We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have been using Tripadvisor for many years to research vacation destinations but this is my first time reviewing one. I would be doing a disservice to The Inn at Palmetto Bluff if I did not let reviewers and readers know about this place.
A few weeks ago I was researching the perfect honeymoon destination. After spending countless hours reading reviews for places all over the world, I made the decision to book with The Inn. And we could not be happier with that decision. It is only our second day here and there is already so much to say about this place. My wife and I have been in the service industry for most of our lives and we have high standards, but I have a feeling that once this trip is complete, our standards will be raised to almost unreachable levels.
This is our first morning here and we are sitting in our screened in porch at our river view cottage.
We are in cottage #9. It is located closer to the village area. The cottage is beautiful inside and out. There is every amenity you can possibly think of. I can go on and on about all of the things this cottage offers but you can look it up on their website.
From the second we got to this property we were treated by the staff like royalty. We got here a few hours before check-in so our room was not quite ready. The gentleman at the front desk suggested a couple of places to have lunch. They gave us a ride to The Grill at The May River Golf club. Service and food were excellent. Immediately after finishing lunch, we were picked up by a nice gentleman named Blue. Blue told us everything we needed to know about the property including a few suggestions on activities during our stay. He walked us into the cottage and explained all of the amenities to us. He was nice enough to walk down the river and grab us a couple of chairs for us to relax on which he did not need to do. He overheard me complaining to my wife about my allergies so after he left, he took it upon himself to bring me Benadryl along with our golf cart. I love that he went above and beyond for us. The secret to winning a guest over immediately is to go above and beyond for them and he did this within the first fifteen minutes of meeting us. After he left I was like a kid at a toy store. Playing with the 55" LED TV, Starting the steam room, and exploring the iPad that is provided. We took a nap before dinner at The River House. Once again greeted by the Maitre D like royalty. We were sat on the patio and had to step back and look around at how beautiful the entire setting was. If there is one suggestion I can make is to stop for a moment periodically and look around as you are always surrounded by beauty. My wife and I are foodies and being in the industry in Chicago, we also have high standards when it comes to food. Once again, food and service was excellent. My compliments to Chef Chris Blobaum. After dinner we made s'mores by the campfire. The s'more kit was provided by the Inn. After that we took a walk down the pier and sat back and looked at the stars. A perfect end to a perfect day and night. We have four nights left and we are so excited of what's to come.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
194
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

One of the finest resorts I have ever experienced. No detail or luxury is overlooked. And none of it is done in a way that seems ostentatious or overwhelming. Yu simply end up feeling very, very comfortable, relaxed, and happy. There is something to do for everyone, and we loved the fact that everything is accessible by the bicycles that are parked outside of each cottage. We actually REALLY enjoyed getting on our cruisers to go to an activity or even to dinner. They even have flashlights for the ride home. I have been all over the world and stayed in many five star hotels and resorts, and Palmetto Bluff blew them all away with it's understated luxury and beautifully done surroundings. We went to celebrate an anniversary this time but we will go many times in the future with our children and friends.

Room Tip: All are superb but a river view is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
MWLA68,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff. We are very grateful that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us. The environment here is exceptionally special and we are glad that you were able to enjoy seeing it on your bicycles. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for many more memories.
Sincerely,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 6 wonderful nights at this fabulous resort. I really cannot explain how much we enjoyed our stay. First, the property itself is absolutely beautiful. It is meticulously maintained and as beautiful a place as we've ever been - U.S. or abroad. We stayed in a cottage that had every amenity you could want, plus some that were unexpected treats, like the Keurig and steam shower. We enjoyed our screened porch every night.

Service at the resort is second to none - the staff makes every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. All of the folks who were working seemed wonderful, but a few deserve special recognition, including Pat the concierge, Captain Boo with Outside Palmetto Bluff, Jeff at the stables, and Blue with the bell staff. These dedicated people made our vacation more special than it would have been without meeting them!

