We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“remodeling but what a great hotel for over night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Blythewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Blythewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Blythewood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Creech Road, I-77 Exit # 27, Blythewood, SC 29016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blythewood
Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“remodeling but what a great hotel for over night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

There going though a remodel which was needed, but its great!!! Its easy off and easy on, gas up right there.
The front desk girl couldn't have been nicer. She just smiled and made you feel so welcomed. Went back out to the car and she cleaning the outside sidewalk!! with a smile on her face.
Morning breakfast was what you would expect... nothing great no fruit but a old bannana, that was a little disappointing, pancake machine down but didn't want one anyway. The girl in charge was just a mornng brightner!! She asked how your stay was and tried to chat, really no one seems to do that anymore..... I really liked this place and I've stayed many places but this one was different, just really nice people... we could complain about stupiid things but the fact is we really want people to think we are worth coming there and this hotel really makes you feel you welcomed! ....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blythewood, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. Our remodel is scheduled to be complete in March 2013; and I hope that you will choose to stay with us again so you can experience the refreshed product. I apologize for the breakfast and I assure you that the issues will be corrected. I wish you safe travels and a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
17
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our stopping point after a late start driving from FL to NC. It's conveniently located right off the highway. Even though we arrived after 11p, parking was available. We had trouble getting our a/c to start but it eventually did and worked with no problems. The manager discounted our stay b/c of the issue (even though it really wasn't a big deal!). Staff is very pleasant, rooms are clean, breakfast is yummy (and free!). Wifi was a little spotty but good enough for an overnight stay. McDonalds is right across the street so I could grab my sweet tea before hitting the road the next morning :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I've never written a hotel review before, but I was so impressed with this Holiday Inn that I wanted to let others know how nice it was. My husband, two kids and I stopped here on our way back to Ohio from Florida. Extremely easy on/off access from rt. 77, lots of restaurant choices close by. When we arrived late in the evening we were given an upgrade to a suite since one was available and we're priority club members. The hotel was clean and nicely decorated, as was our suite. We all agreed that the beds were the most comfortable hotel beds ever, with high quality sheets, pillows and blankets. Staff was wonderful and friendly, breakfast was great, and although we couldn't use the pool due to the weather, it looked great. We've stayed at alot of Holiday Inns, this one has been the best yet!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

we stayed here for our overnight stay on july 28.2012. the staff vas very nice and the hotel location was very good and quick access beck to interstate....the breakfast was fresh and nice...
the hotel was clean and it was quiet....overall, good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here on my way to Disney. I liked the location of the hotel as it was right off the interstate and had restaurants in close proximity. The staff was unbelievable! True southern hospitality. We had a problem with our first room but the problem was resolved immediately. My issue was the attention to detail with the cleanliness. Based on my career, I have an eye for certain things and what I saw is not acceptable. Spider webs and dust bunnies in the restroom, the perimeter of the floor was dusty (meaning they only vacuumed the middle of the floor), and we saw a few catepillar type bugs in our room. The room felt clean but dirty at the same time. Breakfast was good and again I loved the staff! I could probably stay here again but hope management would pay more attention to detail!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malinta, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Got this hotel at a great rate through one of the big travel-bidding sites (I'm sure you know the one). Clean hotel, ac unit kept the room a comfortable temperature, decent breakfast buffet (as far as microwave breakfast buffets go), and EXTREMELY helpful staff. Not much to do in the area but it was a great place to stop for the night as a family traveling from Ohio to Florida. The pool area is nothing special, but it was there and seemed well-kept.There's a Mexican restaurant right next door... didn't try it but it's convenient if nothing else. A carryout was also in walking distance. Would go back again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Location was good , But the room was poor ,What's the part of the room you want the cleanest ?? You know, the bathroom. alot of mold around the shower , drop celing moldy , slow sink drain , so the face shavings mix with your tooth paste foam to make a nice cocktail.. carpet in the room felt sticky in spots too.

Room Tip: stay on the first floor so you dont have to wait for the slow elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blythewood, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to apologize for the cleanliness issues and any discomfort they may have caused. As a Holiday Inn Express, we try to uphold very high standards and anything less is unacceptable. Our housekeeping department works very hard and I assure you after receiving your feedback, it will work even harder. I appreciate your feedback, it enables us to be a better hotel. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again, and I encourage you to contact me, the general manager, whenever that may be. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincereley,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blythewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blythewood

Address: 120 Creech Road, I-77 Exit # 27, Blythewood, SC 29016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Blythewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blythewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blythewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for visiting the web site of the Holiday Inn Express - Blythewood South Carolina. Blythewood is a suburb of Columbia, South Carolina's Capitol City. Our historic city is a thriving metropolitan area, Columbia is a city with a proud tradition blending the old with the new, preserving the past while providing an exciting future.Holiday Inn Express is located in the northeast side of Columbia, off I-77 Blythewood Road (Exit #27), just twenty minutes from downtown Columbia and Fort Jackson. Our close proximity to Providence Hospital, Lake Murray, The University Club, Crickentree, Bose, Siemens Diesel, CSC Corporation, Spirax-Sarco, Ben Arnold, Koyo, Plastech Corporation, Winnsboro SC and many more, makes our hotel the perfect place to stay. Our central location to Charlotte, Greenville, Spartanburg, Augusta, Myrtle Beach, Florence and Charleston, offers the perfect stopover when traveling for one night or extended stay. Our four-story, interior corridor hotel offers eighty-eight spacious and comfortable guestrooms and suites, designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure travelers. Our executive traveler enjoys our large working desk, with desk lamp, ergonomic executive chair, computer outlet and dataports. Of course, our two 2-line speakerphones is certainly a plus, allowing you to talk on the telephone, while connecting to the Internet. Each morning our guest enjoy our Complimentary Continental Breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blythewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blythewood Hotel Blythewood
Holiday Inn Blythewood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Blythewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.