We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barillas Marina Club for yachties” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Barillas

Save Saved
You added Puerto Barillas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Puerto Barillas
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Km. 108.5 - CA-2 | Bahia de Jiquilisco, Jiquilisco 00000, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Barillas Marina Club for yachties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

While making a delivery of a yacht from Florida to California we stopped here to refuel and take a break. We had been at sea for 6 days and needed rest and relaxation. Though it was a very tough entry through the breakwater (BMC provided a pilot) it was well worth it. Very secluded and very quiet!! With a beautiful view of surrounding volcanos. The check in with the office and all the country officials (customs, immigration) was easy and extremely painless. All the people here are really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They even drove us into town to resupply free of charge, and that doesn't happen anywhere! We did not try the dining, because I am the yacht chef but the pool and the rest of the facilities looked wonderful. Great place to really get away from it all!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having travelled to many countries in the world looking for adventure and something different - I found it in El Salvador - Puerto Barrilas!
It's not luxury but very comfortable and friendly ( I don't like 5 star anyway) the staff are wonderful, very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them.
I first visited in November 2011 and the impact had me writing a blog for my company website and a five page feature for the sea fishing magazine I work on. The blog alone attracted a lot of attention and interest, which lead to me having to organise another trip for guide two guys from England, Andyg1000 was one of them.
It's a verry loooong trip from England via Houston, Texas but worht every minute for the experience. Where else can you see sunbathing saltwater crocodiles, catch huge roosterfish from the shore and feed spider monkeys by hand? If you visit, you have to go and see the monkeys, they are amazing creatures - totally wild but know that visitors will bring them bananas - make sure you have some!
It's a great place to base yourself to explore other towns and areas, we made a few trips to Puerto Parada and the local town Usulutan - well worth a visit to get a true feel of Central America.
I have limited time off and a very busy diary this year but I'll be back for sure as there's no better place to sit back, relax and just chill out!

Room Tip: Go for the Villa, it has a kitchen. All rooms are quiet as it's set in a grove of coconut trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Our week long stay here was fantastic. We were treated so well and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We also took advantage of their free bus service into the local town.
The resort felt extremely safe and we were left alone to relax and just enjoy our time, although if we did want for anything they were on hand to help.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I have stayed in Puerto Barillas on the boat and used their facilities except cabins (which looked quite nice!).
Puerto Barillas is off the beaten track and provides very nice stay far from the reality of the busy world. It is hard to find such places anymore. It is located in Bahia de Jiquilisco and the closest town is Usulutan. They have directions how to get there on their website www.puertobarillas.com
There is lovely swimming pool, jacuzzi, number of palapas (with wi-fi), restaurant, small convenience store, small boat dock and buoys for larger boats, kayaks and PWCs for rent. They also offer trips to local beaches. One can even charter a small airplane - there is a small air strip there.
Everybody in the resort is helpful and pleasant and we enjoyed relaxing quiet surroundings and beauty of the mangroves and jungle around us.
There are some no-see-ums (called locally jejenes) so have repellent ready if necessary.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el salvador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

very nice place! the cabins are excellent. clean and pretty.
the food was good, the pool is nice. each cabin has its own barbecue!!! , big cabins have their own kitchen.
but keep in mind that its in the middle of the mangrove forrest, so you need to get on a boat to go to the beach.
a bit expensive, but totally worth it.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

My family and I stayed there on march 25 for one night.It is a pretty nice place where to stay.We really loved it and would go back again,but keep in mind that is expensive.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Puerto Barillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Barillas

Address: Km. 108.5 - CA-2 | Bahia de Jiquilisco, Jiquilisco 00000, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Usulutan Department > Jiquilisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Jiquilisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Barillas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private club located in Jiquilisco Bay, El Salvador's largest bay with abundant flora and fauna. Only one and a half hours from San Salvador. Facilities include four small bungalows for four and six large two level, fully equipped bungalows for a maximum of eight guests. Boat, airplane and kayak rentals available onsite for Bay and airplane tours. Other facilities include onsite airstrip, fuel station, business center, pool, convenience store, restaurant, bar, massages and local tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Puerto Barillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Barillas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.