We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice way to experience the beauty of Camden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camden Carriage Company

Camden Carriage Company
Broad Street, Camden, SC 29020
(803) 425-5737
Website
Improve this listing
Beaufort, NC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a nice way to experience the beauty of Camden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The carriage ride provided by Joy, and her horse Shadow, is a pleasant and relaxing way to see the historic homes in the northeast part of Camden. There is a great deal of interesting history to be absorbed, but actually it was a bit too much -- and that is why I have given it 4 stars instead of the five given by previous reviewers. Joy is a non-stop "infomercial" about Camden's history and about Southerners -- their mores, prejudices, women and wisdom. All done in good taste and with humor, but we got to the point where a little "quiet time" would have been appreciated but didn't know the polite way to make it happen.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful and insightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had the carriage waiting for my wife and I at a downtown restaurant for Valentine's Day. Wonderful is the best way to describe our next hour or so. Joy had warm blanket's waiting for us on a rather chilly night. We learned soo much from Joy about Canden's rich heritage. Will book her again for sure. Oh, and thanks to Shadow as well!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our family thoroughly enjoyed the experience of the ride with Camden Carriage Company. Our guide explained the history of this quaint little town in an extremely interesting way. We highly recommend the carriage ride if your travels bring you to this area.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Take a ride through history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Private ride with a great guide...historic area is beautiful and guide brings it alive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Owner/operator, Joy, takes you on a leisurely ride through historic Camden neighborhoods. Her love for her home town is infectious, and she has stories to tell, which are educational and maybe a bit irreverent. She seems to know everyone and many waved or called out as we went by. Her horse, Shadow, sets the slooooooow pace. You'll be surprised at how relaxing a carriage ride can be.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camden Carriage Company also viewed

 

Been to Camden Carriage Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden Carriage Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.