We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation of our Vacation/Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camden House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camden House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Camden House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1502 Broad St., Camden, SC 29020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Camden B&B and Inns
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best accommodation of our Vacation/Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at Camden House for one night in late May and loved it. Paul and Sharon are the ultimate hosts, extremely friendly and helpful. The building is in immaculate condition and is a testament to the hard work of our hosts. Camden House also has a large pool which was fantastic to relax in on the hot day we arrived. Camden House is located close to restaurants and shops and was very easy to find. We thoroughly recommend a stay at Camden House and will definitely be staying again in the future, except longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

What this kind, caring and knowledgeable couple has provided with The Camden House is a place of refuge from the hustle and bustle of city life that many of us are accustomed to. Walking into the Camden house is like being magically transported to a better, simpler time where people mean it when they say "Y'all come back" and want to know, truly, how you are. The rooms have modern convieniences like direct tv and wireless Internet. You'll melt in the beds and the pillows were heaven. I'm coming back!! A must stay if you're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Ours hosts could not have been more gracious. They have owned the home 5 years, and it has been totally renovated and refurbished. Lovely antiques. Exquisite throughout. The rooms were large and beds were very comfortable. Wine and snacks provided at 5:00. Snacks and bottled water provided in room.

A short walking tour of the neighborhood was recommended, and we found it delightful. Following the hosts recommendations, we went to The Armory Steak & Seafood for dinner and were not disappointed.

This was a really wonderful experience...a place to relax and beautiful grounds to wander about.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Camden House for two nights. The house and grounds are beautiful, clean and quiet. With the wide front lawn, even the front room we stayed in was quiet. The breakfast was exceptional - elegant and prepared with thought and imagination. We spent a few hours in the parlor, enjoying some wine Paul and Sharon provided, and throughly enjoyed it. The antique shopping was great and we could only visit one restaurant - Sam Kendall's - which reminded me of Bone Fish with more personality. I highly recommend Camden House.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I traveled to Camden to visit a friend and was so happy to find this beautiful B&B to stay at during my visit. The B&B is absolutely beautiful inside & outside, very comfortable and Sharon and Paul (the owners) make you feel right at home. After staying here you will never be satisfied with the typical hotel/motel again! And I still talk about the wonderfully presented and prepared breakfasts. I truly believe it is the best breakfast I have ever eaten! It would almost be worth the long trip from Oregon to South Carolina just to stay here again!
Rebecca Nelson

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful experience in this gorgeous bed and breakfast inn in Camden. Sharon and Paul (the owners) are very charming and made you feel right at home. The home and the grounds are absolutely beautiful and the service was excellent.
At our arrival Sharon immediately brought us some ice as there was bottled water and some snacks in the room and gave us some ideas where to eat in the evening. At 5:30 wine, cheese, olives and crackers were served in the living room and we had a nice chat with Paul. The next day morning we received a delicious fresh cooked breakfast served in the dining room which kept us satified for a long time.
We definetely will stay at the Camden Inn again and recommend this place to everyone.
Christiane and David

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful experience in this gorgeous bed and breakfast inn in Camden. Sharon and Paul (the owners) are very charming and made you feel right at home. The home and the grounds are absolutely beautiful and the service was excellent.
At our arrival Sharon immediately brought us some ice as there was bottled water and some snacks in the room and gave us some ideas where to eat in the evening. At 5:30 wine, cheese, olives and crackers were served in the living room and we had a nice chat with Paul. The next day morning we received a delicious fresh cooked breakfast served in the dining room which kept us satified for a long time.
We definetely will stay at the Camden Inn again and recommend this place to everyone.
Christiane and David

  • Liked — Beautiful surroundings and great service.
  • Disliked — Could not mention one
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camden House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1502 Broad St., Camden, SC 29020
Location: United States > South Carolina > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden House Bed & Breakfast mirrors all the charm and grandeur of the antebellum South. Completed in 1832, the mansion is today nestled in the heart of historic downtown Camden - South Carolina's oldest inland city - where it is in easy walking distance to shops, fine restaurants, antique stores, the community theater and historic parks. Experience Gracious Hospitality - Private & Relaxing circa 1832. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.