We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant beat the Location and the Staff!! Plus 1 Bedrooms Suites Available!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cant beat the Location and the Staff!! Plus 1 Bedrooms Suites Available!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our 2nd family stay at the Francis Marion in the last 5 months. We love getting away for a couple of nights a month and we chose the FM because of the 1 bedrooms suites. Anyone with young children knows what its like to try and enjoy some couple time in a hotel room...Impossible! So the 1 bedroom suite, where the kids can sleep on the pullout in the living room is GREAT! Plus If you are in Charleston to sight see and enjoy the city you cant find a better location! The entire Staff is very accomodating, professional and eager to ensure you have a great stay, and certainly not stuffy as many upscale hotel staff can be. Special shoutout to Kyle. You will pay a premium price for a nights stay here but what the heck, You're Worth It!! Only reason it's not a 5 for us is the tiny size of the fanless bathrooms, you think cruise ship bathrooms are small...but heck what did they know in the 1920's when it was built. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor and your loyalty to our hotel. I will pass on your nice comments to Kyle and the rest of our staff. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    590
    446
    177
    89
    61
See reviews for
230
452
56
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We used a groupon for our stay, but we were already booked at the hotel before I found it. We had an absolutely wonderful 2 day stay. The staff were incredibly helpful & accommodating. We took advantage of both the concierge & room service. I would highly recommend the hotel and would return in a heartbeat. Perfect location close to King St and so many restaurants!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This historic hotel had my family of four happy from the start. Walking distance from dozens of shops and places to eat. We ate at 5 Brothers Burgers. Beautiful Park across the street. Our room had veiw of Patroits Point and watched the Carnival Fantasy come in to port the morning we took our cruise. Will stay at again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a Groupon voucher to stay here over the holidays. From the moment we walked in, everybody, from the doormen, to the bell hop, to the front desk clerk were extremely courteous, nice and helpful. Check-in took less than 5 minutes, so that was nice after driving for a few hours. The lobby is gorgeous, and I can see how it would've been the "grande dame" of hotels in earlier years. Our room was clean, and the walk-in closet was much bigger than we expected. Everything was nice, and the only complaint I would have is the bathroom is extremely small. It reminded me of European bathrooms. There was virtually no counter space to put things and the toilet was super small. It is no exaggeration when I say more that no more than 2 people can be in the bathroom at the same time. The hotel explained that biggest the building is old, it's only so much they can do in a renovation. Other than that, I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor that faces the water, or a view down King Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! I will pass on your nice comments about our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My Cousin & I vacationed in Charleston and stayed at the Francis Marion. Staff was very nice, friendly, and helpful. The beds were very comfortable. However, the rooms are small and the bathroom is EXTREMELY tiny - especially for two women! The walls were also "thin" in that you could hear everything and we were on the 9th floor and could hear people in the park across the street. But, we were glad we stayed where we did as it is in a great location to in relationship to historic downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are in a great location! Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor, and we are glad too that you chose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here for New Years, despite some problems with the "Cocoa and Carriages" package -- wasn't really worth it. Jesse, the manager, did go all out to make up for those problems and that's a huge plus.

The location right on the square is perfect, with King Street and all the best of downtown Charleston right outside the front doors. We wanted a quiet room for NYE and got one on the back, so the view probably wasn't what most visitors want, but it was perfect for us. Room itself was very nice: comfortable bed, spacious, nicely decorated. Valet and doormen were great.

A few drawbacks: The furniture and walls had visible wear-and-tear, our door had seriously chipped wood around the lock that we couldn't figure out (trying to break out?), and the very tiny bathroom had an odd shower configuration. The elevators are really slow and one had a light out, and the restrooms below the main floor aren't so pretty. I know those sound like minor, nitpicky items, but things like this factor into the overall experience and perceived value, and are the difference between 5/5 and 4/5.

In short, we'd probably stay there again, but we'd also look into a few other options we saw while walking the historic area.

Tip: Visit Virginia's on King just a couple blocks north for excellent breakfast/brunch, and don't miss the nearby Closed For Business if you love craft beers and gastropub fare.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Happy New Year! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. We are in the process of painting the doors of the rooms, and we have a large elevator project that just started this week, which should make the elevators more efficient. I am sorry to hear that you had a problem with our package, but I am glad to hear that Jesse was able to make up for it. We are doing some retraining on that package. I hope you do choose to stay with us again next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a weekend stay in SC. I'm pretty simple when it comes to hotels. I don't need the most expensive or luxurious. I must say, when we arrived at this hotel, I was in awe. For starters, the hotel staff are very professional, courteous and helpful. The hotel is located in walking distance to nearly everything is near downtown Charleston.

The hotel, itself, is absolutely beautiful with an old fashioned charm. Actually, I was drawn in at the lobby. It is filled with beautiful chandeliers and piano (visitors are asked not to play the piano as it is reserved for the hired musician). The room we had was equally beautiful and spacious. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, and I appreciate you sharing on Trip Advisor. I will pass on your great comments to our staff. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.