We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Elegant Southern Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloomsbury Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bloomsbury Inn
Save
You added Bloomsbury Inn to your Saves list
1707 Lyttleton St, Camden, SC 29020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Camden B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“An Elegant Southern Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We sat on the beautifully appointed front porch in awe! Incredible architecture, landscape, hospitality, as well as its location in an incredible town, led us to wonder if the Bloomsbury Inn offered monthly or even yearly room rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
122
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a beautiful home. My daughter and I stayed with Katherine and Bruce just this past weekend. We were in town for a horse show, and knew that we wouldn't have the time to enjoy some of the special amenities. However, it was more than perfect. We had to leave each morning by 7:00 so we didn't have the pleasure of sitting down for breakfast. But Katherine was there both mornings to greet us as we left. She packed a fabulous breakfast to go - ham and cheese croissants one day, bacon and egg muffins the next, along with fruit, nuts, juices and even peppermints for my daughter's horse. You would never get that at some 'regular' hotel. The room was beautiful, immaculate. Chocolates on the pillows at night, waters by the bed and delicious cookies each day as well. Bloomsbury had all of the amenities of a very high end hotel, combined with the comforts of home. I only wish we had more time to really sit and enjoy, not only the home, but the company of Katherine and Bruce. Sounds like we need another trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've been looking forward to my first B&B experience for years. The Bloomsbury Inn far exceeded my expectations. Katherine and Bruce were exceptional hosts. They were warm, charming, and fun to chat with. Breakfast and the 5:30 pm socials were amazing. Katherine is an amazing cook and eagerly accommodated my dietary needs.

The house was impeccably clean. The furniture and furnishings are 100% authentic. The bed is one of the most comfortable that I've ever slept in!

I plan to return to the Bloomsbury sometime in the not-too-distant future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Thank you Katherine and Bruce for a wonderful stay! Great food and impeccably clean. Lovely neighborhood for a stroll. Be aware that Camden shuts down on Sundays so visit local spots and museums on Friday or Saturday.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This inn is meticulously clean and beautifully restored. Bruce and Katherine are fantastic hosts; friendly, helpful, gracious and fun to talk to. Over a glass of wine, Bruce provided an amazing and interesting walk through the history of the home and the region. Camden is a very pleasant town.
The breakfasts are first class outstanding. Afternoon refreshments are served on the expansive, beautiful rain porch and it's a really relaxing to wind down with these folks.
We spent an entire day walking to the shops and and had two great dinners in town.

My wife and I will be visiting Bloomsbury again on our next trip to visit our son and his family in Florida.

We highly recommend this Inn, you will be happy you visited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We often look for quiet out of the way places when we travel and even though this was a one night visit, we found a jewel. Bruce met us upon our arrival with a warm and cheerful greeting. It was as if we were old friends coming by for a visit. The charm and grace of Bloomsbury exceeded our expectations. Katherine greeted us in the morning (due to our early departure) with a breakfast to go and with a short conversation made us again feel like we had been friends for years. It was a wonderful experience and we look forward to visiting Bloomsbury again soon.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

What an unbelievable experience. The Bloomsbury vibrates with ambiance and spectacular hospitality. Miss Kitty adds her own southern charm to an already delightful getaway. Bruce and Kathrine continued to go over the top during our stay. Bruce intrigued us with the history of their Inn and town, while Katherine's culinary expertise filled the air with heart warming aromas. The evening wine and cheese on the patio, overlooking the immaculate landscape, made us not want to leave. We truly enjoyed a spectacular stay at the Bloomsbury Inn. Can't wait to return!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bloomsbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomsbury Inn

Address: 1707 Lyttleton St, Camden, SC 29020
Location: United States > South Carolina > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning...Sensational in every season. The best place to stay in Camden SC...a restored antebellum home of 9500 sq feet. Large rooms, great service, delicious full breakfast, afternoon social, top amenities! Just 3 miles to I-20; one mile to downtown historic Camden. The very best in the area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloomsbury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.