We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Historical and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a fine hotel but the odors in the cityowned garage one must use were very bad and carried into the elevator. The location is the best thing about it but beware the bathrooms are tiny and the towel thin. The bedroom was large and lovely. I might stay again but for no more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor. We can notify the city about the parking garage, so thank you for that feedback. I hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    573
    212
    100
    65
See reviews for
288
592
65
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at the Francis Marion Hotel for one night, Feb. 2, 2013 and found the hotel to be charming. Both the Lobby and my Room were beautifully updated and comfortable. My windows on the 10th floor front of the building offered a beautiful view of the city. The garage next door was reasonably priced at $14.00 for the night

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plumley
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two night on arrival nobody at the valet desk to take our cases or park the car had to go to reception only one person available crowds of people all wanting attention. Our room was not ready so we left and returned later. It takes a long time to get a lift there are three one is under repair. The suite was in need of refurbishment as were the hallways. The worst part of our stay was the walls are paper thin there were several weddings and the people in the next room were partying from midnight to 4am. I phoned reception who did nothing. We were on the 8th floor and could also hear the partying noise from the street. When we left this morning the valet told is charleston is a student city and the streets are always noisy and the hotel has many weddings that are also noisy so if you want to sleep at night and want good service don't stay there

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns on Trip Advisor. You were certainly inconvenienced during your stay and for this we would like to apologize. Rest assured your experience has resulted in further staff training on how to handle noisy guests. I hope you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was, I believe, once a "grande dame" hotel, and while it's still charming, it's showing some signs of needing a face lift. The lobby is a mix of chandeliers and tacky travel fliers, the elevators are gilded yet the carpet is frayed. The room is fine, the bed is very comfortable and the selection of channels is large. Bathroom is small but acceptable. There is no mini bar in the room, but there is a coffee maker. A quick meal in their restaurant was good (if typically southern too filling). Overall it was all fine, I had gotten an inexpensive rate, but it's time for some modernizing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on Trip Advisor. I would like for you to know that we are continuously looking at upgrades and additions to keep our historic hotel beautiful. I know this does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concerns and are definitely responding to your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights during the week of January 28th 2013 and were quite happy with the property. Nearly all of the staff that we encountered were friendly, professional and genuinely concerned with the enjoyment of our stay. We spent some time in the early evening before heading out on the town in the Lobby bar, the young lady serving was very personable and made excellent recommendations for both our drinks and a local restaurant. Our room was well taken care of, very clean and plenty of space. The location of the hotel is perfect given its proximity to great restaurants, bars & local attractions. The view from the 5th floor was outstanding, we awoke each morning with a view of Marion Square and the Cooper River Bridge! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Request a room higher up and facing Marion Square, the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you shared it on Trip Advisor! I will share your nice comments with the staff and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

i stayed the week of jan 14 - 18 2013 for a conderence. i enjoyed my stay, but bathroom VERY small. bed was very comfy, my bed was turned down w chocs on my pillow every night. nice touch, but i seemed to be the only one in my group to get that. air conditioning struggled a but, but then we needed the heat about the 3rd night in and it did ok. one very aggravating thing was the room key kept deactivating. it only happened to me once, but my friend had it happen almost every time she left the room. very aggravating! the staff was great and the restaurant was great also. best fried green tomatoes and shrimp and grits i've ever eaten. i would recommend eating there. over all satisfied w stay, i would probably stay again. (the lobby is very pretty, bell hops very courtious)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We do have great fried green tomatoes and shrimp and grits! Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights the last weekend of January 2013.....the bathrooms ARE very small but the room itself was fine, good bed (my main interest)....nice furnishings......

I think the upper floors would have had a view...we were on the 3rd floor.....others complained of night noise if their room faced onto King St. (it is a college town after all)......good food (we were with a group of about 100 and had breakfast and one lunch and one dinner there).....the staff is very friendly and helpful......
the last morning we were on our own for breakfast so we ate at the restaurant in the hotel....it was very good....nice buffet.....reasonable prices.

Can't say anything more about the location....very close to downtown, the visitors center and the College....I would definitely stay there again....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your lovely comments on Trip Advisor! I will pass on your compliments to our chef as well as the rest of our staff. We look forward to your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.