, and for the night we all wore heals, we were able to have a bus give us a lift at a very reasonable cost. The rooms were clean and the service was great. Our bell service was outstanding. The young man whose name I can't remember, helped us to our room with all of our luggage, then outlined all of the hot spots downtown. We had an Amazing weekend! I thought the room size was kind of small for what we paid. However, I loved the old southern charm of the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation, Meghan! It was our pleasure to host your bachelorette party, and I'm happy to hear everyone had such a great time. We hope you'll keep us in mind for future visits to Charleston!

All the best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Francis Marion for an event I was attending. I have to say the public areas are nothing short of grand and breath-taking! Our room left some to be desired. It was fairly small with a very small bathroom and closet. That being said, I had a very early check-in (11:00am), and I believe the desk-person said it was the only room available. The decor was not in the Charleston style some others have described here. It was just about to be renovated if I understood the front desk person. As for the bath and closet, one needs to keep in mind this hotel was built in the 1920's, so it was not built with large baths and closets. I really loved the charm and character...I hope part of the renovations would be to make it more contemporary. Beds were incredibly comfortable! It was very quiet. One of the major pluses was the level of service. I've stayed in 5 star hotels that did not have nearly the level of service! Yes, the baths and closets are small, but that's to be expected when staying in a historic hotel. I will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for following up with us after your stay! Reading that you were so impressed with our customer service made my day. Our staff works hard to make sure our guests feel right at home in our hotel, and I'm delighted to hear that was the case for you. We can't wait to have you back again soon!

Safe travels,
Gayle, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times, and even had a wedding for my Daughter there in February 2013. If you are looking for a hotel with character and a staff that is one of the most accommodating in the industry, this is where you want to go. The rooms are grand, they take you back in time with your first step into the door. The lobby looks like a roaring 20's, but the upkeep, and constant updating of the materials, elevators, and rooms is obvious. This is the best choice in Charleston, only a pedicab ride to the downtown and back. A wonderful park across the street, and the College of Charleston right next door. A GRAND PLACE TO STAY

Room Tip: They are all a bit different, but the larger the room the better. I like the view, and you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the grand recommendation! It's wonderful to hear we're your go-to hotel in Charleston. We love being able to host special events, and we're honored that your daughter chose to celebrate her wedding with us. We hope to have you and your family back soon!

All the best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Otel, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.