We enjoyed horseback riding, a guided tour to Daufuskie Island, a day trip to Savannah in one of the resort's convertible Mercedes, and a wondeful Independence Day/fireworks cruise on the Grace, a 100 year old restored yacht. Captain Herb was awesome as well!

The spa is absolutely the best I've ever visited and I went twice because it was so special! The staff there could not be more attentive - Jen, my massage therapist, was great.

We had good food, great adventures and cannot wait to return next year to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary! We hated to leave but have great photos and memories of this fantastic vacation. This is a must-visit destination!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
LilCricket,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the property and recognize several of our staff members. We are very fortunate to have them on our team. I am pleased to hear that you were able to experience so many of the wonderful activities that we offer on property. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your 15th anniversary next year!
Sincerely,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Pros- nightly turnover service came with chocolates and list of activity schedule for the following day. This is just one of those special touches that really makes it feel homey.

The wildlife/ecosystem is intriguing. They have everything from baby crabs, dolphins, to a wide variety of birds (including eagles), and friendly geckos.

The cottages are hands down amazing. It's almost nicer than our own home.. There is a real quality of craftsmanship in the cottages.

The spa is among the worlds best... Don't be afraid of the prices, it's worth it.

Cons (if you can even call them a con):

If you're looking for nightlife, you will have to travel into Hilton Head or Savannah (luckily they are close by).

Was nervous driving to the complex, it's located off a "beaten path" type road and then you drive a few miles into resort which was described by my husband as a "Jurassic park" like entrance (referring to the scenery/wildlife).

In room dining has limited options.... That's probably only a con for all the honeymooners :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
lmscowcroft,
We appreciate that you shared your thoughts regarding our property on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. The wildlife here on our property is one of the most special aspects of this place and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed it. While we have an abundance of unique creatures, I do promise you that no T-Rex has been sighted on property in recent years ☺. We hope to welcome you back to the property again, soon.
Sincerely,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to Charleston. This is a very first rate resort as well as the price. We had a cottage that was one of the nicest rooms we have stayed at, It was right out of Restoration Hardware. It had an entry foyer with compilmentary items, a large vaulted wood ceiling bedroom, a dressing area then a wonderful bathroom with a stand alone large tub, very large walkin shower with steam and three heads, one a ceiling rain shower. It also had a full length screened in porch with ceiling fan and chaise lounges. They had two bikes at each cottage for use as well.
The way the resort works is that you check-in at the main house, they valet the car and then run you out to your room on a golf cart. In retrospect, we should have rented a cart so that we could have more time to view the resort. Overall this is a very noce place to vist. But, beware of the high humidity this time of year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a Wilson Village three bedroom home with our sons, 7 and 8. This was much more space than we needed, but it was fun to spread out and enjoy. The homes are very nicely done and appointed. The resort itself is extraordinary- literally something for everyone to do. The fishing, spa, pools, bikes, golf carts, nightly smores, and general staff service was excellent. We look forward to returning. The restaurants are also great- we did not even think of leaving the resort during our stay.

Room Tip: I am not sure that you could go wrong. The homes are definitely the way to go with families. It lo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nature abounds at this resort- whether you're into birds, fish, turtles, dolphin, alligators, or trees- you will find it here. No asphalt roofs here- all metal, slate or shake to prevent runoff. They are taking care of this land nicely.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The atmosphere is wonderful for relaxing as a couple and also stellar for kids - A rare combination. Everything has already been said by other reviewers. The staff are well trained, polished, and anticipate needs. The amenities are abundant. The bird island is amazing! The trails are never-ending! The bikes, golf carts and complimentary Mercedes vehicles are fun. The pools and gyms are solid. The cottages are truly decadent, with every detail considered. Beauty is evident wherever you look. The steam showers and eucalyptus spray make you truly relax! No detail goes unnoticed. The spa is heavenly. The food is solid and appropriately priced. We can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.