We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gentile Romantic Oasis in the Low Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Gentile Romantic Oasis in the Low Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just a 30 minute drive from the Savannah Airport, you are transported to a beautiful, idyllic, romantic Southern getaway. As soon as you turn onto the 1.5 mile drive into the 20,000 acre retreat, you are transported to a fairy tale version of a well to do lazy beautiful Southern retreat, filled with giant moss covered oaks, tall pines, and palmetto palms. Your cottage screened porch overlooks the May river or lagoon, where you can watch fishermen, and waterfowl play while sipping your wine or cocktail. Your cottage is equipped with 2 cruising bikes with baskets, so you can bike along the small town streets or paths. After a delightful but challenging round of golf on a course nearly void of adjacent homes, you can relax at the adult or entirely separate family pool overlooking the beautiful view. All personnel serve and greet you with a sincere friendliness that makes you feel at home. Service is simultaneously efficient and calming. Your cottage feels like a small home in an idyllic neighborhood fit with fireplace and steam shower as well as deep footed soaking tub. All restaurants on site are stellar. One can enjoy gourmet dining in an elegant plantation style setting or in a beautiful modern "canoe house" elevated, lined with windows to view open river or lagoon views with high arching 3 story ceilings entirely lined with wood reminiscent of a boat bow serving a more casual but no less elegant American cuisine with low country touches. Take a sunset cruise in a historic vessel on the May "river" where dolphins glide along the bow, or enjoy s'mores by the firepit. As I am on my flight to return home, I feel as though I have awoken from a beautiful dream. It is an expensive dream, but well worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
194
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surry, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We visited the Inn at Palmetto Bluff for our anniversary vacation on February 27 - March 2. When we arrived, we were intrigued by the beautiful grounds. The staff was welcoming and the check-in process was very easy. We stayed in Cottage #25 with a waterfront view, which was simply beautiful. It was warm and cozy. The view from the cottage was breathtaking. We explored the grounds via golf cart and bikes. The trails were really nice and we enjoyed seeing the many birds and, surprisingly,....alligators! We ate at Buffalos and The River House. They were both very good and highly recommended. The spa treatment is also worth building into your schedule. The stone treatment was very relaxing. While there, we also had access to a property-owned vehicle. We drove about 25 miles to Savannah and had dinner. The Inn at Palmetto Bluff is a place where we definitely plan to visit again. The tranquil atmosphere, excellent air quality, amenities, and beautiful landscape and buildings are all things that we hope to share with others.

Room Tip: Cottage #25 had a river front and was breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The staff are friendly and eager to help. But communication wasn't working smoothly. For example, you're encouraged to use the iPad in the room to make appointment requests, but you then receive phone calls and voicemails to confirm or reject your requests.

The facility is in the process of changing hands (apparently a huge new hotel is being built on the property) so maybe some of these aches and pains are a result?

Our shower didn't work properly -- we couldn't get the water any cooler than scalding. The jacuzzi by the pool was broken for the duration of our 3-night visit. (A pool maintenance person mentioned it was broken the previous day and it was supposed to be fixed, but it wasn't.) And the TV wouldn't turn on.

All the restaurants were a bit scattered -- service was uneven and the quality of the food was not what you would expect at this level hotel.

A good stay but we are not likely to come back.

Room Tip: Cottage in the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, Director of Guest Services at Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
mzrascoff1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was concerned to hear of the challenges you encountered during your stay. This is not in keeping with the high standard of service and product we strive to provide. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss your feedback further and apologize personally. Please reach out to me at your convenience, 843.706.6520.
Sincerely,
David Smiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had the privilege of staying in Home #3 in Wilson Village, and have to say it was a VERY enjoyable experience. The staff was fantastic, the bikes and golf cart where a really fun way to get around, and the facilities are unbelievable, GREAT Quality, GREAT stay!

Room Tip: Village homes are pricey, but great for a family or smaller group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We went to the Inn for dinner and the food was excellent. the service was even better. The food is high priced but high quality and beautifully prepared. I would definitely recommend it for a special occasion. The atmosphere is very old south and elegant. We plan to go back next year.

Room Tip: we only had diner there so cannot comment on accommodations other tun to say it looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Had a lovely time celebrating our anniversary - since hotel was not located near the ocean - I was a little uncertain if I would enjoy - but the views were great - service excellent - option to reserve golf cart to get around the property was a great touch - and bicycles were standard with each cottage. Ipads in the rooms give information about restaurants, spa, activities etc - however, the menus were not up-to-date in the restaurants - and we were disappointed when what was listed on the menus - at 2 different restaurants were not available -
Loved the cookies and hot cocoa or cider in the afternoon - and bon-fires for marshmallows were available each evening - The Chapel was beautiful and quaint and would be a wonderful place for a destination wedding - Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

It was raining in florida so my husband and I decided to head home to Charleston, but since the South Carolina weather was great we decided to take advantage of the last week of winter rates at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff. Amazing service, food, accommodations and golf. Also had the most amazing cocktails! They greeted us by name at the reception desk before escorting us by golf cart to our amazing cottage. 1100 square fee with fabulous bath, screened porch, fireplace and furnishings. Wine, fruit beverages and snacks were complimentary in the room. We were provided with bicycles and a golf cart (with headlights and rain curtains) to help us explore the property. Each evening fires are lit on the lawn for s'mores stations. An extraordinary wine cellar is available for private dinners and tastings. The architecture knocked our socks off, especially the Canoe Club dining room and the chapel built just behind the old plantation ruins that overlooks the
River. No request was too large or too small. We can't wait too return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.