We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Save Saved
You added Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer's Best Rates
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Bluffton
GreenLeadersGold level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Exceeds all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a Wilson Village three bedroom home with our sons, 7 and 8. This was much more space than we needed, but it was fun to spread out and enjoy. The homes are very nicely done and appointed. The resort itself is extraordinary- literally something for everyone to do. The fishing, spa, pools, bikes, golf carts, nightly smores, and general staff service was excellent. We look forward to returning. The restaurants are also great- we did not even think of leaving the resort during our stay.

Room Tip: I am not sure that you could go wrong. The homes are definitely the way to go with families. It lo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nature abounds at this resort- whether you're into birds, fish, turtles, dolphin, alligators, or trees- you will find it here. No asphalt roofs here- all metal, slate or shake to prevent runoff. They are taking care of this land nicely.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    22
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
181
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The atmosphere is wonderful for relaxing as a couple and also stellar for kids - A rare combination. Everything has already been said by other reviewers. The staff are well trained, polished, and anticipate needs. The amenities are abundant. The bird island is amazing! The trails are never-ending! The bikes, golf carts and complimentary Mercedes vehicles are fun. The pools and gyms are solid. The cottages are truly decadent, with every detail considered. Beauty is evident wherever you look. The steam showers and eucalyptus spray make you truly relax! No detail goes unnoticed. The spa is heavenly. The food is solid and appropriately priced. We can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was here w/ adult family of four for a long weekend and wedding (in Bluffton). We stayed at one of the 3 bedroom Wilson Village homes. Could not have asked for a better stay. The home was beautiful, spacious with huge bedrooms, great bathrooms and too many porches to count. We played golf at the May River Golf club and course was beautiful. Also spent some time at both pools and work out facilities -- fantastic.

Want to go back ASAP!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Came to this exceptionally lovely resort for a long weekend birthday celebration. The Inn acknowledged the event in a number of thoughtful ways. We had a cottage on the May River, lovely, comfortable appointments and a screened porch for relaxing. We opted for a golf cart making getting around easy and pleasant. The staff is very professional, always helpful and interested in making certain your stay is perfect.
The dining facilities are excellent-well prepared and presented good food with good service. Pat,our concierge, was extremely helpful making sure we were able to do and see everything we were interested in. She arranged a guided tour through a lagoon in an electric boat-saw a huge rookery filled with local water birds. Saw alligators and turtles.
The highlight of the trip for us was a boat trip on the May River to see dolphins with Captain Andrew"Boo" Harrell. He was knowledgable and enthusiastic explaining about the history of the area, the Eco system and of course the dolphins. A trip with Captain Boo is not to be missed by anyone with an interest in or love of the low country-so fun and informative.
We will definitely return to this impressive resort when we need some pampering and would look forward to taking another dolphin trip with Captain Boo!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A truly remarkable resort, THE INN AT PALMETTO BLUFF was beyond our expectations. The main building looked like something out of Gone With The Wind, with elegant screened porches and a five star restaurant. Every night 3 blazing fires were set out front and long sticks, Hershey's bars, graham crackers and marshmallows were provided for make your own Smores. Our cottage had a view of the river, a screened porch, a gas fireplace, kitchenette/wet bar, king sized bed, claw foot tub, steam shower, his/hers marble sink and dressing room with his/hers closets. Our cottage came with two bicycles which we rode throughout the resort (miles and miles of paved bike paths that weave in and around the property). The two pools were appointed with everything from full fitness clubs and locker rooms to restaurant and bar service straight to your chaise lounge. We took several fitness classes (all complimentary) from yoga to spinning. The horseback riding facility was extraordinary- we should all live like these horses- and the Tennessee walker named Preacher I rode was like floating on air. We took a wonderful kayak tour of the May River, and day trips to Savannah were only marred by the fact that it was time away from this wonderful place. Probably the best thing of all was the Mercedes loaner program- guests can borrow the most top of the line Mercedes convertibles, sedans and SUVs for - get this- NO COST AT ALL, not even for gas- to take on excursions off property. Not only was it great not to have to rent a car, but the cars we drove were beyond luxurious and only added to the specialness of the trip. The natural setting was phenomenal and the wildlife was all around us-- from birds like heron to alligators, sharks, dophins, fox, deer, raccoons, flying squirrels.... and the people-- from the guests to the staff were about as friendly as I've ever met. I cannot rate this place highly enough. Just fabulous.

