We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel with a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early for Winter
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classic hotel with a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights during the week of January 28th 2013 and were quite happy with the property. Nearly all of the staff that we encountered were friendly, professional and genuinely concerned with the enjoyment of our stay. We spent some time in the early evening before heading out on the town in the Lobby bar, the young lady serving was very personable and made excellent recommendations for both our drinks and a local restaurant. Our room was well taken care of, very clean and plenty of space. The location of the hotel is perfect given its proximity to great restaurants, bars & local attractions. The view from the 5th floor was outstanding, we awoke each morning with a view of Marion Square and the Cooper River Bridge! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Request a room higher up and facing Marion Square, the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you shared it on Trip Advisor! I will share your nice comments with the staff and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    460
    179
    89
    62
See reviews for
235
464
58
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

i stayed the week of jan 14 - 18 2013 for a conderence. i enjoyed my stay, but bathroom VERY small. bed was very comfy, my bed was turned down w chocs on my pillow every night. nice touch, but i seemed to be the only one in my group to get that. air conditioning struggled a but, but then we needed the heat about the 3rd night in and it did ok. one very aggravating thing was the room key kept deactivating. it only happened to me once, but my friend had it happen almost every time she left the room. very aggravating! the staff was great and the restaurant was great also. best fried green tomatoes and shrimp and grits i've ever eaten. i would recommend eating there. over all satisfied w stay, i would probably stay again. (the lobby is very pretty, bell hops very courtious)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We do have great fried green tomatoes and shrimp and grits! Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights the last weekend of January 2013.....the bathrooms ARE very small but the room itself was fine, good bed (my main interest)....nice furnishings......

I think the upper floors would have had a view...we were on the 3rd floor.....others complained of night noise if their room faced onto King St. (it is a college town after all)......good food (we were with a group of about 100 and had breakfast and one lunch and one dinner there).....the staff is very friendly and helpful......
the last morning we were on our own for breakfast so we ate at the restaurant in the hotel....it was very good....nice buffet.....reasonable prices.

Can't say anything more about the location....very close to downtown, the visitors center and the College....I would definitely stay there again....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your lovely comments on Trip Advisor! I will pass on your compliments to our chef as well as the rest of our staff. We look forward to your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Francis Marion a few weeks ago and the service, venue, and hospitality were exceptional. A majority of our guests stayed at the hotel and all had nothing but great things to say about this hotel and its staff. The location of the hotel is fantastic too because you can walk down King Street and shop, eat, and have a great time. I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting in the Charleston area for a few days and for those of you who are looking for wedding reception venue (their catering service is wonderful).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Congratulations on your marriage!!! We do love weddings at the Francis Marion Hotel, and I am delighted to hear that your's was "exceptional" and that your guests had great things to say. We really appreciate you sharing this on Trip Advisor, and I hope you will stay with us again for your anniversary or sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Francis Marion for a week while attending a conference. The hotel was selected by the group sponsoring the conference, so I had not made the decision to stay there myself. Based on my week-long experience at the FM, here is my list of pros and cons:

Pros: Attractive front lobby; polite front desk attendant and doorman; very comfortable bed; good HD television; great location.

Cons: air conditioning in room did not work no matter how low I set the thermostat and room was very warm; walls and bathroom door were scuffed up and needed painting; bottom of bathtub had area of ceramic that had been broken and not repaired; space between foot of bed and dresser was very narrow and drawer could not be opened all the way; there was a dead insect on the floor in the room that I noticed on my first morning there and who was still there when I returned after the first day of meetings. I intentionally didn't remove him to see when Housekeeping would get it. They didn't.

Given a choice, I would not stay at the FM again. I can get the good things the FM has to offer at other hotels without getting the bad. It's a shame. The FM has great potential.




  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to discuss your concerns on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. We are sorry your expectations were not met. We have discussed these topics with the Director of Maintenance and Housekeeping Managers and are addressing them. I know this does not change your experience, but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concerns and are definitely responding to your suggestions. We make it a priority to listen to guests' concerns. Thank you, again, for the feedback, and I hope you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my time here! It is located just north of all the tourist areas including the arts and fashion districts as well as Market St. Plenty of places to eat and drink around the hotel. The lobby was very nice and eye catching. The staff was polite and very helpful. The room was clean and spacious for 2 people. The only problem I had with the room was no microwave or fridge. If you want a room with a view of the main street make sure you request it. My room faced another brick wall but this was no problem for me. There is parking in the garage next to the hotel or you can park on the street after 6pm til I believe 8am for free. Overall I would definitly stay here again...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor! We can place a fridge in the room for an additional $10 per night, or they are available in our suites. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is in the process of re doing the lobby so lots of workers in the center of the hotel. But the real issue was the inability to control the heating unit in the room. The staff was very pleasant and did their best, but the room was small and the bathroom even smaller - one person size. This was what they referred to as a standard room

Room Tip: Perhaps check out the heating unit during check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor about your stay at the Francis Marion is most appreciated. I have notified our Director of Mainentance about your issue with the heating unit. The lobby sure does look great after getting a fresh coat of paint. I'm sorry though that renovation was taking place while you were here. Being a historic hotel, we are continually restoring the property. Thank you, again, for your comments, and I hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.