We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystery guest review.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Bluffton

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Bluffton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Bluffton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Towne Drive, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Bluffton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mystery guest review.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here to attend a wedding. The hotel is located in a nice plaza and away from traffic, but a few miles from any gas stations. Upon arrival we learned that our reservation was not updated when we decided to stay an extra night. Management fixed the problem fairly quickly considering the hotel was fully booked for graduations and two other weddings. The hotel has a nice taste in decor upon entering, but was very hot and stuffy. Attempting to reach our second floor room using the elevator was very time consuming, the elevator is slow and tends to go to other floors passing your intended floor. Needless to say we used the stairs for the rest of our stay. When entering our room, we noticed it was fairly hot so we decided to turn up the a/c only to realize that it was not working correctly. We called the front desk, explained the problem, and they had a janitor in our room in less than three minutes. He got it working in a matter of minutes, gave us helpful tips on how work it, and did not have problems with it for the rest of our stay. We left our room shortly after packing to visit with other visiting family only to notice that there was the very strong odor of propane gas in the hallway and lobby. We asked the desk clerk if she knew anything about the increasingly strong odor and she replied that they were doing "something" in the kitchen. Thankfully the smell was almost gone when we came back later that night. The next morning while trying to iron our outfits for the wedding, we found out the iron for our room had a really bad leak where you add the water, resulting in soaking my blouse. Breakfast is your typical continental breakfast with fruit, bagels, and cereal. To the sausage and bacon lovers, They do not serve any meats, so please invest in the IHOP located right down from the hotel. For those who like to watch a little tv as downtime, you will find the channel selection lacking a lot of choices. Our tv had an average of fifty channels despersed in between non-working channels with NO guide, so you will have to manually find a channel that you would like to view. When fully booked, parking can be difficult and you may have to park behind or on the side of the hotel, so please make use of the side entrance. There is only one ice machine, and it is located on the first flooor. The gym is very small and only contains three machines so a brisk run through the plaza may be more rewarding for athletics. An overall review of Comfort Suites of Bluffton, this is a hotel that is clean and friendly with mostly minor issues in which the staff will do their best to fix , and make your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsc253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Jessica Wilks,

Thank you for taking the time for closely reviewing our property. We are grateful you haver taken the time to post a review online for us. Hope to see you in the future.

Charles.GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    25
    15
    19
    8
See reviews for
46
34
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel appears to be updated, but it doesn't seem to be kept up well. We stayed in room 107 and we were not impressed with the room. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed thoroughly, the walls could have used a fresh coat of paint, the sofa bed appeared to be broken and had nasty stains on the upholstery, to the point that I wouldn't sit on it. The "leather" chair was torn, and the walls were paper thin. The breakfast was nothing exceptional, and it was hard to find a chair at a table that didn't have food stains on it. I will say that the location of this hotel is good, the lobby is attractive, the room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. However, considering the condition of the room we stayed in, I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsc253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Toried,

We appreciate any feedback from guests even if it is negative. We have looked into the issues you have brought to our managements attention and are very grateful. With your experience in traveling, your particular feedback is vital to our success.

Charles. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here while visiting family in the area and had a wonderful experience. Check in was very quick and the front desk provided excellent suggestions on places to eat. I had a room on the third floor which was neat, clean and quiet. I will definitely be back during my next visit to Bluffton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsc253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property in the Bluffton/Hilton Head area. Rock Hill is only a few hours away, come back and visit us soon. Please let us know what we can do to keep you as a loyal guest with us.

Charles.GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I was warned but tried it anyway. I will never stay in another hotel owned by this group. Good luck reasoning with this manager, Charles. Carpets are filthy and smell horrible. Walls are dirty, patched stained. Little spiders. crawling all around, three roaches in our room. Sinks drain poorly, showers are nasty. Refrigerator was broken and never replaced. Holes in walls in stairway.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsc253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Please accept my deepest apology for you stay at our proprty. We are currently going through several renovations but it is no excuse for the condition of your room. Our onsite management team will look into these issues immediately. Thank you for the feedback.
Charles.GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay the room was awesome and so was the service Charles is the best.....If your visiting Bluffton,sc Comfort suites is the place to stay.Everything you need and want is there food,shopping and entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsc253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Regina P.

Thanks for being a loyal guest at our property, anything we can do in the future to accomodate your family please let us know. Charles. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm excited to say that I stayed in Comfort Suites during St Patricks Day weekend, and I'm thoroughly impressed. I checked in in saturday and General Manager was friendly! The room I stayed in was on the third floor and incredibly nice. I loved the bathroom and the bed/carpet was super clean. I enjoyed my stay and would love to come back to this hotel. The area the hotel is located in is within a plaza (with shopping area and IHOP less than 500 feet)!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsc253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Ashlee B,

Thank you for your time in reviewing our property. We value Senior Reviewers because they tend to review fairly instead out of anger. Please stay with us in the future. We are going through some exciting renovations, and hope to see you in the future. Charles GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here on a slight discount for having a Marine graduating at Parris Island... Should have paid the extra money for a nicer hotel. My check in experience was ok, went smoothly. However, the front desk clerk was dressed fairly inappropriately for a family hotel. Short off the shoulder dress with knee high boots, not in a classy way. The parking situation was horrible, and there were a number of construction crews staying here, all of them out in the parking lot drinking. My girlfriend made mention of how uncomfortable she would have been had she been alone. When we walked in, the first thing we noticed was a mildewy smell in the hallway. When we got to our room, it was fairly dirty. The bedding seemed to be clean, but there were more then a few stains on the carpet, to the point where we were not comfortable walking barefoot. The television was an old school 20 inch, that wasn't nice when it was new. The bathroom was just old and worn. The water pressure was terrible. Oh, and for some reason, they have tiny pillows on the bed, I mean half the size of a normal pillow. To top off all of this, just down the hall from our room, was a ceiling tile that had fallen down(apparently because they had water leaks) this tile was on the floor, in front of the 2nd floor storage area, and yet it sat on the floor for the entire 4 days we stayed there. Breakfast was disappointing, had to request more food to be put out as everything was empty. All in all, wish I had spent a couple more bucks for someplace nicer. We researched before we went, and this place was well below our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsc253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Bluffton, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
DEAR David F,

Your review of our property is very disappointing. We pride ourselves on being the number one choice for Marine Corps Families. Our management team will be looking very closely into every issue you have addressed on Tripadvisor.com. We are sorry for your experience and I can personally promise NO MARINE CORPS FAMILY WILL HAVE AN EXPERIENCE LIKE THIS AGAIN.

Charles. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Bluffton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Bluffton

Address: 23 Towne Drive, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Bluffton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites Bluffton is an all suites hotel featuring complimentary continental breakfast, a variety of specials and packages, meeting facility and easy access to shopping and dining in the Hilton Head Island area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Bluffton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Bluffton Hotel Bluffton
Bluffton Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Bluffton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.