Room Tip: I would definitely splurge for a cottage with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First impression is of a beautiful resort nestled on the marshes of South Carolina amongst huge moss-draped trees. The architecture is lovely throughout. We were initially smitten with our cozy cottage accommodations. We enjoyed ourselves for the three days we were there, but it wasn't a perfect destination for us and we probably will not return. There are many destinations that beg a return visit; this resort did not do that for us.

The wedding events were lovely--oyster roast and tree house tour for rehearsal evening and the wedding in the charming little chapel followed by a fun reception for the big day itself. We were guests and not in charge of making those arrangements so cannot speak to efficiency, fulfilled expectations etc. of the wedding planning.

While the other amenities are varied--pools, kayaking/canoeing, boating options and even the biking within resort areas in our case there was a huge miss...air conditioning in all that humidity! Our cottage had problems from the get go. Apparently as an energy saver the AC shuts off when the door to the screened cottage porch remains open. Our problem was that it never re-set properly. With all the wedding activities we were in and out of the cottage so frequently that until we returned to get ready for a more formal event we didn't realize that once again the cottage temp still hovered close to 80 degrees. Engineering arrived to reset the system not from the thermostat, but from outside equipment only to have continued problems. We didn't sleep well waking up hot in the middle of the nite nor did we ever feel pulled together in our dress up clothes remaining sticky-humid, big-haired and then wind blown in our golf cart ride to the church wedding!

The staff at the resort is extremely well trained and always pleasant and helpful. Our meals were fine. We were disappointed to miss the huge firepit nite due to rain--which of course the resort could not control. We had a fun canoe outing and just an OK boating experience out of Wilson's Landing. The boat rental was originally to be a two hour excursion. When we returned at the prescribed time to take the trip it was now billed as an hour and a half cruise. It then departed an irritatingly 40 minutes late while often parking in the hot sun with no awning protection to tell a rather lame narration of the local stories instead of cruising the entire marsh area imparting factual history of the area, fauna and wildlife.

Perhaps some of our lack of desire to return is that this resort was not our personal choice, but instead was for the destination wedding. We wanted to fall in love, but we didn't. We much prefer the beach or land that is totally natural and doesn't seem as architecturally contrived or confined in a community pretty as it was. The resort did credit us an amount for the air conditioning inconvenience, but in our case we would have rather had the AC than the credit amount.

Green Features: Very good--in our case with AC conservation maybe too good!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Transcendent service, beauty, and comfort. The service is so good, you almost get the feeling they're not working at it -- that it's just the most natural way to act. The beauty of the grounds -- water views, huge old trees -- is almost preternaturally calming. The comfort of the accomodations almost makes you want to hang out in the room all day (which would be a big mistake, as there's much to do). (One small quibble: a little better lighting for reading in the room at night would be welcome.) While many guests rented golf carts to go between their cottage and the activity area (pools, restaurants, front desk), we chose to use the bikes that were provided. We biked on the trail around the golf course, kayaked in the river (spotting many nearby dolphins), swam in the gorgeous lap pool, got a great massage at the spa, and watched the herons, egrets & alligator (only one was seen). We were not sure to believe that they really loan out Mercedes, but it's true. We borrowed (no charge!) a convertible roadster (SL550, I believe) to drive into Bluffton for some fried chicken. What a treat! The 3 restaurants are all lovely and the food was excellent (though a few dishes could have used a lighter hand on the salt). Overall, this long weekend was even better than we expected and as good as it gets.

Room Tip: The higher the cottage number, the closer to the spa and the farther from the activity area (pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Eastsiders,
I am pleased to hear that you had such a delightful stay here at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had the chance to experience so many modes of transportation around the property, from bike to kayak to Mercedes, we enjoy sharing those experiences with you! We hope that your travel plans will bring you back for an even longer visit in the future!
Kind Regards,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort

Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Family Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Palmetto Bluff a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes located along the May River and a short drive to Savannah - 50 beautifully appointed cottages and cottage suites- South Carolina luxury vacation two, three and four bedroom home rentals - The Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States - 5 locally renowned restaurants for an exquisite dining experience or a casual snack- 2 exclusive pools - Extensive activities offering including: equestrian, boat rides, kayaking and more- 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course- 2 private fitness centers, a movement studio and tennis courts- 8 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.