We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 54 hotels in Charleston
leicestershire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Charming property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is well positioned and we could have walked to the main tourist area if it had ever stopped raining! The hotel's lounge area was full of chandeliers and comfy furniture. Free internet access is also available. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly and the view we had from the 11th floor was superb. The room was a resonable size with a sofa but the bathroom was quaint to say the least! It was very small and the plumbing looked as if it came with the original 1920s building. We dined at the Swamp Fox in the hotel which, whilst the food was good, it was quite expensive. The free trolly bus stops almost outside the hotel and will take you all around the historic area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your nice review on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    420
    170
    87
    60
See reviews for
213
432
53
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Attended a wedding at this hotel so stayed here as well. Was very pleased with the Francis Marion. The location could not have been better. Was able to walk to most places and the front desk could not have been more helpful when requesting directions to places not walkable. The rooms were very clean and the staff very attentive. When calling for help when locked out of my room, the service was super fast, pleasant and efficient. Dined in the hotel restaurant one night and it was excellent!!! Even got a free bottle of wine! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel on Trip Advisor! We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

From the time we arrived until we left, this was a first class trip. The hotel was full of charm, the staff was warm and gracious, the amenities were all we could have wanted. I used the workout room and ran all over the city while there. No issues at all.
Check in and check out were painless, the room was exactly what we wanted and needed. We enjoy walks, and this hotel is very well located to enjoy all that downtown has to offer. Chris the Bellman was outstanding, the restaurant and bar exceeded our expectations and really, the whole city was open and warm even though the fall was upon us. We will definitely go back, and the FM is the hotel of choice. While we were going to go down to St. Augustine, Charleston and the Marion have won us over. A very nice 30th Anniversary.

Room Tip: Just like all things in life, you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We appreciate your post on Trip Advisor! I am delighted to hear that you chose our hotel and were happy with your stay for your milestone wedding anniversary. I will pass on your nice comments to Chris. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First time staying here and it was great. Location is great, was able to walk to most places or it was easy to pick up shuttle to go where you needed to go. Stayed in penthouse suite, beds really comfortable, and the room was clean. Have to say when you called services, things were done quickly. Staff were very friendly and informative. Overall a great place to stay, would definitely come again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us, and I hope it is the first of many. I will pass on your wonderful comments to the staff about their service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I recently completed a 2 week driving "road trip" the Carolinas,Georga and Florida. We stayed in a lot of nice hotels and the Franis Marion was one of the nicest. The building itself exudes a feeling of old fashioned Southern charm. The staff, beginning with the valet and front desk people,made us feel instantly welcome. We only had a short time in town and they gave us great tips on what to see in such a limited time. Fortunately Charleston is a walking city and we were able to see a lot in a little time.
The guest room we stayed in was very attractive and spotlessly clean. When we arrived we found an offer of a free bottle of wine if we chose to dine in the hotel's restaurant. We accepted the offer and what a great coice that was ! The food was great,the wine was free and the waitstaff was excellent. We'll be back the next timw we're in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel and your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that our hotel was "one of the nicest" during your trip. I will pass on your great comments to our Housekeeping Department, Valet, Front Desk, and Restaurant staffs. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It's a nice historic hotel that admittedly is due another update.

Location is fab. I liked being a little further from the Market area and walking around the city, gave us a chance to see more of the peninsula, the buildings and houses. Room was nice. Beds pretty, comfortable, nice linens; plenty of storage space with desks, dresser, vanity and huge closet. Bathroom was tiny, but it worked. The service was kinda meh - not bad or rude, but just not as outgoing or friendly as other Southern towns.

The real shame is that this is a classic, Southern hotel that in some ways, lost some of that old charm. Carpets are worn, dated but did not seem period; same w/ furniture. Nice older details like transom windows were painted over, etc. For their next update - and it's time - I'd love to see them restore it to classic glory rather than just renovate w/ a coat of paint.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor. We are constantly looking for ways to upgrade our historic property, so your feedback about the restoration is appreciated. I am happy to hear that you liked our location. We hope to see you next time you are in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Staff was extremely courteous and effused Southern hospitality. Rooms are well maintained with some of the most comfortable pillows I have ever laid my head on. You cannot beat the location with easy pedestrian access to all King Street has to offer. Food was awesome in the couple of locations we tried. Free WiFi is always nice and usually unexpected in higher end hotels these days. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I love your comments about our staff - "extremely courteous and effused Southern hospitality", and I wil be sure to share it with everyone. We appreciate you taking the time to share on Trip Advisor and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.