We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York in Camden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Kendall's

Sam Kendall's
1043 Broad St, Camden, SC 29020-4307
803-424-2005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Camden
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Come experience Camden's most unique dining experience. Enjoy excellent American contemporary cuisine in an atmosphere of casual sophistication. We proudly feature over 80 wine offerings; we also have a full service bar featuring the finest spirits, and over thirty beers available either on tap or in the bottle. The chef’s feature daily seafood offerings as well as the chef’s daily grill special.
1 review
“New York in Camden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Sam Kendall's is a friendly Bar/Restaurant that would not be out of place in NY. Easy to navigate menu, excellent value wine list and even craft beers. Treat yourself if you happen to be in Camden, you will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camden, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sam Kendall's in Camden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice place wether you want to watch TV by the bar or sit down with your date, good food; I particularly like their filet mignon for the main course and the crispy calamari appetizer. Service however can be variable, mostly good occasionally not

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Gotta be Camden's Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We asked for a quiet table and got a booth right at the door which was great. The place was packed on a Saturday night. Our server, Amy, was very helpful, but I think they were understaffed that night. We were in no hurry. We had the lobster pot, listed as a side, but an excellent appetizer, with drinks. My husband got the lamb chops and I got the special trout breaded with pistachios which was melt-in-your mouth delicious. I ordered asparagus as a side which was a mistake but my husbands' mashed potatoes were delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoff, SC, United States
1 review
“Overall exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I live locally in Lugoff, SC. We have been looking for a great restaurant nearby for years. Sam Kendall's exceeded our expectations. Overall exceptional atmosphere, staff and service. We tried a variety of the appetizers and were very pleased with everything. I especially liked the Bahama Beach Martini. It is made with rum NOT vodka or gin. We look forward to going back next week and taking family along. We have also recommended it to out-of-town friends who will be visiting for the Colonial Cup.
Big thanks to Jon and his staff.
Terry and Don Colbert

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I drove past this place twice before I found it. It looks very understated from the outside, but once inside I knew I'd like it. The atmosphere was very warm & welcoming, staff was very friendly & knowledgeable & food was excellent. Luckily we made a reservation. We went on a Friday night & it was packed!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Kendall's also viewed

 

Been to Sam Kendall's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Kendall's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.