We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great location, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Marion Hotel to your Saves list
Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, great location, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I recently arranged a trip for 18 friends to Charleston. The Francis Marion Hotel was wonderful to work with for such a large group. The concierge staff was amazing making suggestion for restaurants and activities. Constance even took time to personally pick up treats I arranged with local candy shop to hand out to everyone when they arrived! The front desk staff was equally friendly and helpful. Everyone who worked at the hotel was eager to make suggestions and give directions to anything we were doing. We did not have to rent cars as the location is within walking distance to historical monuments and King Street shopping! Great choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your group's stay and we appreciate the wonderful comments you posted on Trip Advisor. We truly enjoy having Constance on our team. She really does go above and beyond for our guests. I will pass on your terrific comments to her as well as the front desk staff. We hope you can stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    496
    192
    90
    62
See reviews for
249
508
63
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Historic hotel in the heart of it all in Charleston--walking distance to everything! Very friendly and capable staff from the bell stand to the front desk to the concierge to the bar. Lovely corner room on upper floor with great views. Yes, our bathroom was very small but if that's a problem for you (it wasn't for us), ask for a room with a large bathroom! High speed elevators they are not, but didn't ever delay us. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I need a word that means "slower than slow" to describe the elevators. The room was clean, and the view of the park across the street was wonderful. The biggest problem was my possessed toilet that flushed on its own...about every 15 minutes. Sometimes it merely belched, but most times, it did a total flush. I've stayed in haunted hotels before but never one with a toilet demon. Location was great. Airport transportation was prompt. Banquet meal was bland. I wouldn't stay there again by choice.

Room Tip: Ask first if the toilet is possessed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We appreciate the time you took to express your concerns on Trip Advisor. We are doing a major renovation to our elevators within the next few months. I apologize for the inconvenience that caused you as well as the problems with the toilet. I have notified our Director of Maintenance, so he can check the plumbing in your room and fix the toilet. I hope you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great staff very helpful, spacious room really comfy bed everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Would stay again. If I had to a negative it would be the lifts they took ages to get to the ground floor and one was always out of order but it didn't spoil our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are planning on a major renovation to our elevators soon that will make them more efficient. We hope you can stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I can't say enough about how helpful Julie, the concierge at Francis Marion, was on our recent trip to Charleston. She really knows her stuff! She gave us great suggestions for restaurants, tours, how to get around town and even fun places to have a drink. Concierges can sometimes seem a bit unapproachable, but not Julie -- she always had a smile on her face and we always felt welcome at her desk. Julie was working all 4 days of our visit. Each day she would check with us to see how we enjoyed whatever we had done the day before. She's always looking for feedback to pass along to the next guests who visit her desk. If you are staying at the Francis Marion, be sure to get some recommendations from Julie - you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We appreciate your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. I will pass on your review to Julie. She is fairly new to our team, and I must say we are ecstatic to have her here. She really does treat our guests well and truly enjoys helping to plan our guests' stay. We hope you can stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel is well-situated in Charleston close to the main shopping streets and our king room was large and comfortable. Breakfast is not normally included in your rate but a buffet breakfast is available at extra cost. A Starbucks is integral to the hotel which was really convenient. The hotel restaurant was participating in the Charleston restaurant week when we were there, and provided a great three course dinner for the princely sum of $20 a head. Car parking costs about $14 a day or a little more if you go for the valet parking option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for the information you provided about our hotel on Trip Advisor. We did have a fabulous deal for Restaurant Week. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of it. I hope you can stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We are staying at the Frances Marion for our one year anniversary! The hotel has its own hostory. The staff are extremely helpful! We were able to check in before noon! Everything is in walking distance and we've only moved our car twice to go to the beach and Magnolia Plantation. The Swamp Fox restaurant that is attached and yummy but that deserves its own review. The room we have is quaint. But that's what I love about it. The bathroom is small but has a full tub/shower combo. The beds are comfortable and the view we have is pretty great. You do get complimentary water and wifi. My only negative and it's a small negative would be the elevators. They are very slow but don't let that be your deciding factor or you will miss out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Congrats on your one year anniversary! We appreciate your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We do have plans for a major renovation on the elevators, which will make them more efficient and faster. I hope you can stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Francis Marion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Marion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.