We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity and Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Serenity and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location of the property is a beautiful setting. We stayed in a cottage. The quality of the bedding, the towels, the furniture on the porch, to the amenities were all top notch. Having access to a golf cart and bikes made using the property not only convenient, but fun. We enjoyed room service, which was very well done (not all places do it well), as well as Buffalo's and the Canoe Club. We found the short drive out to the property setting the scene for what was to come and getting you in that relaxed mode. Having an iPad in the room for the property information including making dinner reservations, was a great touch. We will be back!

Room Tip: Water view cottages are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
194
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This property is simply beautiful. From the main building, new, yet built with old time charm to the cottages where you can stay during your visit that even come with a couple of bikes parked outside to use to get around if you want. The service is excellent and so is the food. The property is a little out of the way, but it sits within a small town that has a couple places to eat and a general store that sells basic snacks and also has a small fresh meat / fish counter. Beer, wine and gas is also available. The cottages are drop dead beautiful and very luxurious. Large bathrooms that include a tub and steam shower. Each cottage also has a screened porch that overlook the inland waterway. This place is not cheap, but you definitely get more than you pay for and I would highly recommend this property for a romantic long weekend or even a weeks vacation if you enjoy hanging out and relaxing. In the evenings they have bonfires at the main building where you can roast marshmallows (I didn't even realize they were different flavored marshmallows, wow!) There are also tours of the area if you want to visit some of the local towns like oldtown bluffs.

Room Tip: Select a cottage to stay in if possible to get the full effect of the property, and ideally one clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramerton, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was my second trip to Palmetto bluff in 2 years. We stayed in a cottage. The property is beautiful, Buffalo's and the Canoe Club were both outstanding. I have to admit, I stayed in 2013 when the resort was managed by Auberge. I could definitely tell a difference in the overall quality of the resort now that Montage Resorts has taken over. The service was not the same from the staff inlcuding the bar staff and room service. The cottages come with complimentary drinks and those were not there when we checked in and we had to repeatedly ask for those items during our stay. The in room ipad that allows you to order room service and explore the different activities on site did not work and we called repeatedly to have someone come and fix it with no sucess. The TV went out several times and engineering had to come in and fix it, they could not explain why it was not working. We had room service for breakfast each day and one morning received an opened, used jar of jelly. What I found most upsetting was the rates are the same as last year when the property was managed by Auberge, which delivered stellar service in every aspect. I would recommend this resort but in my opinion the rates are high for the quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 days at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff last weekend. Our short vacation was absolutely fantastic! It was our first time at the property and all the staff was very helpful and accommodating in very respect. We ate at Buffalo's, and the Canoe Club and the meals were top notch! The sunset views of the May River from the terrace at Canoe Club were stunning!

We rode bikes and drove the complimentary golf cart through all through the property and admired the beautiful homes in the well landscaped neighborhoods. The cottage we stayed in had lagoon views and the screened in porch was perfect for enjoying morning coffee and relaxing.

My wife enjoyed a massage at the spa from "Lisa," who did a amazing job.... Apparently that was one of the best massages my wife had ever had in her life! I played a round of golf at the May River Golf course on the property and the condition of the course didn't fail to impress me. They require you to play with a caddie and I had never done so but it turned out go by a very enjoyable experience. My caddie for the day was "Billy" and he was extremely knowledgable about the course, and the history of the property.

We will definitely return to Palmetto Bluff in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We returned to a home in Palmetto Bluff for the 2nd year in a row because last year was so fabulous. Once again, the Inn delivered. We got back home yesterday, and the kids are already asking about going back. Riding bikes/golf carts through the amazing property, kids activities (limited but very good), swimming, nightly smores campfire, friendlyness oozing everywhere. It was the same experience that brought us back again. The only negative was that a large wedding was going on during the weekend. You could absolutely tell when there was an influx of people. We couldn't get a golf cart until they left....there were a lot more cars on the roads....things like that. When they build the large new hotel on site, I'd be hard pressed to believe that they will be able to maintain the unique ambiance that exists now.

Room Tip: Cottages can only fit 2 people, maybe 3 on a sofa. Larger families definitely need a home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was a very special place to visit. I loved having a separate cottage, it's such a different experience from staying in a hotel. Our cottage was overlooking the river and we enjoyed relaxing on the huge screened in porch. It was nice to have golf carts and bikes to get around. The entire staff was helpful and friendly. Housekeeping was phenomenal (and I always love any place with evening turn-down service). I enjoyed a massage during our stay and loved that the therapist came to the room for the service. If you are in need of a place to totally "decompress", this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: We were in cottage #7 overlooking the river. It's quiet but also a hop, skip and a jump (or quic...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very cute idea to put the toy alligator on the bed to indicate you do not request your sheets to be changed. I noticed the trash bins in the room had a simple paper doily in the bottom vs. plastic bags.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I bought at an auction and planned a "couples getaway" at this property and stayed in a gorgeous, well-appointed 5 BR home! I was pleasantly surprised at all of the amenities offered...which made it definitely worth the money! The food was unparalleled at each restaurant....even our morning breakfast delivered to our home! Along with the different fitness classes...TRX...yoga....we all loved Carol "teaching" us couples the proper way to play croquet! Lol! We also LOVED riding bikes everywhere.....so cool....the big porch swing....so cool...s'mores every night....so cool....this property is one to definitely be on everyone's bucket list just one time. Staff was so friendly....and since our guys are "cheap".....they golfed off the property....but loved it! You wanna treat your wife: go here!

Room Tip: We had #33 home......so cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.