We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Secluded Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Rates for Fall
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect Secluded Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Palmetto Bluff seems like an isolated area of South Caroline but is only 30 minutes from Hilton Head or Savannah. The resort sits on a former hunting club and timber farm of 22,000 acres nestled along the May River, just inland from the coast. The surroundings are lowland marsh and forest. The resort area itself ("Wilson's Landing") is a compact village with a small "downtown" district surrounded by homes that you can rent. The sizes range from modest (where we stayed) to glorious (where the bride stayed). There also is a section of cottages which are smaller and a touch removed from the village. The Inn in in the heart of the village and overlooks the river.

There is boating, tennis, golf, two pools and fitness centers, fishing, hiking, bike riding, restaurants, stables, spa, and probably more I did not see. The landscaping is lush, the staff is unbelievable and seemed to outnumber the guests. The food is good, and the service perfect. I've lived in the area all my life and now find it silly that I've traveled all over and never realized this gem was just down the road.

I was there with a wedding party of 100 or so, which maxed out the seating in the small but charming chapel. The wedding arrangements were effortless and flawless, and the reception and rehearsal settings and refreshements were wonderful. Our friends and family had only good things to say, and many came from outside the US.

It is expensive, so the money is well spent only if you can be relaxed about it and plan on taking advantage of all Palmetto Bluff has to offer. Once on the property, there really is no shopping, nightlife, or other more urban activities. The houses all have kitchens and laundry facilities. Though there is a small store, it's not suited for feeding a family long term, but more for gourmet items. It's best to come with all the supplies you need, or plan on patronizing the restaurants. You'll need to rent a car, if you want to travel the area. The village is 4 miles from the entry gate, and the gate is a mile from the nearest highway.

The only potential sour note is that this area has been hit hard by the recession, and there are rumors the the developer may declare bankruptcy (info from a caddy on the golf course). It's hard to say how that would affect the resort itself. Most of the property seems designed around real estate development (private homes), and from looking around, there is a lot of empty land.

Go. Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
194
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

We just checked out and I was curious to see what everyone wrote about the Inn at Palmetto Bluff. Although we came in late, we stayed a little longer today to use the amenities. Bob played golf while I exercised at the fitness facility. Lovely decor. A couple of things to mention. If you are allergic to down bedding, call ahead and have it removed (like we did). The "noseeums" are nasty this time of year so bring some Skin So Soft by Avon. How could anyone put chemicals on their skin??? Finally, the fireplace is wonderful but the soft sound of gas escapes during the night and has a kind of white noise in the room. I don't know if this is in every room but I wanted to point it out to future guests. An absolutely stunning escape!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Our motive to come to this Inn was to look at real estate in the area. We stayed 4 nights and loved every minute of it. The cottages are very spacious, ours was overlooking the May River. Large bedroom with gas fireplace, huge bathroom, big screened in porch and all the best amenities. We even had 2 bicycles at our disposal.
The area is a WOW at first sight. The entry through the forest and the beautiful view of the little town absolutely take your breath away.
The main hotel building houses a wonderful, albeit costly, restaurant. We had not brought dressy clothes and felt a bit under-dressed. We also had lunch at the Golf Club, dinner at the Canoe Club and the Village Restaurant, and breakfast at the little grocery store. Our only complaint is there was really no casual breakfast restaurant. The tennis facility is great with 8 har-tru courts, bocce ball, croquet and basket ball as well. We did not use the golf course, but did drive around it and it was quite impressive. We also took a boat ride into Hilton Head and saw many dolphin along the way. Very pretty area by boat as well.
I thought the SPA was great and had a massage and facial.
All in all, a wonderful place to go.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Fantastic place, fantastic location. Quiet, secluded, refreshing and First Class all the way. You give your name at the gatehouse, drive 6 minutes thru the beautiful forests and arrive at the breathtaking waterfront checkin. They already know your name, take your car, your luggage, escort you in AND THENNNNN, welcome you and your dog BY NAME! Yes, amazing! The cottage on the lagoon is well thought out, stocked with water, juices, cofffee, tea and the steam shower and separate tub .... I could go on all day but its hard to impress me - I'm impressed. Sadly, this raises the bar for the other hotels out there. It tops even the finest suite at Disney - they better watch out! I'm going again every year!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Just returned from Palmetto Bluff for the 4th time. Once again, the place just gets better! We attended their annual "Dog Gone Crazy Weekend". Pets are always welcome, but PB threw a party for them! It was amazing. Stories of animals by the firepit at night with human and doggie treats, hikes, and yes a Carnival in front of the River House, filled with vendors, games, treats, and even a "doggie DJ". Afterwards, there was a "Yappy Hour" in Calder Park. The weekend was awesome. From a welcome note to your dog (and you) to anything you can imagine. The new Canoe Club was a great venue if you didn't want to dress for the River House (which is fab). I can't find anything wrong with this property. It's simply the best, and the best staff, too. Thanks Auberge. This place rocks.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

What a great vacation! My wife and I spent a week at Palmetto Bluff and it was amazing. It really is an escape from the daily grind and affords you the opportunity to "get away".

We stayed in one of the cottages and it was well appointed. The showers alone had multiple shower heads and included a steam room type experience.

There were bicycles provided to help you get across the large property without feeling rushed. This provided a lot of fun and charm.

The food was amazing at all the restaurants. We especially liked the sweet potato fries!

The golf course was fun and meticulously maintained. All of the activities were spot on.

The entire staff made the experience one we will remember for a lifetime. We do not usually travel for a week at a time and were apprehensive before we went. We are very happy we went! This place does not disappoint.

  • Liked — Feeling secluded and being able to relax
  • Disliked — Pricey
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff Aug 7th through Aug 10th. What a great property! I am incredibly picky, and I thought this place was very, very lovely. We stayed in a charming (in every sense of the word) cottage of about 1200 square feet with a large screened porch, huge bathroom, nice bed- I can not say enough about how nice this place is. Sure, there were little things- I think that they need to change the upholstery more frequently, and the sisal mat under the area rug is a little beat-up (I am extremely picky) but.... the upholstered chairs faced a working gas fireplace, under the rug, in front of the very comfortable, very large bed, made with very high thread count cotton sheets and duvets that were changed daily, so I had a difficult time noticing the small stains on the chair. The view from the porch was terrific. Everyone has their own cottage, and are given bikes to get around on. The grounds are beautiful, the exercise equipment is more than adequate- I work out every day, rain, shine or vacation, so this is important- there are tons of places to run and/or walk, and the Inn is completely self-contained. I did not want to leave. This was one of the most serene vacations I have had in the U.S. in a very long time. Be warned however... because the Inn is very self-contained, with water sports, several docks, a pool, a baci ball court, spa, resturants (two, if I remember correctly) and lots of running trails, we relinquished our car at arrival. It was tucked away- hence the bikes- until we needed to drive somewhere other than the Inn property. Very posh, until one realizes that they left something in the back seat of the car coming home earlier from the beach at Hilton Head Island, and the rental car is not parked in an easily accessible spot. It adds to the relaxing charm- eventually. Also, eveything is pretty much provided- water, ice, plates, and there is a tiny refrig and sink/ counter in the entrance hall of the cottage. No tipping- which is nice, since that can get tiresome, and the entire staff is pleasant, helpful and cheery. Did I mention that the Inn at Palmetto Bluff is dog friendly? Our five pound poodle got to see a turtle, armadillo, and watch the herons from the screened in porch while we were golfing. (Very nice, though expensive, golf course. ) So basically, everybody was happy. My best compliment is that I intend to return for another stay.

  • Liked — Beauiful setting
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.