We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING property with first class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Montage Memories
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING property with first class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just spent a few days over the New Years holiday at the Inn at Palmetto bluff. WOW! what a great place! the property is absolutely charming. the grounds are immaculate and the views are spectacular. Then the service. 5 star! We were immediately greeted by Nate who showed us to our cottage and gave us an introduction to the property. He was so pleasant, helpful, and accommodating. Truly a gem! What a great first impression he makes on guests! they are lucky to have him working there. Everyone from the staff we encountered was pleasant and helpful. The restaurants on property were delicious and easy to get reservations. We were able to rent one of their loaner vehicles and the concierge Kaitlyn gave us some great suggestions of places to see and go to in the nearby area. all in all, this place is fantastic and the people who work there make it an even better experience. Would be remiss not to mention the delicious s'mores set up they provide every evening at the main house.

Room Tip: The cottages on the river are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
68
196
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville , Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

stayed here for two nights and just loved it
The cottages were beautifully decorated very spacious
Restaurant sat over the May River nice selection of dining options
Spent one afternoon at the Spa which was very relaxing would love to come back

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hopefully Montage management reviews these comments because 2 employees deserve standout recognition - Dave Smiley (front desk) and Nate (host outside). Both of these guys were professional and treat the operation of this property like it is serious business.

There were a few minor issues when Nate walked us through the room (surround sound not functioning and eucalyptus for steam shower missing) which resulted in him calling the front desk immediately with a list. Within 10 minutes, different facility employees arrived to correct these issues. Every time we saw Nate during the stay he remembered our names, was always courteous and accommodating.

This place is exceptional to take a family. Many activities. S'mores at the fire pit every night. Beautiful views.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not much has changed to the cottages but the do have some maintenance to ... from my perspective. We go to Palmetto Bluff for the quiet relaxation - get up early and watch the sunrise over the May River, have a glass of wine and watch the waterfowl come into perch, read a book, take a walk, ride your bike ... that's my kind of relaxation. Unfortunately, they are now expanding with a hotel (where the Spa was) and expanding the property for homesites where the Moreland area is (was?). Great, I suppose. Progress is always good - for someone.

But in the meantime, Mr Montage, please retain the standards of the old Palmetto Bluff. Consider touring the rooms from time to time to see that the shutters aren't broken (as was ours in Cottage 11) or the toilet worked properly, or the bikes didn't look & work like hand-me-down relics.

I'll still return, the place is just too special - which is exactly why the standards must be retained.

BTW, there is a young lady, Morgan, who was just filling in as the concierge but did an exceptional job in all respects.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Doug b,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor, for recognizing Morgan and for your continued patronage. I would like to personally apologize that your cottage was not in optimal condition for your arrival. We appreciate your feedback regarding the cottages and have addressed the issues you brought to light. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the bicycles and are pleased to let you know that we are updating the entire fleet of bikes this year. I assure you that as we move forward with the expansion of the property it will only add greater amenities and service to this incredible destination. We look forward to welcoming you back and continuing to be a special place for you.
Sincerely,
David Smiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful, the grounds and the buildings. The service is top notch. Every person I encountered seemed to genuinely enjoy working there. Every cottage automatically comes with 2 bikes. If you don't want that and don't want to walk ask for a golf cart or they will come get you in a golf cart within minutes. If you don't have a car or even if you do and want to drive a Mercedes for a few hrs they have a selection you can reserve for up to 4hrs complimentary. Cottage suites have a sofa bed and cottage kings can fit a rollaway on request for a fee. For families there are 3 and 4 bedroom homes to rent. By end of 2016 there will be a hotel building added. Units near the construction site have been taken out of inventory to avoid interfering with your stay. Location is a short drive to Savannah or Hilton Head (about 30 minutes) and about 15minutes from the outlets if you want some good shopping.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo,CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This property is amazing! Sitting on 20,000 acres, it takes 10 minutes just to get to the main building after going through the gates! The landscaping is impeccable as is the staff, the food, and much more! I loved it so much that I booked another visit to come back in less than a week from my first stay. There are about 30 cottages which are one bedrooms with a screened in porch! The bathroom is AMAZING and the shower even comes equipped with a stream room (and eucalypts spray). I highly recommend visiting this property because I know my review and photos won't do it justice! So excited to return this Sunday!

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here in October and could not have enjoyed it more. What a very romantic place to stay and a great place for golf, tennis, riding bikes and Spa. We really appreciated the good people that helped us enjoy our stay to include Gen and Dana at Spa, Mike tennis pro, Dan our caddy, Gavin at Canoe Club, Thomas and Andrew at River House, Tim the IT man, and especially Pat at the concierge desk. I would highly recommend this place for an anniversary.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.