We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern 46 - CLOSED

Tavern 46
16 Kitties Landing Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910-5975
+1 843-815-2327
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just average ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The food is actually good.....good not great service. Great place for sports though. Do not order from the tap..... every time I have BAD taste!!!! Makes you wonder if they clean the lines. I'm a local.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Many better choices in Bluffton”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This restaurant seems to have an identity crisis. It seems that they kept half of the decorations, including the giant bear in front, from the previous owners. These decorations seem so out of place now that it isn't Montanas When I walk in and . I also was incredibly turned off by the blaring televisions. The food was average at best and seemed to be overpriced for what you got. There are plenty of other better restaurants in the area that have better food and ambience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Average Sports Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

While off the island I had looked forward to checking this place out. Based on the name we were expecting a Tavern like environment. Instead this still looks like a log cabin, not a tavern. This makes sense as it was once called Montanas. The bar is big and they did have quite a few different beers on tap, but the bar tender was inattentive, unless you were a regular and seemed a bit bothered by the fact we were there. All that aside we sat at the bar and figured as long as were were there, we would try the food. Now it wasn't bad, but was more akin to a TGIFridays or the like than a independently owned spot. Menu has nothing original on it. With so many good local places in this area, I see no reason to go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have tried this restaurant several times, under several names. The new menu is not exciting and it is a bit pricey for what you get.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We are new to the area and were driving by and decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent food, great selection of beers, and wonderful service! The beer battered onion rings were divine and the burgers on the croissant bun were a dream! The friendly service provided by our waitress, Ciri, served to complete a wonderful experience. We will return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 46 also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern 46, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.