We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant older high rise in historic charleston.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Elegant older high rise in historic charleston.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Very elegant older property. Rooms are quiet. Beds are small queens or perhaps they are long doubles. Comfy satin covers and ample towels. Very close to free trolley line which makes it near many first class eateries. Be sure to use the concierge Julie is very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful! The hotel could use railings on both sides of the many stairs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! That is a great recommendation for the stairs, and we actually have it as a part of our upgrade plans for the New Year. I will pass on your nice comments to Julie! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    584
    441
    177
    89
    61
See reviews for
229
446
55
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Beautifully restored large hotel on King Street close to everything downtown. Rooms on the small size and in particular the bathrooms and closets. I understand, however, this being an old hotel. The lobby and ballrooms are all very nice. The conference food was lackluster. I did hear some good things about their restaurant - the Swamp Fox, however. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi was nice and fast. There was a party in one of the ball rooms (Colonial I think) late into the evening on 2 nights during my stay. I was on the 2nd floor and the thumping noise from the music/party was too loud. They said I could change rooms but I really didn't feel let packing everything up and moving. Overall, nice place but I wouldn't eat there and I would select a room on the 3rd story or higher next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! I am disappointed to hear that you did like the conference food and that the noise from the ballroom interupted your stay. I apologize for both of those. I am happy you still enjoyed your stay with us though, and I hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I just spent our honeymoon here and had a wonderful time. Our room was very clean and comfortable and perfect for our needs. The location worked well for us and we enjoyed our walks around the city every day. We took the advice of fellow travelers here on TA and didn't get a rental car for our first few days. This was a great idea - we didn't need it at all. If you don't walk then there is nothing to worry about - the free shuttle runs right by the hotel.

As many others say, the hotel has been around for a while so don't go expecting a huge bathroom or anything like that. This hotel has class and charm, the kind you expect from an older hotel.

A few notes:

My wife dropped her wallet on the street near the hotel with about $200 cash in it. Someone brought the wallet inside and gave it to the front desk. The front desk checked the name and called us to let us know they had it. The best part: The money and credit cards were all still inside! This told us the area is pretty safe.

The hotel provided turn-down service. We didn't know what this was but it turned out to be a fun surprise every night.

Our shower curtain did have some mildew on it when we arrived. We waited until after our 2nd night to say anything. We left a note for the cleaning staff and it was replaced right away.

The in-room movies left a lot to be desired. They were outrageously expensive and the selection was mediocre. We saw the same service being offered at other hotels on our trip so I guess they cater to the industry but my advice to the management is to change immediately. Pay-per-view on cable is 90% cheaper.

Julie, the Concierge, was amazing. She had lots of great advice and suggestions for activities. She went the extra mile for us twice on the trip. First, when she heard it was our honeymoon, she chocolate covered strawberries sent to our room. (They were delicious.) Second, we told her that our favorite dish of the trip was the crab curry soup at Fish but were disappointed we wouldn't be able to eat it again because it is only served at dinner (we were leaving town for a few days and coming back). She immediately called the restaurant and made lunch reservations for our last afternoon in the city and made a special request. It was awesome and we got to finish our trip on a very high note.

Julie mentioned that she was thinking of adding a "high tea" or an "afternoon tea". My wife and I would love to see that next time we stay.

Hint: We told them it was our honeymoon when we made our reservation and they upgraded our room.

Room Tip: We had a corner room overlooking King and Calhoun - which gave us a great view. Ask for rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Congratulations on your wedding! I am delighted to here that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your honeymoon. Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor! I will pass on your wonderful comments about or concierge Julie to her as well as her Manager. We hope to see you next time you are in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Francis Marion for a conference my wife was attending. The hotel was in a great location, next to the King street fashion district, and within a 20 minute walk of the battery, as well as 15 minutes frim the aquarium.
The hotel was very historic and charming, abd the sraff was very courteous and helpful.
some negatives: the bathroom in our room was so small you could shower, use the toilet, and wash your hands all at once. The shower had 2 remperatures, scalding or cold.
the windows have not been updated so street noise was obvious,and noise around was easily heard. our first night we were awakened by vacuuming at midnight.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that the shower was not working properly. I will notify our Maintenance staff, so they can fix that. Also, I apologize for the vacuuming late at night. We do not typcially clean on the guest floors during those hours, so I am so sorry that you experienced that. I hope you will give us a second chance next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is well positioned and we could have walked to the main tourist area if it had ever stopped raining! The hotel's lounge area was full of chandeliers and comfy furniture. Free internet access is also available. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly and the view we had from the 11th floor was superb. The room was a resonable size with a sofa but the bathroom was quaint to say the least! It was very small and the plumbing looked as if it came with the original 1920s building. We dined at the Swamp Fox in the hotel which, whilst the food was good, it was quite expensive. The free trolly bus stops almost outside the hotel and will take you all around the historic area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your nice review on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Attended a wedding at this hotel so stayed here as well. Was very pleased with the Francis Marion. The location could not have been better. Was able to walk to most places and the front desk could not have been more helpful when requesting directions to places not walkable. The rooms were very clean and the staff very attentive. When calling for help when locked out of my room, the service was super fast, pleasant and efficient. Dined in the hotel restaurant one night and it was excellent!!! Even got a free bottle of wine! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel on Trip Advisor! We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

From the time we arrived until we left, this was a first class trip. The hotel was full of charm, the staff was warm and gracious, the amenities were all we could have wanted. I used the workout room and ran all over the city while there. No issues at all.
Check in and check out were painless, the room was exactly what we wanted and needed. We enjoy walks, and this hotel is very well located to enjoy all that downtown has to offer. Chris the Bellman was outstanding, the restaurant and bar exceeded our expectations and really, the whole city was open and warm even though the fall was upon us. We will definitely go back, and the FM is the hotel of choice. While we were going to go down to St. Augustine, Charleston and the Marion have won us over. A very nice 30th Anniversary.

Room Tip: Just like all things in life, you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We appreciate your post on Trip Advisor! I am delighted to hear that you chose our hotel and were happy with your stay for your milestone wedding anniversary. I will pass on your nice comments to Chris. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Amex, Reservation Counter, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.