We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for the price but rude manager and front desk clerk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina to your Saves list
Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   613 Knox Abbott Drive, Cayce, SC 29033 (Formerly Masters Inn Columbia Knox Abbott)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cayce
Cayce
1 review
“great for the price but rude manager and front desk clerk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

okay for the money but the manager was very rude and the front desk clerk was was also rude
the shower was not clean in the maid walked in before check out time while I was trying to get my stuff the pool closed way too early

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    5
    2
    18
See reviews for
8
3
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The motel is not brand-spanking new but well-maintained. A great value, convenient to downtown and perfect for my needs. I received a friendly and professional welcome upon arriving. Only problem for me was too much air freshener.



  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It's exactly the same room as I stayed in last time, but it now costs $3.00 more, and the weekend prices go into effect on Thursday. Still, the location cannot be beat if you want vicinity to the best parts of Columbia -- downtown, the Vista, 5 points and the university area. Although the price is higher, it is still in the sensible range. Maybe they will use the extra money to spruce up the rooms, like wash the stains off the walls, remove spots from the carpet, or get rid of that locker room smell.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside corridor facing the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONGMONT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this place for a week moving our girls in to USC in August 2012 and not ever will we stay there again. We were afraid of the people that were staying also in that hotel. There was more activity going on there then people just sleeping and not in a legal way. You kinda pick up on it after a few days. Lucky one of our girls got moved into her place and we made the other stay with her and not come back to the hotel. We stayed away as much as we could because most motels were booked that week because of students moving in to USC. The cleaning people didn't clean the room very well, just change the sheets once when they should have done it 2 more times. They didn't vacum or clean off the mirror or TV screen and when I told them about it they said the stains won't come off so I got some cleaner and showed her it does come off. The frig and microwave wasnot cleaned either and the place smelled like old mold.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are just looking for a clean affordable place to stay close to Columbia this place will do. It's nothing fancy but the room I had was clean and the bed was fairly comfortable. The room had a frig and microwave in it. It's close to downtown Columbia and the "Vista". Overall I'd have to say this is a place is well worth staying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I always enjoy 1 or 2 nights of relaxation here ! It has everything you want close by ! Bars, food, bowling alley, grocery stores, convenience stores. All the coffee you can drink in the morning. Walking distance to all !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina

Address: 613 Knox Abbott Drive, Cayce, SC 29033 (Formerly Masters Inn Columbia Knox Abbott)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Cayce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cayce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina 1.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide a clean comfortable room with complimentary WiFi and coffee for our guests. We pride ourselves on service and being the lowest price of any national chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masters Hotel Cayce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.